We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gorah Elephant Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at Gorah for 3 nights, the staff went the extra mile to do everything they could for us and thank you Eloise for getting our Harleys delivered! Our guide Martin was very experienced and knowledgable and knew just where to find all the animals we wanted to see, our heart skipped a beat when a majestic lion came over the hill and he knew the elephants by name specially the one who squeezed past our vehicle! but nothing beat the piping hot coffee he served us in our tents just prior to our game drives. A truly chilled out vacation and when darkness fell candlelight was the only light available, we just loved it. Dinner was eaten from crisp thick linen tablecloths with bone handled cutlery. Food was spectacular and beautifully presented then back to our cozy tents with hot water bottles and duvets you could drown in!!!!! a very civilized touch was the sherry replenished daily and for free! Just one thing - public areas were a little shabby and needed renewal particularly soft furnishings, apart from that perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 337 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at Gorah Elephant Camp in March 2012 for two nights. We loved the experience. The staff were all fantastic. Ross and the young lady who was a co-manager were incredibly accommodating. The people that work at the resort were all fantastic. Food was amazing gourmet meals. We arrived in the afternoon and went on a safari drive where we saw 3 lions, lots of elephants, zebras, and a few dozen other animals. Truly amazing. At night the resort is light completely by candlelight. Incredibly pretty. The resort is part of the Relais and Chateaux collection, so you know to expect 5 star service, accommodations and food. Gorah Lived up to our expectations. One of my favorite memories of the experience was sitting on the patio of the resort looking straight out to the watering hole which is only about 50 feet from the resort. The elephants came up, drank, played in the water and then left. And then another set of animals came up. It was totally amazing! I can't say enough good things about our experience. I highly recommend Gorah Elephant Camp. Thanks everyone for such an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. You're going to be staying in super fancy tents (see pictures I'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

we spend 3 days in April at Gorah Elephant Camp. A very lovely place with great friendly staff, excellent food and we had with Evan a very good ranger/guide for the game drives. We saw Lions, Buffalos, Elephants, Rhinos and lots of smaller game. A place i would recommend everyone to visit!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Gorah has to be one of the most amazing places I have ever visited in my life. My wife and I spent 3 nights there and I have never left a place with such a sense of wonder and satisfaction than I did when we left Gorah. There is just something truly magical about the lands and its inhabitants.

We arranged a transfer from Port Elizabeth airport which was a fun and enjoyable ride listening to tales from the driver. During the drive into the camp we spotted numerous elephants and other wildlife. We also arrived quite early so, after a lovely breakfast, we relaxed on the lounges overlooking the waterhole until our room was ready. I could have honestly stayed there all day as it was a procession of one animal after the other coming to drink and play in the waterhole. Warthogs came right up to the house and lounged under the shade of the tree so close I could almost pet them. The proximity of the waterhole to the house is really something to behold, and gives you the sense that you are right there with nature.

It really is hard to describe the accommodation as a tent as it is so luxurious and was beyond my imagination. We slept like logs every night as the bed was so comfortable. There could have been elephants trumpeting outside our tent and we wouldn't have heard them I was sleeping so well. One night we did actually have elephants outside our tent and had to wait for them to walk off before we could get in! Everything is solar powered in the tent so there is limited opportunity to charge electrical equipment, which I actually found to be a real relief as I switched my phone off for the duration of the trip, something I haven't done in a long time. We were able to get camera batteries etc charged by the guides overnight though which was good.

Each morning the guide came and delivered us tea & coffee @ 6am, and it was so lovely to sit on the verandah and drink a warm cup of coffee as the park awoke. Following this, it was time for the first drive of the day. Our guide, Francois, was a great guy and really good at what he does, very knowledgable and has an amazing eye for animals. Each day we were treated to some of the most amazing sights I have ever seen, including black rhinoceros, lions devouring a kudu, numerous elephants munching their way through the vegetation, a massive herd of water buffalo, zebra, warthog, hartebeest, kudu, mongoose, hyena, etc etc. One of the lions came so close to the vehicle it was breathtaking. Having never been on safari before it was truly a magical experience, and even my wife who has been on a number of safari said it was by far the best she has ever been on.

Following the morning drive, it is time for breakfast and it is a smorgasbord of great food. My wife has very particular dietary requirements and the staff did an outstanding job and went out of their way to cater to her needs. In fact, all of the staff were great and so attentive to our needs and made the trip that much more enjoyable.

After breakfast, we spent most days just relaxing around our tent before being treated to more great food at lunch time. Afternoon naps were then followed by tea and cakes, before jumping back in the truck for the afternoon drives. Dinner and drinks followed to cap off a wonderful day before retiring to the tent and falling asleep to the sounds of the animals.

I have no doubt we will come back to to Gorah and experience it again one day, particularly as I think it will be hard for any other safari to top it! Treat yourself and go and experience this truly magical place.

Room Tip: Tent 10 was outstanding and felt like we were the only ones there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ipcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Gorah is a very special place, you can feel that this lodge has a very long lasting history. The luxury is unobtrusive and perfectly blends in with the colonial style. Food is outstanding, the entire team gives you a family feeling and this lodge attracted very interesting and lovely travelers – perhaps we were lucky. But the absolute highlight are the game drives. Twice a day we went out for 3 hours. There was no rush but we really observed the wildlife. We accompanied a rhino for 45 min, we saw how the lioness taught her twin sons how to hunt for food, we were present when 10 different herds of elephants met at a waterhole. Martin, our lovely ranger, showed us the big animals but also the tiny ones – for me it was the ultimate safari experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We spent 2 nts in Gorah and at first I was not comfortable as I was not used to being in such a "natural" environment and was a bit outside my comfort zone. However the experiences we had at this hotel have topped anything we have done before and we consider ourselves to be very well travelled. The so called "tents" are large luxury suites with king bed, sitting area, indoor shower and plumbing facilities and a hardwood floor. The walls and ceiling r canvas so u can still see and feel the outdoors, as if u were camping. The meals were excellent and the atmosphere in this solar efficient camp, with candles and gas lamps helps tossed u back in time to when safari camps first began. There r 2 game drives per day, one at 6:30 am and one around 4:30 pm after u have finished afternoon tea. In between u can relax on the front porch of your tent or enjoy a drink on the lodge verandah overlooking the watering hole where animals come throughout the day. While on safari we saw a kill which is survival of the fittest at its best. We saw 2 lions take a baby water buffalo that had been abandoned by its mother. We saw tons of water buffaloes, zebra, warthogs, lions, jackals and tons of elephants. We saw these animals up close and personal as we were in open air jeeps. I would recommend this camp for those who would like a bit of an adventure while retaining the authenticity of an old time safari. The only negative comment I can offer on Gorah is that one morning we did not receive our wake up call for safari but luckily we could hear others outside the tent so we did not misss our drive.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank travelagent2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our third visit to Gorah, and I guess there isn't much more to be said than in other reviews, it is just simply fantastic! We stayed for three nights which we feel is perfect, but in any case we would recommend more than one night to do justice to the reserve.

Access is easy being just over 1 hours drive from Port Elizabeth airport, but you feel absolutely in the middle of nowhere.

The welcome is genuine, the staff are friendly and it's nice to see the same people year in year out. The tents are beautifully equipped, extremely comfortable, even with hair dryers this year, but the whole ambiance of the place is just magical. Ross, the new General Manager, has made a great personal contribution, mixing with the guests and ensuring that everything runs smoothly. Pre-dinner drinks were a really sociable occasion allowing guests to swop stories and savour the whole safari experience.

The game drives were brilliant, on our last drive we saw five lions near a water hole. The two older males were eating a warthog kill, whilst the female and her two young sons looked on. About 25 elephants then entered the water hole and hadn't seen the lions who were downwind. Spotting them the main bull elephant organised the others into a circle and then the whole group charged the lions and drove them away. Just incredible to view all this about 50 yards away.

A highlight this time was the consistently outstanding food. The chef and his team were quite brilliant. All served in a candle light environment in the evening.

This is genuinely heaven on earth. It is just such a special place, if you only ever go on one safari make sure it is this one. We'll be back again as it has a place in our hearts.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doubletriggerracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
29.1 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
380 reviews
0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
46 reviews
6.3 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
349 reviews
7.8 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
10.8 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorah Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorah Elephant Camp

Address: Rt N10 & Addo Heights Rd, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: $1,027 - $1,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gorah Elephant Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The incomparable thrill of quietly observing a passing herd of elephant while being served tea on the veranda of a stately Colonial manor house is the stuff of dreams and legends. This exclusive safari lodge recaptures the romantic mystique of authentic safari of centuries past - the awesome natural world of Africa merged with colonial nostalgia and modern sophistication to deliver an unforgettably unique 5 star adventure. Gorah is a member of Relais & Chateaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gorah Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorah Elephant Camp Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing