We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Ranked #4 of 49 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Unbelievable!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at On The Beach Guesthouse and was blown away! The suite was spectacular, the view breathtaking and the experience as a whole... magical... Every morning we were greeted with a beautiful breakfast served with big smiles in the dinning area overlooking the magnificent ocean and one of the worlds number one surf spots in the world, Supertubes. everyday spent at the guesthouse was like 10 days in the real world! We left feeling refreshed and relaxed... the way you should after a holiday!

Thank you to everyone at On The Beach for a wonderful experience and you will no doubt be seeing me again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi AndrewB, thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us so much, you were super guests and we loved every second of you being here!
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at On the Beach Guesthouse in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    75
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
163
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Nice guest house, great location overlooking the beach, but fairly overpriced compared to other South African accommodation. The guest house also claims to be within walking distance of the town centre and it really is not (and we like a walk)!!! Our room was nicely decorated and appointed, however the shower flooded the bathroom and made the tiled floor quite dangerous. It was hard to work out why as there was a glass partition.

There is not much to do in J-Bay unless the weather is good and you want to try a bit of surfing or body boarding so we were glad it was only a stop-over. Would recommend ‘The Mexican’ restaurant in town – great food, reasonable price and lovely staff. You will have to drive though.

Highlight – breakfast. Definitely the best breakfast we had in our 3 weeks in South Africa! It was so nice to have a a la carte menu for breakfast rather than a buffet. Go for the French toasts with maple syrup, bacon and roasted bananas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenGNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Thank you for your review and for staying at On the Beach Guesthouse, we apreciate your feedback.

Town centre is only a 900m walk from the guesthouse and a stunning walk along the beach or the main road, also there are other restaurants, shops and supermarkets within close walking range of less than 500m from the guesthouse.

Thank you for informing us of the problem you had with the shower, we have rectified this problem, and apologize for your inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Jeffrey's Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

On the Beach is a comfortable and relaxed spot with wonderful, warm people. The guesthouse has incredibly scenic and aesthetically amazing room and property replete with a manicured garden onto the beach.

The location is great - just out of the hustle and bustle but within walking distance from the main beach and attractions. There is secure parking on site (the only area without a view!).
This is a fantastic option in Jeffreys Bay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are absolutely beautiful, the ground floor units have private patios onto the beach (u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for once again a wonderful review on Tripadvisor, it was a great pleasure to welcome you back in Jeffrey's Bay at On the Beach Guesthouse. We were so excited to have you stay in our newly renovated Penthouse Suite and look forward to welcoming you back again in the new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Yes it is what it says "On The Beach" with lovely views, when you get the room with a view ! We booked through our travel agent and were showed to a room which had a large wall only a metre or so outside the sliding door. This made the room very dark and dreary and we asked for a different room. We were upgraded to a room with beautiful views (not a very large room) at an added charge, which we thought was a bit harsh. The breakfast was very nice and the staff were lovely. Wi-fi not great though ! Cork, Ireland

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fachtna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for staying at On the Beach Guesthouse, it was our pleasure to host you!

It is unfortunate that your Travel Agent had booked you a Standard Room with no ocean views, as this was not what you had expected. Fortunately we were able to upgrade you with a 10% discounted rate to the last available Superior Ocean Room with breathtaking ocean views for the full duration of your stay.

We hope to welcome you in Jeffrey's Bay again soon and we trust that you will be sure to book one of our beautiful Superior Ocean Rooms in the future.

Kind Regards,

The On the Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night in November, which is in the pre-season, so the beaches were empty. The room was really nice and the service was great.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josmarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matilda13, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor, we apreciate your feedback and really enjoyed hosting you during your stay with us and we hope to have you back in Jeffrey's Bay again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2011

On the Beach Guesthouse boasted with a slogan when we made our reservation... " a place where luxury and relaxation have found the perfect home..." Whith this said this boutique hotel exceeded all our expectation and no photo could do this absolutely perfect place any justice!!!

Our stay at On the Beach was perfect to the point, the staff, the owners, management, the rooms are to die for, the view is magnificent and with all this said I am speechless. Thank you for making our stay at On the Beach Guesthouse such an amazing experience, we will be back and we will recomend this to every person we meet. For those of you who cant decide what hotel to book... THIS IS THE ONE!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDuPlessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for your review, we had a great time hosting you on your very romantic getaway and wish you all the luck for a wonderful future together! We hope that we will see you again soon for a even more romantic honeymoon... !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The On the Beach Guesthouse is the most lovely bed and breakfast hotel on the Garden Route. We had a room with view straight on to the beach which is about 20 m away and so nice to look at and to hear the wind and the waves while your in bed. The room was awesome, so nice and clean, very individually furnished and with everything we needed. We also got a safety key: when you re having a problem with something or someone, you press the key and someone will come right away to look after you, though it was a safe area and we didn t really feel unsafe.
Breakfast was great and also in a room with stunning views. All in all we really really liked it, though we have to say that Jeffreys Bay is not a really nice place apart from the beaches which are great.

Room Tip: Definitly ask for the rooms that face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for a wonderful review, are are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!!! We had a very pleasant experience hosting you and look forward to welcoming you at On the Beach Guesthouse again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
1.5 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 28 in Jeffreys Bay
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#9 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stone Olive Guest House
Stone Olive Guest House
#6 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
#19 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites

Property: On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Address: 32 Waterkant Street | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Beach Boutique Guesthouse and Suites in Jeffreys Bay offers a relaxed and refined atmosphere in which to enjoy the spectacular setting right on the beach. The classic design, elegant décor and harmonious ambience, combined with incredible views from most rooms, as well as the upstairs lounge, bar and outdoor verandahs, relaxes and rejuvenates and is ideal for business, pleasure - or both. We offer free use of our beach chairs, -umbrellas and -towels to our guests. Experience the magic of a sundowner barbeque right on the edge of the beach ... Braai/barbecue facilities and picnic tables are available in front of the guesthouse, either on the front lawn in the sculpted, indiginous garden leading down to the beach or on the sand lower down - obviously all with great views! The braai room is fully equipped with Weber braai's, tongs, cutlery, crockery and glasses to be used on wooden picnic tables outside. Perfectly located just 50 minutes from the Port Elizabeth International Airport. The accommodation features a Penthouse Room, 2 Deluxe Rooms, 2 Superior Rooms, a Luxury Room, a Standard Room and 2 Two-bedroom Suites. Most Units have direct beach access and breathtaking beach and ocean views. Reveling in the splendor of its location, the upstairs lounges, bar, dining area and balcony is a celebration of the magnificent backdrop of the Indian Ocean which makes for a picture perfect setting. The soothing sound of the rolling waves soon becomes a constant reminder of exactly where one has come to unwind and rejuvenate. Watch dolphins and surfers share the same waves and experience luxury in harmony with nature. Allow us to share our warm hospitality and world class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing