We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I went to jeffreys bay as part of a group and chose to stay at Island vibe. Had a tour on arrival and reception was very helpful and even supplied us all with WiFi codes. Went to the bar with a couple of friends in the evening, however the majority of people staying there had surfing backgrounds and did not seem too friendly apart from a few individuals who did make an effort to chat to us. Room was a good size and opened up onto a communal balcony. Wasn't disturbed at night and the breakfast was amazing and cheap. Island vibe offers many activities including sand surfing, bodyboarding, regular surfing ect. Island vibe is a backpackers paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hi Kathryn!

Thank you for your great review! Jeffreys Bay is a surf mecca in South Africa and because of our ideal location, with the surf on our doorstep, lots of surf groups visit us or attend our surf school. There are usually other guests as well, so I apologize if you were overwhelmed with surfers!
We hope to see you again soon for an amazing, cheap breakfast!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 524 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Most affordable backpackers with amazing scenery. I slept to the sound of the ocean and woke up to it. I liked the customer service. A friend of mine got his camera stolen, so safety might be an issue but we personally did not have anything stolen! I will for sure go back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulsum k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Good day!

Good to hear you had a great stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in a room with 12 beds and its comfortable, has a safety place to lock your personal stufs, nice view to the beach and a really good bar! A really good place for surfers and young people who are searching for some fun, I strongly recomend it

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank VictoriaGreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi Victoria!

It is great to hear that you had a good stay and are recommending us! Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here while travelling with my partner down the garden route in March 2014. While the Jefferys bay area was pretty dead at this time of year, Island Vibe was buzzing. We had a great night at the bar. The staff are great for organising activities which makes it a great spot if you're looking to meet new people. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Would recommend doing the Township tour with Goodman, one of the best things we did on our trip.

The room was clean with a great view of the beach.

Only negatives were that the room was very basic compared to other bagbackers we stayed at for the same cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi Tara!

We are so happy you had a great time with us! We hope to see you again for more parties and activities.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Island vibe has a perfect location at the beach. The staff is very friendly! Although we had a beautiful view (beachfront), the room was not the one that we booked. We booked a double room with bath. However when we arrived they said it was not available and they mentioned we were lucky because we got a more expensive room. Maybe it was the view that made it more expensive and probably the fact that it was a family room. But it did not have a bath and the room was very smelly. The wifi did not work in our room and surrounding our room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanne_Amersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Good day!

We sincerely apologize for you not getting the room you wanted. Our booking system underwent an upgrade and bookings got a bit jumbled. However, this is no excuse for you not getting the room that you had booked and I am very sorry. We would love you to come and visit us again and stay in the room with the bath. We are looking into the wifi problem.
Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

as far as backpackers go island vibe will by far exceed expectations - very clean and orderly. staff is just adorable, Goodman gave us such a passionate tour of the property, sorry we missed out on the township tour! Charmaine is so helpful at making sure she can accommodate you. It is right on the beach, so for the surfers would be heaven, and for families lovely too.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room if you are taking a family or private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Good day, Charmaine!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon fir a township tour with Goodman!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

i ended up staying there for 3 weeks.
the staff is amazing, friendly, helpfull and caring.
they do laundry, the rooms are being cleaned daily, and the backpacker's pub is the hottest place in Jeffreys. there were live concerts by local artists, and everyday there's a party, 'american pie' style.
a 30 second walk from the beach, 2 min walk from the billa bong factory shop.
i came back to this backpackers again and will go back any chance ill have.

Room Tip: ask for 'pipline' or 'shipwreck' when looking for doorms. those are the smallest do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Good day, Rose!

Thanks for your great review! We can't wait to see you again!

Kind regards
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse
On the Beach Guesthouse
#5 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#5 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surf Lodge South Africa
Surf Lodge South Africa
#7 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#21 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
51 reviews
2 mi away
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
#1 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
FunkyTown
FunkyTown
#2 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay

Address: 10 Daggeraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $38 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing