We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different in J Bay”
Review of Potter's Place - CLOSED

Potter's Place
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Diner, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Potters Place is the famous restaurant-theater of Jeffreys Bay. We host excellent shows in our small theater and we serve great food in our fully licensed restaurant. Like our shows, our menu changes regularly. For up-to-date details about our latest shows, please visit our website at pottersplace.co.zaCome feed your soul.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something different in J Bay”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Potters has started a tradition in J bay with very well known S A artist performing there ! There menu typical S A traditional food but there baby kingklip a must !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maniephw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vibes by the sea!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

An excellent place to park off, have a nice dinner and listen to some good, live music. Many well known artists perform at Potter's and your favourite is bound to be there at some stage or other. Potter's is quite intimate and not too large so one gets to chat with the artists after a show. A must if you're visiting Jeffreys, even if just for a coffee or beer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GullRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch stop”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pulled in for our first meal in J'Bay after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. I had a great roast lamb and hubby had an awesome Cape Malay curry. Good food, friendly service and plenty to look at while you wait.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank millieWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It is always worth a visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The restaurant is perfectly located. It is in a side street of Jeffreys Bay and it catches the afternoon sun on your table. The interieur is dominated by arts and crafts style. You sit on wooden chairs and can enjoy nice food which is served by friendly waiters.
If you have the chance to attend on one of the events from local artist, you really should take advantage of this possibility. The event normally starts around eight and takes place in the wooden hall. If you are there already at six thirty you will be able to enjoy a nice meal before right on your table in the hall. Wine and beer will be served throughout the event. The atmosphere is very nice and cosy. I can highly recommend this.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cho_lo_wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Entertainment wise a great place to go to. They have regular shows of local South African musicians and more. The menu is not always the best - something they can address, but I suppose people go there for entertainment and not for the food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potter's Place also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing