We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashpackers - a backpackers heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Flashpackers - a backpackers heaven!”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Very happy with my stay at Island Vibe in Jbay. Excellent value - brand new room, beautiful bathroom, new very comfy bed, right on the beach, fantasitc views and lovely balcony to enjoy it all. Very quiet, slept like a rock. Wish we could have stayed longer but we were only in town for 1 night.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hersha87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    111
    35
    17
    16
See reviews for
21
83
120
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We have stayed in the dbl en suite which is direct on the beach.. Island Vibe has an awesome vibe to it.. Very rustic decor and typical backpackers style.. Evening activities were great at the backpackers bar.. Really awesome and great value for money... I'd recommend ppl to stay there ages 18 - 40..

Room Tip: Beach house private rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen83Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Great backpacker joint in j-bay. Everyone seems to head here that plans to party during their stay. Good vibe, great food, fantastic private rooms.

Suggestions:

Make wifi free. Internet is very expensive at this hostel.

Rooms were not cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricoeliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Paradise on the Garden Route... nice meals all day, cold beer, perfect warm showers, tons of (empty!) surf, a yard full of people to hang out with during the day, and nightlife twenty feet away from your dorm bed every night if you're up for it. I showed up for surf camp and stayed for... way too long. Activities, yep, close to town, yep, but hard to leave when the sun is shining, you can curl up on the lawn with a book and watch the dolphins swim by all afternoon. This is the life.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlc1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Exciting and Vibrant place to stay, fab location right on the beach front. Good sized rooms with good bathrooms! Great meals in the evening and great breakfasts! Great surfing lessons, really good value! Overall a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breckenridge colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed here November 2007.... not only was it the most discusting hostel I stayed in on my 8 month trip, but I was almost mugged on the beach and my sister had a terrible accident on one of their trips and they couldn't have cared less if they tried.
My sister and I were in a dorm room but they didnt let us chose the type of dorm when booking and so we were in a mixed room of 10. It reeked of mold, everything was stained and the ceiling panels were falling off. In my 8 months of traveling this was the only room who's bed I was repulsed by. There were no safes either, so you had no choice but to leave your things out in blind faith that the other 9 strangers wouldn't take anything.

my sister and I were also almost robbed on the beach by a group of local young boys, luckily a lady who lived near came running out of her house shouting at them that she was going to call the police. we later found out that night that a girl also staying at the hostel had been stabbed and mugged further on down the beach the night before we got there...

just do yourself a favour and dont stay here! its soooo not worth it.. discusting and dangerous.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breckgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Only one night here but it is a great hostel, right on a beautiful beach. We had a twin room with en-suite and sea view. There is loads of outside space and secure parking. The bar is great and the set evenig meals (a different one every night) are great value. Wish wecould have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffreys Bay
1.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
130 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
576 reviews
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
204 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
#19 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
FunkyTown
FunkyTown
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay

Property: Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Address: 10 Daggeraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing