We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean and spacious house”
Review of JayBay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JayBay House
Ranked #7 of 48 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean and spacious house”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Easy to find off the N2. Lovely, clean and spacious house with superb upstairs dining room, offering views of the beach and along the coast. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We would recommend JayBay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    69
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
78
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We only stayed here for one night yet this was our favourite stop throughout our whole trip.
Before we even set foot in the house we knew it was going to be perfect - the front of the house was very grand and secure with it all behind security gates.
We had a lovely ground floor room with en suite bathroom, secure safe and outside seating area. The house was modern and felt very clean.
The owner is one of the nicest people I have met - she was happy, friendly and very helpful when we couldn't get hold of our next destinations address by researching the hotel and trying to call them for us. We also got a complimentary bottle of bubbly as it was our honeymoon which was a nice welcome when we arrived in the dark after a very long journey!
The bed was roomy and very comfortable making for a great nights sleep. The room was air conditioned and quiet.
The beach was within walking distance and the few shops and restaurants were also really close by.
Breakfast was included in our room price. It was a beautiful large room overlooking the sea with a good choice of breakfast. We sat out on the terrace after soaking up the sun and relaxing before heading off.

We would recommend JayBay house to anyone and if we ever return to South Africa we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tappers1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neulussheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

we enjoyed our stay very much und felt very comfortable Nice view over the bay -. only a short walk to the beach, many restaurants in walking-distance, wonderful breakfast-room and a great breakfast...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kornelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Not walking distance to the beach but ok with car and great view of it . The rooms where big and everything nicely done . Breakfast with fresh baked bread and very personal service - feels like home !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cape1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Wow JayBay house!! what a wonderful experience indeed from the get go, from being welcomed by the owner Adri who very nicely explained where we will be staying (our room) to where all the hot spots are in Jeffreys bay. The rooms have a homely feel to it, yet the luxury of being on holiday, a home away from home with all the bells and whistles. The breakfast is absolutely amazing with Adri preparing the breakfast herself to your exact specification, every morning you get a freshly baked bread (which we will miss, thanks Adri), but what stole our hearts is every morning she would set a special place for our 2 year old boy with his very own plastic knives & forks and make sure his comfy, a big heartfelt thank you Adri. We do recommend JayBay house as it was a top experience comlimented with top service and very friendly staff. Take care Adri and again THANK YOU!! Marc, Candice & Mikhail Bosch.

Room Tip: Room leading to pool and dont stress about the pool as Adri keeps a net on there at all times that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

There's nothing to fault at JayBay House. The owner Adri goes out of her way to ensure you have a lovely stay and that her customer service ticks all your boxes. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this venue and/or to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This was our first B&B on our 2 week trip over from the UK. We had high hopes & we certainly weren't disappointed! From the lovely welcome we received on check-in, to the ease of free parking & great location near to the centre of town - everything was perfect.
We were in SA for our 2nd honeymoon & we were even given a bottle of champagne in the room. Our bags had been lost at Cape Town airport & we had to survive 3 days without them. It wasn't really a problem as we just bought some new stuff from the plentiful surf shops in J-Bay!! Then, we came back from a full day out & our bags had miraculously arrived into our room, along with the champagne!
We were so well looked after & the breakfasts here are superb with your own freshly baked bread (still warm!) wrapped up on your table! The views over the bay are wonderful, our room had everything we could have wanted and the bed was huge!
The only negative was that we couldn't find our way to the pool & it seemed to be covered over. Wasn't really a problem though as J-Bay has the best beaches we found in SA!
Would definitely recommend JayBay House & thanks for our wonderful stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JuliaDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.4 mi away
Stone Olive Guest House
Stone Olive Guest House
#6 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JayBay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JayBay House

Property: JayBay House
Address: 8 Verbena Crescent, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — JayBay House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your JayBay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing