We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, location & accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the flash packers section for one night and loved it. Our own private balcony to admire the beautiful view of the beach. A really neat beach bar and the staff create a very cool vibe and seem excited to have you stay. The location is literally right on the beach. Will be back!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Melj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi Mel!

Thank you for your great review - Our Flashpacker accommodation is something special :) Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 501 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I did the surf camp for 7 days here but ended up staying for an extra 3 as I enjoyed it so much and had a bit of extra time! Bar staff are cool guys as well as the surf instructors but Freddie is a hero and he made my stay even more enjoyable! Would reccomend to anyone visiting Jeffrey's bay to stay here. Food was awesome and so was the evenings entertainment!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Chris

We are so glad you had an awesome time! We hope to see you again soon - look out for more surf packages!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I love this place! If you like being next to the beach, meeting fun people, and drinking a lot then this is your place. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty standard but it is the vibe that makes this place. The bar is really cool and the bar staff are great (special shout out to Emma and Adam!). You'll always find someone to have a drink with, whatever time of day, plus the food is good and reception are really helpful. Go here and you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Good day!

Thank you for your great review! We love that you enjoyed the vibe! We hope to see you again soon - Emma and Adam shout back!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I spent only 1 night here with 5 more tourists because we were in the same tour (garden route). We were allocated a 6-bed-dorm, which is in annex. It is roughly 15 ~ 20 steps down from reception in main building.

Great point about annex:
Literally Beach front. Very quiet. There is a huge kitchen&BBQ pit ( I think )

Bad point about annex:
There is no public bathroom/toilet beside of ensuite bathroom !

One bathroom per room (6 beds dorm) might be OK if you are not in group tours, but in our situation, we all checked in at the same time and wanted to take a shower around the same timing (very dirty due to various activities like animal riding&canoeing on the day) but we were supposed to be picked up only in 30 minutes for dinner !!! It was a bit chaos. I had to go up to public bathroom which is located in main building. It is a tad far when it is urgent. Also it is not covered all the way between main building and annex. Unfortunately it was raining a bit. Hopefully, there will be an extra public bathroom in annex,, too.

You can order breakfast at bar from 7:30, it might take some time to be served, so go first if you are in a hurry. I had lovely pancake :) and coffee.
There is ATM machine in the bar area. How convenient. Probably 10 - 15 minutes walking up to main beach from this backpacker. Walking distance to factory outlet stores (mainly, surfing related products)

Bar, garden, view.. all looks good. Pity that I didn't have enough time to spend some time at the bar for drinking and communicating with other guests, it looks comfy. They served Thai Curry(and more) for dinner at that night. Next time I come back to Jeffreys Bay, I shouldn't be in group tour :p

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Good day!

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the beach house accommodation - sorry about the bathroom. In peak season the main bathrooms can be a busy. We look forward to your next visit - please remember that we also have a Flashpacker building next door, with private double en-suite rooms. See you again soon.

Kind regards,
island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you wanna start a new lief, come to Island Vibe. I woke up next to the ocean and the beach. Breakfast was untill 2:30 pm. and always fresh. A lot of activites and the surf school was just a nice place to chill..... and surfing :-)
Everyday a good Vie and nice partys in the evening/night /morning :-)
I didnt have a problem with the volume when im went early to bed.
Couples,Groupes... everyone found a place. Specially dorms were clean.
This is my promise that Im coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaBush2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Good day, Lisa!

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed the restaurant, activities and accommodation!
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great Location.
Great Facilities.
Great People.

Been back twice since our first visit. Yes it can get a little loud at night while everyone is at the bar and the fire partying, but it's never a bad vibe and you're guaranteed to meet some new interesting people.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Good day, Ryan.

We are happy you enjoyed the "viiiiiibe"! We hope you come back to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

great location and cool vibe... too loud at times (ie taking the party outside between the campers at 5am) so don't go to relax. great surf/close to the beach! the facilities are fine, a bit on the grimey side but what you would expect...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Yolande D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Good day!

We apologise for the party vibe - it is peak season at the moment so the bar is busy. Our beach house rooms are down on the beach from the bar, offering a more private and relaxing stay. Otherwise our upmarket Flashpacker rooms, just down the road, have exquisite, tranquil rooms. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
149 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jeffrey's Bay Beach House
Jeffrey's Bay Beach House
#19 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#5 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#17 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
47 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surf Lodge South Africa
Surf Lodge South Africa
#7 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay

Address: 10 Daggeraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $24 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing