We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Safari experience but a unique 'out of Africa' camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gorah Elephant Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing Safari experience but a unique 'out of Africa' camp”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Safari was on the disappointing side, we were unimpressed with the ranger, young and immature with limited knowledge of the little wild life we saw. However we did see lots of Elephants (which you would expect as it holds the densest Elephant population in the world) and some Lions but this was only as we found them, our ranger would have driven straight past!!

On the positive side the camp itself is truely unique. Well appointed clean, comfortable tents, we were greeted with Champagne and chocolates on arrival for our honeymoon. In the morning (as it was quiet on camp) a tea/coffee tray and fresh muffins was bought to your tent. Tasty breakfasts and lunches we offered before a gastronomic feast of delights for dinner. At night this delightful camp is lit only with candlelight, it is truely charming. The camp has no fences so you are escorted after dark to and from you tent as wild animals are free to roam, which only adds to the exciting experience.

The hotel staff are excellent particularly Diane. Our car was even cleaned and stocked with snacks and water for us before we left.

Great 'Out of Africa' experience. Well worth a visit and safari is truley wild so you may well get to see the Big 5!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    27
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
207
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed two nights at Gorah at the end of our holiday in South Africa and the whole experience from the moment we arrived until our reluctant departure was absolutely fantastic and truly memorable. Diane and her teams attention to detail was remarkable
and the food from breakfast after the morning game drive through to candle lit dinners
was all of the highest quality and absolutely delicious, Our guide Megan was obviously passionate about nature and taught us not just about animals including an amazing eye for birds but also trees and vegetation on the reserve. She was also a dab hand at mixing a gin and tonic complete with ice and fresh lemon which we enjoyed in the middle of the bush watching the sun set over this magical area. All in all a place you really do not want to leave.

Colin Randell

London

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank col1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

A lot of other reviewers have mentioned the fantastic food, wonderful lodgings and great service. All of that is true. We stayed there on our honeymoon and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Overall, we would have no hesitation in recommending Gorah.

The game drives were brilliant. On our 6 game drives we saw lions, rhino, elephants, buffalo, hyenas, monkeys, zebra, eland, red hertebeast and so much more.

Some points we would make though:
- The game drives can be cold (we went in late October) so bring lots of warm clothing and layers that you can add or take off
- It isn't quite like a David Attenborough documentary, there will be times when you drive for a couple of hours and see next to nothing, but stick with it and it is worth it
- While the dining room is romantic and you have your own space, it would be nice sometimes to have more interactions with the other guests or have some music playing in the background

But these are minor issues - don't hesitate in coming to stay in Gorah.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raff_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Suzanne and her staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived. We arrived midday, enjoying lunch on the open patio with lazy buffalo, elephants and Zebras passing by so close you can almost pet them. Everything about Gorah was special. We stayed one night at the Gorah Camp and wished we could have stayed more!

The Main House overlooks a waterhole where we saw the best game such as herds of elephant, buffalo, zebra, ostrich and warthogs. You can sit and watch for hours how herds of wild animals make their way to and from waterhole. The Addo Elephant Park is very dry but you can see how nature is still taking care of everything in the wild.



Once we got to our luxury tent… AND I mean LUXURY it was just heaven. I found wonderful importance that was given to little details like the complimentary sparkling wine to celebrate our honeymoon, fresh nuts (with nut cracker), nougats…and once again my favorite; Charlotte Rhys Toiletries. Our tent had a portable gas heater, which were put on ready in the evening and hot water bottles in the bed. The private deck offers panoramic views across the endless savannah plains. The unfenced tents & no electricity give a quite unique feeling of what Africa was like in the old days. It was an amazing tented experience. The entire place is completely unpretentious but has all the luxuries. Of course they will charge your camera, let you blow-dry your hair, etc. But who needs that when you are in the middle of the wild?

Dinner was a truly a romantic experience. We had our own private corner with no other guest in sight. We loved every minute of it. When we got back at our tent, the turn down that they arranged was beautiful. Candle lights all over the floor with chocolate brownies and some sherry, ANOTHER WOW actually a POW WOW. We felt like king & queen of Africa.

The following day we had yet another delectable breakfast followed by a game drive. The late game drive however was a bit of a disappointment. It was quite warm and the animals were already starting to hide under the shades of the trees & bushes. I would really recommend earlier morning game drives, especially in the summer & to also give enough check out time when returning from the game drives. However we did see lots of animals. We saw elephant, buffalo, zabra’s, kudu, red hartebeest, warthogs, grey duiker, hundreds of birds, yellow mongooses, dung beetles and 4 of the 12 Addo Lions.

When we returned from our game drive it was almost time to check out at 12h00. Attention to detail is top priority – At departure time our car was perfectly washed and we each received water bottles and little elephant cookies. This is truly the gem of Addo. If you go you will understand why! It was quite emotional leaving.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astro082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed for three days and had a fabulous time. Two game drives a day, superb food, comfortable accomodation, wonderful staff and rangers and a unique location with a waterhole about a 100 metres from the main lodge. It was too cold to use the swimming pool, but we imagine this would be a great facility in hot weather. This is not the Kruger, so you do not see giraffe, crocodiles, leopard or hippos, but you see plenty of everything else! A nice touch is your ranger bringing you early morning coffee/tea before breakfast. All in all, you must visit the Gorah Elephant Camp!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Spent 4 nights here, what a place no electricity, no phones, candle light and oil lamps, open fires, animals roaming free through the camp day and night, breakfast with the buffalo and elephants. Our thanks to Devon (Deano) for making our 30th wedding anniversary very special watching the baby elephants playing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon and was truely the highlight of our trip. Everything about Gorah is special and we cannot say anything negative about it.
The food, accommodation, wildlife, staff and experience was magnificent.

Suzanne and her staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived to we left. Special mention must go to Gareth, who was our guide, if there is an award for field guide of the year this man would win it every year !

We have thought about Gorah every week since we come home and would happily miss going on holiday for a year to return to Gorah.

If there is one thing you have to do in the next few years a visit to Gorah is a must.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loughsidefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
6.3 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
29.1 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.9 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#7 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
7.0 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
13.7 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorah Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorah Elephant Camp

Property: Gorah Elephant Camp
Address: Rt N10 & Addo Heights Rd, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gorah Elephant Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The incomparable thrill of quietly observing a passing herd of elephant while being served tea on the veranda of a stately Colonial manor house is the stuff of dreams and legends. This exclusive safari lodge recaptures the romantic mystique of authentic safari of centuries past - the awesome natural world of Africa merged with colonial nostalgia and modern sophistication to deliver an unforgettably unique 5 star adventure. Gorah is a member of Relais & Chateaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gorah Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorah Elephant Camp Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing