We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J-Bay week-end Reunion”
Review of FunkyTown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
FunkyTown
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“J-Bay week-end Reunion”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

thanks to all at Funky Town for a wonderful week-end - we stayed here 1 year ago as the first guests for a trial run of Funky Town - It was just fantastic when we arrived a year later to find Funky Town as clean and neat as the first time. Compliments to Owner James and his friendly staff.

Keep the good work up!!!!

Gary, Christelle and Jack-Daniels

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    40
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
80
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Funkytown was perfect! The best location in J Bay - easy walk to nice cafes, restaurants & of-course the beach! The host, Tayrene made us feel right at home, with her friendly, helpful nature. All the rooms were beautifully decorated, clean & tiday & the bed was super comfortable. Excellent value for money. Can highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our host was fantastic. everything was just right. nice quiet comfortable place. The only negative is that the pillows are like bricks. I've never slept on a harder pillow and ended up ditching it and sleeping straight with out.

This is a backpacker style place. No room service or fitness center, HOWEVER they do have a fire pit in the back and we sat out around a nice fire sharing a glass of wine. I felt right at home. I loved this place.

Room Tip: I think they were all nice rooms. The hostess gave us a tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVH3YMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunkyTown_JBay, Manager at FunkyTown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Good morning all the way from FunkyTown Jeffrey's Bay

Many thanks for your feedback it is greatly appreciated; and many thanks for your heads up on our pillows. We have standard industry-wide pillows in all our rooms, but to accommodate our guests who wish to have softer pillows, we will inform them that we have them and that they are on hand for guest use, if requested.

With kind regards
Tayrene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Funkytown is even more gorgeous in reality than online. So clean, tastefully decorated with only the best. Most comfortable bed I've slept in for years! The art can keep you enthralled for hours. Tayrene is the most lovely gracious host as is James. Can't wait to go back to beautiful Jbay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Awesome Boutique Hotel/Flashpackers! Great individually designed rooms, with large rain showers! Cool public area with big TV and WIFI, brilliant kitchen with all mod-cons. Lots of local art throughout property, very hip! There's also a hot tub & plunge pool for cooling down in the summer! Good location a couple of blocks from the main road, supermarkets, beach, restuarants all walkable. Very friendly staff! If you're heading to Jeffreys Bay - Funk it up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy99t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited with my family and it was an absolute pleasure staying at Funky Town. The high level of creativity and the fantastic infrastructure was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. I would recommend it to those traveling with or without family - it allows you to enjoy the feel of a backpacker establishment in a 4 start environment - what a fantastic and creative concept! Location is excellent; venue is safe, clean and good value for money. We enjoyed it and would recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent - we enjoyed the top floor as it is very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sybert03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely loved this place in JBay. Fresh, funky and different. Something very special about this place. I loved the artwork and the interior. It was very centrally situated, so I was able to park my car and explore most of this lovely little town by foot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#2 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
457 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madiolyn
Madiolyn
#3 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
85 reviews
1.0 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.0 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#19 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FunkyTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FunkyTown

Property: FunkyTown
Address: 12A Oosterland Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — FunkyTown 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old stone house, renewed and recycled, now exists as FunkyTown, the most unique, fresh and interesting en-suite Lifestyle accommodation in Jeffreys Bay!FunkyTown is an eclectic expression of design, colour and art. Our public areas are colourfully creative with a contemporary bar, TV's in the Penthouse Apartment, the bar area and in our TV Lounge; (keeping up with current market trends there are no TV's in the bedrooms) and WiFi. Our well-appointed kitchens are sleek and modern. We have an abundance of local art throughout the property. Very hip! There is also a hot tub for winter nights and a plunge pool for cooling down in the summer! We are in a good location within walking distance to the shops, beach, restaurants and night life. Our friendly staff have been highly commended by our previous guests and TripAdvisor reviewsIf you're heading to Jeffreys Bay - Funk it up!AccommodationFunkyTown has seven well-appointed, individually styled, contemporary en-suite bedrooms.Our bedrooms have comfortable beds, crisp linen, trendy designer furniture and original art. All our rooms have a small work area for you to manage your gadgets and a safe to store them in. A mini fridge and complimentary tea and coffee facilities are there for your enjoyment. Our rooms are independently alarmed for your security.Your bathroom is individual, clean, trendy and funky with large rain showers. In fact one suite even has a double shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your FunkyTown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing