We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
Ranked #10 of 51 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in Sea Whisper for two nights and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality of the food. Everything was well presented and well organised for every guest. The only thing that we could have used was a bathroom door!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank tyze56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele S, Owner at Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sea Whisper. We really understand the comment about the bathroom door. We are in the process of having them cut and fitted and had very much hoped to do this before the Christmas season, however the contractor closed in early December and we did not get our doors! You were wonderful guests and we loved having you here at Sea Whisper.

Safe Travels

Dorvin and Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in Jbay at Sea Whisper over Christmas 2013. I regret to say that it was the least impressive place I stayed at.
The room we had was small and served it's function, however the aircon was very noisy, and the bathroom had no proper shower, and worst of all, no bathroom door??? This was the worst of all, it's very hard to go to the bathroom and do you business with no door whilst your partner is sitting on the bed??
The breakfast the first day was rather poor, the manager did inform us it wouldn't be a "hot breakfast" since everyone would be going out for a big Christmas lunch (which is understandable), however the milk was sour, and everything was very mediocre.
For an alleged 4star accomodation I was disappointed, the food was definitely the worst of all the places we stayed at. The food the second day was better, and definitely not bad, I'm just saying we had much better at other places.
Lastly the bed was awfully noisy, and we were there as a young couple. It was so noisy, we removed the mattress and put it on the floor.

Room Tip: Don't take the room directly under the dining room with the balcony, that's all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholasbell03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele S, Owner at Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Nicholas

On behalf of us all at Sea Whisper we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. When we receive a booking via the online booking system, it states whether the room has a shower or a bath or both. If we receive a direct booking via telephone/website/email we state which rooms are available and what facilities they have. We also have pictures on our website and booking websites of our bathrooms and bedrooms.

We take great pride in our breakfast service, so it was disappointing to read that your breakfast experience with us was not a good one. We were not aware of any problems on these days, so welcome you bringing it to our attention via this review. I am so sorry you did not alert us to the problem at the time.

As regards the noisy antique wooden four poster bed that is in this room, we will definitely look into this issue as this is our honeymoon room, and we have never had this complaint from our honeymooners before.

We are always mindful of guests comments and totally "take on board" yours and will use your criticisms constructively to further improve the areas that you have commented on.

Once again, thanks so much for taking the time to write this review.

Dorvin and Michele

The room in question

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We recently stayed, as a family of four, in the two garden rooms. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and with nice balconies. The breakfasts were excellent and there is a nice swimming pool. All of thestaff were very polite and friendly and the owner made sure that we werre comfortable and also provided some nice restaurant tips; Diwe Walskipper being a must for all visitors.

The location is in a quiet street but only a couple of minutes by car/short taxi ride to the bars/restaurants and beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele S, Owner at Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks for staying with us at Sea Whisper in our self catering units. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments. Our self catering units are nice and spacious with great sea views, which always makes for a pleasurable stay. Glad you enjoyed your meal at the Waalskipper, definitely a popular choice with lots of our guests. Once again, many thanks for the review.

Dorvin and Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Nice place in JBay. We had a very nice breakfast with good coffee. The bed is very comfortable and the room is clean. I recommend this place to anyone traveling to Jbay. I had a great stay.
The staff was very helpful. We arrive very late and they took us to restaurant for food. We appreciated it very much.

Room Tip: You have a nice view in the room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenalenara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele S, Owner at Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Sea Whisper and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to achieve a good balance between accommodation, food and guest service and are the first to admit that sometimes we don't get the right balance but continue to try, so that when we have a great review like yours we are so pleased that the effort to achieve this is working. It was no problem to take you down to the restaurant, as I know you arrived tired and hungry. Thanks for staying at Sea Whisper.

Dorvin & Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights at Sea Whisper and it is absolutely wonderful. Firstly, the room is great with a comfortable bed and nice amenities. The view is breathtaking and the location is perfect with just a short walk to the beach and the shops. Secondly, the breakfast was delicious with a range of hot and cold foods. Finally the staff and owners were wonderful. They are very interesting and knowledgable and go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is enjoyable not only at the B and B but in SA in general. I really recommend this place and am completely confused by the negative review. The owners are very fair and the prices are certainly fixed and as they appear on the website. This is a real gem!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AllisonHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele S, Owner at Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

The guest house industry is so competitive these days, that all aspects of the business have to be finely tuned and balanced to create a really great experience for our guests. We are always seeking new ways to improve our service and our sevice delivery, while still making sure that guests feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.

Thank you so much for your constructive and kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Michele & Dorvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights in Jeffrey's Bay ( initially we only planned on staying one night) whilst travelling to our family in Plett. We were so amazed at the great service we received on arrival and at how welcoming everyone was. We enjoyed the breakfasts so much that we weren't hungry for the rest of the day. Our room was so inviting, tranquil and pleasant that we stayed over a second night. I would recommend Sea Whisper to everyone travelling in and around Jeffrey's Bay. Look forward to seeing you all again on our way back!

Room Tip: Definitely any of the upstairs units - Great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele S, Owner at Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased that you and your wife had such a wonderful stay with us. It is so encouraging to get such positive feedback and indicates to us as owners, that our efforts to be a top guest house in our area are achieving the desired results. We always judge ourselves by how many of our guests return to stay at Sea Whisper.

We thank you for your great comments and look forward to hosting you again at Sea Whisper.

Dorvin and Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently stayed 19 days at this wonderful B & B, and had a great stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful and so are the owners, Michelle an Dorvin. They go out of their way to make sure you are happy and content and have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. I will definetly return again next year. The rooms are well decorated and and very clean. The setup is different than other B & B because of the lay out of the buildings on the property, which is actually 2 adjoining properties with 3 separate buildings, so the best thing about this B & B is the privacy you have. They offer self catering the rooms that have their own kitchen facilties, or you can take advantage of their breakfast option which is a fantastic breakfast.served in a very nice large room with sea views.. Most, if not all of the rooms have sea views and you can see the whales jumping from your room. I bought pair of binoculars just so I could get a closer look at this phenomenom of nature. The whales come completely out of the water when they are jumping. I highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele S, Owner at Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

When someone stays for a long stay they really become part of Sea Whisper and we loved having you stay with us Thomas. We are so glad that you were able to have the peace and privacy of the Sandpiper cottage to enjoy your holiday, although I know you did a great deal of work too. Looking forward to seeing you back next year for another "great surf" during the winter months.

Once again it was a pleasure to meet you.

Dorvin & Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse
On the Beach Guesthouse
#5 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Olive Guest House
Stone Olive Guest House
#8 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin View Guesthouse
Dolphin View Guesthouse
#11 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
#1 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#6 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#4 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering

Address: 62 Petunia Avenue, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $77 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Whisper Guest House in Jeffrey’s Bay, Eastern Cape, fondly referred to as J’Bay by locals and loyal visitors, overlooks the pristine beaches of the Indian Ocean. Sea Whisper, less than an hour’s drive from Port Elizabeth airport, offers guests superb up-market villa-style accommodation and an opportunity to relax and unwind in the world renowned surfing capital of South Africa. This property, set in beautifully landscaped gardens with stunning sea views is located at the eastern tip of the Garden Route and Route 62, and on the doorstep of the Baviaanskloof Wilderness area, a world heritage site. Sea Whisper Guest House comprises seven air conditioned en suite rooms with sea and valley views as well as four luxurious Self-Catering units with magnificent unspoilt sea views. This four star establishment promises a memorable stay whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing