We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is always worth a visit”
Review of Potter's Place - CLOSED

Potter's Place
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Diner, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Potters Place is the famous restaurant-theater of Jeffreys Bay. We host excellent shows in our small theater and we serve great food in our fully licensed restaurant. Like our shows, our menu changes regularly. For up-to-date details about our latest shows, please visit our website at pottersplace.co.zaCome feed your soul.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It is always worth a visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The restaurant is perfectly located. It is in a side street of Jeffreys Bay and it catches the afternoon sun on your table. The interieur is dominated by arts and crafts style. You sit on wooden chairs and can enjoy nice food which is served by friendly waiters.
If you have the chance to attend on one of the events from local artist, you really should take advantage of this possibility. The event normally starts around eight and takes place in the wooden hall. If you are there already at six thirty you will be able to enjoy a nice meal before right on your table in the hall. Wine and beer will be served throughout the event. The atmosphere is very nice and cosy. I can highly recommend this.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cho_lo_wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Entertainment wise a great place to go to. They have regular shows of local South African musicians and more. The menu is not always the best - something they can address, but I suppose people go there for entertainment and not for the food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the pioneering establishments in JBay”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Good food value for money and there is no better place to order calamari !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maniephw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Potter's Place, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
It was fun having you and your family here - all the jokes and talk and all the shows. We love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Arty Party Style”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This restaurant is a firm favourite has great food. We usually go foor there great breakfasts. They now open
for Sunsay Lunch and have a Theatre for those who dont know. Live shows. Great staff and service. If you are visiting Jeffrey's Bay this is one place you must visit even just for a coffee.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownHurdygurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
2 reviews
“Wonderful place, friendly service, GREAT food, loved it!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Potter's Place is great. Spent many days here skyping my fam and boyfriend, they have free wifi so for those of you who need to get in contact with loved ones back home. They have a wonderful restaurant with awesome food and great teas, their malva poeding is exceptional. And incredible Chai lattes!!! They also have a sweet little shop wioth cute purses and dresses and earrings and soaps and all sorts of fun little knick knacks. ALSO they have a great little theatre that hosts a variety of performers. The staff are awesome, very friendly, the manager is great, he gave me and my friends free tickets to one of the shows! Definitely highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potter's Place also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing