We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel we stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed one night in a double room in this hostel. This hostel is a blast! The staff is very helpful and nice, the rooms are huge, clean and nicely decorated.The ensuite bathroom was great and also clean. Futhermore we also got an own kitchen and living room which we had to share with only another double room. The kitchen equipment was modern and everything was clean.
The beach is just around the backyard of the house and you can see it from the kitchen.

All in all the best hostel of our trip (we have seen 30 different hostels all over south africa) and that even though the price is very low (300 R for a ensuite double)!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty_198627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

A nice backpakers, close to the best surfing beach in the Cape (apparently) but a little way out of town centre.

We shared a kitchen with just one other room. Decent bar (Grand Prix) and shops nearby. Could have been better if there were towels in the room and less mould in the shower.

But cheap - so can't complain

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank rph9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Awesome place to stay close to everything, great small town with all the services and plenty of things to do! Only stayed for two nights, which just doesn't cut it; have to get back! :D

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkiUppgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We passed through J-bay looking for a place to stay, found Crystal cove. The first thibng that impressed us were the helpfull, friendly staff, made us feel at home. Our second night we upgrade to the top apartment which was a piece of heaven. Both apartment were very clean and had every thing we needed.
we also met gary and crystal, two very special people, make you feel so at home and it feel like you know them for years.

The deposit was only R50, we were so happy with the helpfullness and friendlyness from the staff we told them to keep it. The rates for the apartments are very reasonable, we were very impressed, we travel a lot.
There were a bit of noise from downstairs the second night, it's a bar after all, but it was all quite after 12. Had a wonderfull stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Top apartment with balcony and view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzi122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed at Cristal Cove...had a private ensuite room in the front that was part of a two bedroom flatlet..There was a shared loung and kitchen too...The back room was fabulous with a long terrace overlooking the beach..Unfortunately I got the side room which backs on to the terrace where noisy people sit drinking at night...My first night they were there until 4am..I was NOT a happy camper!!!!

There is a bar and breakfast bar there but they recommend you eat across the street at Ninas as its so cheap there

I've had this problem elsewhere too but the thing that bugs me about Backpacker Inns and Lodges in South Africa is that they demand a key deposit, 50 r in this case..but with all the cuffuffle leaving one generally forgets to ask for it back and they don't hand it over...I left at 8.30 on the Baz Bus .I did text Gary to tell him about it but no answer..Once they have your money they are no longer interested

I wouldn't mind returning to this place..but would ask for the back room with the balcony..AND make sure I get the deposit returned...Its not alot of money but I just hate being ripped off....

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms with the balcony..fabulous.....
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gipsyintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had such a lovely time! The apartment we were allowed to use for the night was totally self sufficient and would have been great to keep for longer- we immediately decided to "retire here"! Across the street is the best restaurant of the region! The beach is fabulous and within easy reach. In short, a true paradise , managed by a fabulous family. We enjoyed our stay so much!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingerwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband I stayed for 3 nights. We stayed in a double ensuite room with a small balcony from which you could see the ocean (not quite beachfront but just about). Next to our room was another smaller bedroom (unoccupied during our stay) and both rooms share a kitchen, dining and lounge area. The kitchen is fully equipped. Cristal Cove has body boards (free) which were great fun in the surf. Great location for a great price. Boardwalk to the beach is next door. Staff are great and we enjoyed a safe, quiet stay. Every day around 5pm a large pod of dolphins go past, was great to see them from our balcony (probably even better down the beach). We would have stayed longer if we had more time.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea en-suite balcony rooms - there are 2
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#6 of 28 in Jeffreys Bay
153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 28 in Jeffreys Bay
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#17 of 28 in Jeffreys Bay
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.1 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers

Address: 49 Flame Crescent, Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Cove Self Catering Guest House is situated in Jeffreys bay's dream territory. Hugged by the best beaches and surf spots this country has to offer and just a hop skip and jump away from restaurants, shops and other entertainment.The idea behind this one of a kind Guest House is “the very best at less” we pride ourselves on quality luxury accommodations at a price that everyone can afford.“Nothing is too much and anything is possible” is the motto the friendly hosts live and work by.We have a cosy bar for you to kick back and relax at (or get totally loose) or just play some pool.Grab one of our rental surf boards or our free loan boogie boards and experience our epic beaches, or maybe rent one of our skate boards/sector 9`s/ bicycles and cruise through the town.Re-discover yourself as you explore our beaches and enjoy the tranquillity of this awesome surf town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Cristal Cove Guesthouse & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing