We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for only two nights in a double room! Very comfortable
The staff is very friendly they took me to the factory store of surfer stuff! Also there is an very good bar inside where you can relax and hang out with other travelers. And on the second day I had a nice surfer lesson with Dave! Thanks a lot for the nice stay:-)))

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Laura-Marena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal C, Manager at Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Laura-Marena,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cristal Cove! Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It's fantastic to know that you were having a good time at the bar. We are constantly looking for fresh and exciting ideas to spice things up. Hanging out at the bar will become even more interesting with our new theme nights!

We look forward to hosting you again, so be sure to come back and show off your newly acquired surf skills!

Kind regards,
The Cristal Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 93 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Staying at cristol cove is special!
Special cause:
- its at the beach
- has great value for money
- is comfortable, clean, spacious, safe
- has great hosts
- has fully equipped kitchen, living room, braii facility for each room/flat
- close to many game parks, supermarket and restaurants
- one of a kind !
Thanks for making my and our stay feel like home, Gary, Cristal, Cindy and David! We will come back again and look forward to stay many nights in your lovely place.
You got better and better every year since i first touched base there in 1999.
Stay that special and stay our no.1 place on the east coast south africa !

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MichaelSchinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal C, Manager at Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Michael,

You sure know how to make our hearts feel all warm and fuzzy! Thank you for writing this review. We love hosting returning guests - you truly start feeling like family.

We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable luxury accommodation at an affordable rate. It's fantastic to hear that we have improved each year. We are constantly looking for new and exciting ideas to keep it fresh and interesting here at Cristal Cove.

Looking forward to hosting you for many more years to come. Take care!

Regards,
The Cristal Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a dorm. Great place to stay

Pros
- quiet, relaxed vibe
- clean areas
- very friendly and helpful staff
- do the quad biking with the rhinos tour - worth the money!
- close to the main strip of stores
- very close to the beach
- bathrooms are clean and spacious
- free wifi
- self serve kitchen is available

Cons
- can't think of any!
-

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal C, Manager at Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Michelle,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a quiet and relaxed stay in one of our dorms. Thanks for your lovely review.

The quadbiking with rhinos is indeed excellent value for money - just like many of our tours and adventures on offer. We work hard on keeping the entertainment high and the price low, so it's very nice to hear that you felt the same.

It's always nice to get some feedback and to fine tune the things that are already working well. We hope to host you again in the future and that you'll join us for the new theme evenings and possibly some newly released adventure trips!

Kind regards,
The Cristal Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Well designed, comfortable interior. Good variety in room arrangment, graced with the vibe of a classic Jbay heritage spot. Extremely good service. Lekker bar. Surfing movie channel is a really nice touch. The best spot in jbay - feels just like home! Thanks Gary!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Matty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal C, Manager at Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Matty,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Cristal Cove and for all your positive feedback.
We are so pleased to hear that you had a good stay and that it feels like home - this is exactly what we aim for!

We're constantly finding new ways to spice up the "lekker bar" and we are really excited about the new theme nights. We hope to host you again really soon. We'll hook up some fresh surf movies for your next stay!

Take care!
The Cristal Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

If you want to feel home that's a place to go, the the rooms are amazing and the place is great, tje showers are super good and the staff are super helpful, if you have a chance go back horse riding, its like have a home, dont think twice before go there! !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciaferrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal C, Manager at Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Lucia,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Cristal Cove. We are delighted to hear that you felt at home here!
The horserides on the beach are a huge hit - and with reason! It's such a privelege to be able to enjoy some of the most beautiful unspoilt private beaches you have ever seen, while galloping freely on horseback!

We hope to welcome you back at Cristal Cove again soon. Perhaps a surfing lesson or checking out some rhinos from a quad bike could be your next adventure?!

Take care,
The Cristal Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a place that I can truly recommend. I had booked one night but ended up staying for three and I could have stayed longer.

Crystal Cove is a family-run hostel that is neat and clean, serve great food and the people working there warm and friendly.

I took the opportunity to ride on the beautiful, white sand dunes by the sea - a wonderful nature experience, and David from the hotel gave me my very first surf lesson, he is an excellent teacher and I had so much fun!

And Crystal - simply the nicest, most beautiful person ever – I will definitely be back!

Ann-Cathrin Henriksson

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Ann Cathrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal C, Manager at Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Ann Cathrin,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and the recommendation. It was such a pleasure to host you at Cristal Cove.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the horseriding and the surfing lesson (a must when you're so close to some of the world's best waves!). And indeed, there is so much to do here that 1 night easily turns into 3 nights!

We hope to welcome you back here in Jbay very soon. Take care!

Kind regards,
The Cristal Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We dropped by Cristal Cove in J Bay for one evening on our way to Chintsa from Cape Town. We paid 500 rand and got a perfect, family style apartment. We loved the place, the bar area was great too. Next time im in J Bay I will stay here for sure

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.3 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#5 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
0.1 mi away
Beach Music
Beach Music
#8 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers

Address: 49 Flame Crescent, Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Cove Self Catering Guest House is situated in Jeffreys bay's dream territory. Hugged by the best beaches and surf spots this country has to offer and just a hop skip and jump away from restaurants, shops and other entertainment.The idea behind this one of a kind Guest House is “the very best at less” we pride ourselves on quality luxury accommodations at a price that everyone can afford.“Nothing is too much and anything is possible” is the motto the friendly hosts live and work by.We have a cosy bar for you to kick back and relax at (or get totally loose) or just play some pool.Grab one of our rental surf boards or our free loan boogie boards and experience our epic beaches, or maybe rent one of our skate boards/sector 9`s/ bicycles and cruise through the town.Re-discover yourself as you explore our beaches and enjoy the tranquillity of this awesome surf town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing