We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch 22”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Island Vibe was a phenomenal place to stay with an excellent facility. The price for our double en suite was great and we were ocean front with and incredible view. the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful as we booked at the Island Vibe in Port Elisabeth and showed up in JBay. Everything worked out smoothly. The only down side was that the entire time, everyone that was there (including staff) al they could talk about was getting hammered at the bar and partying all night. If you are into that then awesome but if not and you want to fall asleep before 2-3 am without people yelling and getting wild on the other side of your door to your room, maybe find somewhere a bit more quit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WorldBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVibe, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Good day! We are deeply sorry that you could not sleep well during your stay. We are aware that the group of guys that were staying here at the same time were disruptive. We have taken measures to ensure the noise is contained to the bar area in future. We are happy you enjoyed the facilities and staff, and hope you return soon for a great ocean view stay!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 500 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here only one night, it is located right on the dunes and has fantastic views. We arrived late without a reservation and stayed just the two of us in a 10 person dorm room. There wasn't anywhere for us to safely store our luggage however the value for money was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbloggeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVibe, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Good day! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Island Vibe. We apologise for not informing you about our lockup room, because we do have this facility to safely store luggage. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The landscape: a backpacker in front of the beach... it was to be at the minimum awesome.. But it wasn't... I don't know if because I was with a group of 7 people, and we had chosen a sharing room (only there available at that moment) that is a little small house outside the building of the hostel.
Anyway... Very very small.. We felt as the White Snow's 7 dwarfs! Also the little house was with some cockroach.. Irrlll...
As the little house was built side by side to the Backpacker's bar (you can imagine the noise).. We needed to go to the bar (not really a sacrifice, as soon as we were just wanting to drink a lot not to see any bugs passing through us at night...)
Well, the sharing bathroon also could be closed! There was crazy freezing to have a shower with no bathroom's door with cold breeze from the sea...

Room Tip: Don't take the "little house" close to the bar if you are with lots of friends. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caliview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVibe, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good day!

We are extremely sorry your experience at Island Vibe was not up to standard. We have been trying to investigate the circumstances. We would appreciate if you could give us the dates of your stay, so that we can get to the bottom of this.
Please reply as soon as possible to our marketing manager at jbay@islandvibe.co.za

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A friend and I came here for a few days and had a great time! The location is ideal if all you want is to enjoy the beach, surf, relax and wake up to stunning views every morning. If you're looking for something more in the centre of town then it's maybe not ideal, but when the best thing about JBay is the beach then why would you want to be staying in town? Spending every morning sat on the grass watching the sun rise over the beach was beautiful. The facilities are simple but adequate - the shower/toilet block is semi-enclosed but always kept clean, the kitchen is large enough and the bedrooms, again, are simple but clean. There is a great bar with pool table and friendly bartenders. We had some great nights there, and chilled out days on the beach and in the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Good day, Robyn!

We're so happy you had a wonderful, relaxing stay by the beach! Please come back and visit us again soon for another clean, chilled holiday!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

In July this year my girlfriend and I backpacked the garden rote of South Africa. I had previous stayed at Island vibes the year before and it has not changed at all. The service was welcoming and they even remembered me from the year before. Our room had a ocean view, don't often find that from a backpackers.

As vegetarian's, my girlfriend and I weren't 100% sure we would find food on the menu that would suite I needs. Not only did find options for veggie options, but the kitchen staff were fantastic often with a smile on their face.

They offer tours, we were involved in the horse riding and sea view lion park. Ben (Tour guy) was fantastic and an extremely fun guy to be around.

Never felt more welcomed and definitely a place I would recommend.

Visited - September 2012 and July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi Justin
I am so glad that we could make your stay so enjoyable again! We hope you keep coming back and Ben can't wait for you to join him on another tour!

See you soon!
Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were travelling in a camper van and our friends had booked a room in the hostel. They asked could we park our van there and use the facilities like a camp site. We were looked after really well. The staff were so friendly. Everything is sooo clean. The views amazing. The vibe AWESOME.
I accidentally left my debit card in reception and they held on to it for me. Really great trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! You are welcome back anytime!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been visiting this place twice now and I keep coming back! This backpackers is beautiful located, very close to the beach. They organize a lot of nice activities throughout the day and the 'vibe' indeed is so nice and enjoyable! They also keep the place very clean and the food is amazing! You should really try it out!

Room Tip: Ze hebben prachtige kamers bijna op het strand, die zijn heel mooi en rustig gelegen. Wij sliepen in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elze T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are delighted that you love Island Vibe! Please keep visiting us often!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
149 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jeffrey's Bay Beach House
Jeffrey's Bay Beach House
#19 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#5 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#17 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
47 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surf Lodge South Africa
Surf Lodge South Africa
#7 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay

Address: 10 Daggeraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $24 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing