We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
All Africa J Bay Lodge
Concordia, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Really nice place to stay, rooms are always clean, in the kitchen you have everything you need to prepare a good meal, and you can feel like home. The owner, Tyron, is really nice person, and if you stay on sunday you can have Potjie, wich is a traditional food in SA. I would highly recomend All Africa J Bay Lodge and if ever go to Jeffrey's Bay again I will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFlorSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kathu, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Being my first time staying in a backpacker's lodge, I was a little bit worried. This was totally unnecessary as the stay I had at All Africa J Bay Lodge turned into one of the most memorable experiences of my holiday.

The rooms were tidy and clean and exceeded our expectations. Convenient stores and the beach is within walking distance of the establishment. As far as I can tell the establishment is safe, no incidents occurred during our stay. The lodge is monitored by CCTV.

Water pressure in the communal shower area can be a problem when too many people shower at the same time, but this is a minor setback in a otherwise great place to stay.

The owner, Tyron, is extremely friendly and doesn't hesitate to get involved to get a party started! You can see he takes pride in his establishment.

The bar area is very cozy and there are various games to play like darts, pool, fooze ball and of course Jenga. Outside of the bar area there is also a braai area where we had hours of fun.

My friends and I were really impressed with the quality and the vibe of the place and are extremely upset that we only stayed in Jeffreys for four nights instead of a little bit longer. If we visit Jeffrey's Bay again we will not hesitate to stay at All Africa Jbay Lodge again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aQuafr3sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the double room with private toilet and bathroom
It was a bit like staying with family as we felt very comfortable and were made to feel welcome
Good location and very near the beach. Theres a laundrette just a short walk away - very reasonably priced.
Loved the 2 dogs in residence - as well as the owners!
Thanks for a great stay guys

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MultiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

After an exhausting 13hour drive from durbs All Africa Lodge welcomed us with open arms and a few drinks! Reg was extremely helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed the rustic showers and amazingly comfortable beds!!! Overall a relaxed place and a highlight of this surfing paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete Fox L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a room to myself during the quiet season after Easter holidays.
Walked to beach front restaurant alone at night. Cash machine and convenience store across the road. Friendly owner kindly allowed me to use internet at no charge. Slept well on a chunky design, wooden bunk bed.
I would recommend this place to anyone and plan to stay here again if I get the chance to visit this lovely town again. My trip was in May 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kth260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place is fab. Had two of our most memorable nights of our South African trip here in All Africa. The hostel is extremely clean and comfortable. We stayed at Easter and had a lovely surprise of an Easter chocolate bar on our beds to welcome us to the hostel. The atmosphere here is incredibly warm and friendly and Tyson initiates you into the All Africa family within minutes with a few shots, and some drinking game tasks. Sitting around the fire outside on the second night was a lot of fun. It's hard not to party when you're here, but saying that we had a blast, and I wouldn't have changed anything about my stay in J Bay.

Room Tip: Get one as far from the bar or the outdoor fire area if you're looking for an early night's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flynnstone1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I came to Jbay by myself with no clue what to expect at all, but I could not have been happier staying at All Africa. Met the nicest people the first night I was there. Tyron and Reggie are amazing, make you feel right at home and part of the family. Never a dull moment at All Africa, but you can still get your peace and quiet if needed. Clean, comfortable, safe, close to the beach/shops/bars/restaurants, friendly, and most of all SUCH A BLAST. Love these people. Definitely plan to return in July.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
FunkyTown
FunkyTown
#2 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
0.2 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#19 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diaz 15
Diaz 15
#11 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to All Africa J Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All Africa J Bay Lodge

Property: All Africa J Bay Lodge
Address: 5 Schelde Street | Central, Jeffreys Bay 6331, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jeffreys Bay Accommodation located right in the centre of J Bay within safe walking distance of shops, restaurants and nightlife. A mere 100m walk from town centre and Main Beach the perfect place to swim or learn to surf in the perfect surfing waves of Jeffreys Bay. All Africa J Bay Lodge offers clean, comfortable, budget accommodation with quality, duvets, pillows and sheets supplied with ample bathroom facilities offering dorms, twin rooms, en-suite double room, luxury safari tents and camping facilities around the bon fire. There is private girls only bathroom and dorms available for privacy and comfort of the ladies. We offer meals all day long, laundry service and free internet and wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your All Africa J Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing