We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant close up”
Review of River Bend Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Bend Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Food, service,views superb. Sitting watching a herd come to the water hole to drink while eating on the terrace was unmissable. We felt entirely safe and totally spoilt and thoroughly enjoyed the no malaria element of the safari at this end of the Cape. i am not sure how winter would feel but we enjoyed basking in the February sun watching nature at work and the elephants slowly draw near to the waterhole.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndhurst2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for River Bend Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 438 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was in Cape Town on business for two weeks and went to River Bend for the middle weekend. How welcoming everyone was and how fantastic the experience. Loads of animals, wonderful guide, super food, great staff and fabulously stylish decor. A truly great experience rounded off by an awesome massage. As an "older" woman one my own I felt totally at ease and thoroughly happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouBerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Recently had a return visit to River Bend Lodge and really enjoyed our stay, but it was not as good as the first time. Please don't get me wrong, this is a really special place, and we enjoyed the excellent meals and stunning game drives, but I just feel that it has become way too expensive for local residents. There are now better options with similar standards of service and luxury elsewhere, at a much lower cost. I also feel that the cost has increased over the last few years whilst what's on offer in terms of service, refreshments etc. has actually gone down. This was very disappointing as our family love the place. I don't think we will be back, unless they make their out of season specials a lot more attractive for local residents.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KalahariTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed with our family (2 adults & 3 kids: 5, 7 and 10) in the Long Hope Villa for 2 nights and we had an absolute superb time. From the moment we arrived the staff was there to assist us and make us feel at home. The staff goes out of their way to look after you. The breakfast, lunch and are made with love and care. Sam, the chef and the girls are working wonders from that kitchen.
Our 5 year old loved baking chocolate chip cookies with the chef in between the game drives.
The rooms are large and luxury and the decor is stunning with a great combination of colonial and contempory and comfortable.
Mike, our ranger did an amazing job and we had some real close encounters with some of the big 5. He was great with our kids and was able to cope with every question they had.
We can strongly reccommend Riverbend Lodge and The Long Hope Villa in a 14000 ha private concession of Addo Elephant Park.
Thanks for your hospitality. We will definately be back!
Cheers, Dave, Anouk, Stijn, Ties and Puck Bakker

Room Tip: The Long Hope Villa with 3 lovely bedrooms is superb option for a group or family of 6 people, but a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave-wedgeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just excellent, in all respects. I cannot imagine anything better.
We stayed for two nights, which seems really to be a minimum.
There were overwhelming trips out in the bush, with many sights
of lions, elephants and other animals.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our safari and stay at RiverBend lodge is an experience that we will hold fond memories of forever.
RiverBend exceeded our expectations in that we were never let down for sightings on game drives, and the lodge is a tranquil and mesmerizing place to stay. The lodge staff are kind, informative, professional and accommodating, nothing was ever too much trouble for them. The dining was fantastic- food and the view!
Our guide Steve was an absolute hoot, incredibly knowledgeable with wildlife, fauna and the reserve. He is witty, humorous, very accommodating and tolerant, especially with our 20 month old daughter, which made game drives with Steve entertaining, pleasant and informative, there never seemed to be a question that Steve couldn't answer.
The encounters we had with some of the wildlife in the reserve were an absolute delight, and encountering four of the big five in ONE day, is a day we will never forget.
Some of the highlights of our stay was being within about 2 metres of a feeding adult elephant bull, and he was completely at ease with our presence. Three juvenile elephant bulls swimming and playing in a waterhole. Another was being mocked-charged by the cutest baby elephant. And, coming into very close proximity of the lions in the reserve!
The reserve is not crowded with what seems to be a maximum of four to five game vehicles out on the reserve at any given time, and the lodge and game drives offer a very private experience. We had our own guide and vehicle to ourselves our entire stay. In our opinion, April was a good time to visit the reserve. It wasn't too hot or too cold, there were plenty of game about, we were very lucky to see a black rhino and her baby.
There were sweet touches that made our stay even more enjoyable, from Steve waking us up at 6am with coffee, warm milk and rusks to start the day, to the chef preparing our daughters meal early every night so she could be in bed at a reasonable hour, to hot towels and hot chocolate awaiting our return from our evening game drive.
We chose to stay at RiverBend lodge because they cater for very young children on game drives, which is hard to find in South Africa, and I must say we were not disappointed! They delivered and impressed, and we would highly recommend RiverBend for not only families with young children, but everyone.
The reserve is alluring and charming, the creatures are enticing and are impressively majestic, and the staff are favourable, attentive and make you feel like you're family.
Thank you, RiverBend, for helping us to etch a incredible, permanent memory of our safari holiday.
Worth every dollar we spent and we hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVB_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Loved this intimate home on Riverbend's private concession. For families and folk wanting to be away from other guests, this is ideal. Great experience and we had elephants walking right past the house in droves - plus great lion, rhino and buffalo! kids loved cooking with the chef Sam and all in all a relaxed private experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni_S_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
23.1 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
340 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#7 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
429 reviews
9.1 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
321 reviews
6.6 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Lodge

Address: Zuurberg Road, | PO Box 249, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: $352 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Bend Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a 14,000ha private concession within the Addo Elephant National Park, RiverBend is a mere 45 minute drive from Port Elizabeth. Home to an abundance of wildlife including elephant, lion, hyena, buffalo, black rhino and a variety of antelope and over 300 bird species, RiverBend is an ideal malaria-free safari addition to a Garden Route holiday. Children of all ages welcome. Pampering treatments are available in the Vitality Studio. Personalized game drives are led by enthusiastic and experienced guides, who will ensure you have a truly memorable safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Bend Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing