We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed there over the New Year's period so I'm sure people were feeling more festive then usual - but it was a great experience. The vibe was so happy and everyone was there to have a good time. Suited in a somewhat sketchy area, but I never felt unsafe, and the sea is meters away from your room. Don't expect a quiet night's though! Recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Solms D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 482 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Xmas backpacking alone through South Africa, stayed 7 nights at Island Vibe to surf, loved every moment!

The staffs were incredible, accommodating and welcoming from the moment I stepped in. I got to know them in no time. The amazing people passing through were friendly with a mix bunch of international hi-fives! The mexican chilli beef pizza and the pancakes are to die for. The board rentals are great and have variety to suit all. Clean rooms & communal areas every day. Showers are hot & strong water pressure. Very secure with night staffs on patrol.

Fluorescent waves under a full moon night serended by the acoustic guitar, whales & dolphin spotting, great music bands, perfect summer waves.... I have just acquired a second home! Thankx

Room Tip: If you like the sound of waves waking you up every morning, go for the dorms facing the beach :)
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Absolutely love Island Vibe, and stay there as often as I can! The vibe is great, its in the ideal location, the staff are friendly and the views are spectacular! Its great value, and you'll make lasting friendships with the awesome people passing through here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Right next to the beach, this hostel is the perfect place to stay at the famous surf spot J-Bay. The staff is nice and really helpfull. The restaurant makes good pizza and breakfast. The bar is the perfect spot to either have a drink or to party hard. The surf lessons are cheap and good. The dorm was clean and has a nice patio.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October 2012 for 10 days. We first stayed in one of the private en-suite rooms in the beach house which was excellent. The rooms are spacious for two and have their own private terrace. The kitchen that comes with these rooms is big and has everything you'll need.

We then moved to the campground, staying in our own tent, sharing the facilities in the main building with the other guests. Although the facilities are good and clean, it does get very noisy when camping. The bar stays open until late, which is great if that's what you are looking for. If you want to stay in a more quite place, make sure you get a room in the beach house.

There is also a private room on polls just in between the reception area and the beach house. That would be a good alternative if you are looking for a more private and quite room, but don't want to spend the money on the en-suite rooms.

Regarding the staff I can only say positive things. They are fantastic, helping you out with everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imsterbim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Staff are friendly and great atmosphere. Food was traditional South African meals and great value for money! Chilled vibe during the day, with quite lively music through the evening. Rooms spacious and just an overall happy environment. Pity we were only passing through. So going back!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the bottom house are the bomb!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The best place to learn surf, talk english and make new friendships! The staff was very nice, especially Cindy, the bar lady! The food also is very good! I recommend Abunai Pizza to eat at dinner! It's near to the ocean and Kitchens, a good surf spot.

Room Tip: Go to the Pipeline Room!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
138 reviews
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.6 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#17 of 28 in Jeffreys Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#6 of 28 in Jeffreys Bay
153 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
#18 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay

Address: 10 Daggeraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: $26 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing