We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phantastic View & wonderful service”
Review of Diaz 15

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diaz 15
Ranked #13 of 51 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2008

After a longer business trip through South Africa I decided to have little beach holiday afterwards an my agent suggested the Diaz 15. Well done! I spend 3 days of complete relaxation in a close-to-perfect location.
First of all, the beach directly in front of the house is a really long stretch ideally for extended walks or safe swimming. The waves have been quite high, but it was absolutely safe to swim and I enjoyed the lack of undercurrents.
Needing to relax I spend much of my time in the appartement. My appartement offered me fantastic sea views and the big balcony was my favourite place to be. The well stocked fridge was a welcomed treat as I did not have to find a supermarket to supply me with drinks - and I was able to relay from the first minute.
Arriving at Diaz 15 is a pleasure. I was met by the owner in a very personal, friendly and laid-back way and quickly felt welcomed. He explained me a bit about Jeffrey's Bay and showed me to the appartement.
The house itself is an architectual highlight with a beautiful whitewashed facade and a big garden plus infinity pool. Inside the appartement was laid out in a very beachlike practical way. It lacked the fancies of a plush interior, but I never felt bad when I entered with sand on my feet...
One of the most enjoyed features was the breakfast: it is prepared right inside the appartement by three ladies. They cook your hot breakfast and also give a continental selection (and I needed some excercise at the beach afterwards).
The only little itch was the shower: the doors needed some pressure to close fully. But I have to say that I didn't care too much!
After having driven 7.000km's throug Southern Africa's interior in a short time, Diaz 15 was a perfect paradise for me and I enjoyed the my 3 days of holiday very much. Yes, the price is a bit steep, but it was worth it.
I am looking forward to my next stay which is - hopefully - not too far away!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank desertman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2008

Diaz 15

We have followed with Interest the Confliction Arguments regarding Diaz 15.
Here is our contribution:
We have just returned to Germany after staying for 6 weeks atDiaz 15 the tenth year in succession! And have made our reservation for 6 weeks in 2009. Do you need any more arguments in favour of Diaz 15,their top service, the friendlyness, the comfort?

Our rating:
Value: 5points
Rooms:5 points
Location: 5 points
Cleanliness: 5 points
Check-in, reservation service: 5 points
Service: 5 points

Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend?
Yes,we did and they liked it, same as our family with our grandchildren.Closing remark: For the past 30-40 years we have stayed frequently at 5 -star hotels worldwide and know the difference very well.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank KlausKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Diaz 15. Contrary to what others may have experienced, we had nothing but a very positive experience here. The owner, Coenie, was warm, hospitable, and provided wonderful service (dinner recommendations and reservations; driving directions etc.).

High points for us: property is directly on the beach, which is what we wanted, with private access provided by a keyed gate directly on the beach. There is a large plunge pool located on the grounds immediately adjacent to the beach, and the grounds themselves are lovely and extremely well maintained.

We stayed in a ground level, 2 bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean and modern. Although we didn't take advantage of the kitchen, it was nice to know that all the appliances and utensils were available for our use. Additionally, breakfast was simply fabulous. We were asked what time we would like it to be brought to our unit, and each morning, right on time, 2 women came in, set up our dining table, and laid out a very sumptuous Continental breakfast. We had more than enough meats, cheese and fruit left over to use for a light lunch later in the day.

By the way, Coeni recommended a restaurant that is literally a few doors down for dinner that was wonderful. The food and the service were great, and the portions large enough that we brought home leftovers to eat the next day.

We are experienced and discerning travelers, and we plan on returning to Diaz 15 in 2010.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

We were looking forward to staying in a luxury 5 star apartment in Jeffreys Bay - this place did not meet our expectations at all.

Whilst the apartments are well located next to the beach and are nicely designed externally, the interiors are dated and shabby. It features plastic handles, laminate floors, formica kitchen and tacky suites. The TV is a relic from the 90s and no DVD player is provided (we were told one can be rented from the nearby DVD shop).

The blinds have some mildew and kitchen smells quite musty. That said, the apartments are rigerously cleaned on a daily basis.

The garden is immaculately groomed and the swimming pool is quite nice. There is direct access to the lovely sandy beach. I would caution that using this gate during rainy weather caused us to get light electric shocks from the security system.

Diaz 15 has a strict 100% cancellation fee policy which is enforced even when the place is not fully booked - so be sure how long you want to stay there. At a cost of about EUR180 per day (off season) this represented very poor value for money in comparison to all the other places we stayed in SA.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stiofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We only got to stay one night at the Diaz 15, but we enjoyed it a great deal. The property is located right on the beach with private access. The property is certainly geared more towards families on holiday, but we enjoyed it quite well with just two of us. The owners of the B & B were very nice and accommodating. They made a special breakfast for us to take along since our flight from PE was early in the morning. We also found the dog to be very nice, friendly, and well mannered.

The rooms are large and well taken care of. Both our bedroom and the living room had porch that overlooked the ocean. There is also a full kitchen, which we didn't use at all, but looked well-kept.

Overall, I don't have any complaints. Would recommend it to anyone. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newman_5a_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

My wife and I expected some luxury spending 3 nights in the best apartment of a 5 star location but were completely disappointed.

Disregarding the good breakfast, good pool area and fantastic views from the terrace it was not the money worth.

Making my reservation I said that I do not want to pay for lots of empty dormitories but expect high comfort and big rooms. The answer was that I'll be more than satisfied having this lovely apartment on the top of the house.
When we arrived my worries were confirmed having 2 useless additional dormitories each with a balcony.

Nobody informed us that in this property there is a big, barking dog. My wife and our 8 months old baby are scared about dogs. The result was that my wife never left the apartment alone till she was sure that the dog was locked up. This is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel where you pay approx EURO 330,- per night.

Curtains in the kitchen here dirty with humidity/moos and in one of the bathrooms so dirty as not washed for the last 10 years.

Probably because of the rough sea, toilets stink ugly and this smell was in the whole apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Heiner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse
On the Beach Guesthouse
#5 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
#1 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#4 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
0.7 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diaz 15? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diaz 15

Address: 15 Diaz Road, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $265 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diaz 15 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diaz 15 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing