We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfers paradise! Btw you don't have to be a surfer to feel like a surfer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Surfers paradise

This hostel is literally on the beach! We were going to stay here for one day but we ended up staying for 3 days. I never had surfed before but I took surfing classes and I have to confess I was amazed by this sport!
I was sleeping in a dorm and although the confortable wasn't that good all the rest was terrific. The view was utterly, truly amazing and the vibes in the hostel were fantastic. Please if you do a backpacker trip Johannesburg-cape town stop in Jeffrey's bay and stay in this hostel! I promise you you'll be very happy with your choice! Don't lose time in porth Elisabeth just do it and feel the surf vibes!
Our tour took us 15 days and we did
Johannesburg
Durban
Chintsa
Jeffrey's bay
Plettenberg
Storms river
Oudtshoorn
Stellebosh
Cape Town

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 487 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

This backpacker is well known from surfers. Camping is a nice option if you fancy it. If you want a double bedroom, you 'll probably get a room in the other house, a lot less interesting so, you may want to think about it. However, if you're a group the other house is a nice option as you'll get to have your own space: own garden with barbecue, own living room, kitchen... But all the fun really takes place in the actual backpacker, at a very short distance. They also organise trips for you. You can take surf and sandboarding classes. It's a great place for young people !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hard Rock Backpackers messed up our booking and we lucked out with Island Vibe. We had a great double room with a veranda overlooking the ocean. The common kitchen was huge and the barbecue area was perfect for a small party. Staff were friendly and helpful, shuffling some rooms around so we could stay an extra night. Secluded setting at the end of the beach was just right.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed there over the New Year's period so I'm sure people were feeling more festive then usual - but it was a great experience. The vibe was so happy and everyone was there to have a good time. Suited in a somewhat sketchy area, but I never felt unsafe, and the sea is meters away from your room. Don't expect a quiet night's though! Recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Solms D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Xmas backpacking alone through South Africa, stayed 7 nights at Island Vibe to surf, loved every moment!

The staffs were incredible, accommodating and welcoming from the moment I stepped in. I got to know them in no time. The amazing people passing through were friendly with a mix bunch of international hi-fives! The mexican chilli beef pizza and the pancakes are to die for. The board rentals are great and have variety to suit all. Clean rooms & communal areas every day. Showers are hot & strong water pressure. Very secure with night staffs on patrol.

Fluorescent waves under a full moon night serended by the acoustic guitar, whales & dolphin spotting, great music bands, perfect summer waves.... I have just acquired a second home! Thankx

Room Tip: If you like the sound of waves waking you up every morning, go for the dorms facing the beach :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Absolutely love Island Vibe, and stay there as often as I can! The vibe is great, its in the ideal location, the staff are friendly and the views are spectacular! Its great value, and you'll make lasting friendships with the awesome people passing through here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Right next to the beach, this hostel is the perfect place to stay at the famous surf spot J-Bay. The staff is nice and really helpfull. The restaurant makes good pizza and breakfast. The bar is the perfect spot to either have a drink or to party hard. The surf lessons are cheap and good. The dorm was clean and has a nice patio.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.6 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#17 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
220 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
#18 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#5 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay

Address: 10 Daggeraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $25 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing