We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Addo Rest Camp
Nearby Hotels
$46
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quarry Lake Inn(East London)
$139
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$47
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$90
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kennaway Hotel(East London)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Osner(East London)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
160
227
65
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
227
65
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenrest campself cateringwater holecattle baron restaurantforest cabinsguest housefloodlit waterholeself drivegreat parkwatering holegame viewingsunset drivenice terracepetrol stationnational parkablution block
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 481 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Domkrag Guest House and it was pretty nice for being in the middle of a national park. The bedrooms/bathrooms were fine, nothing fancy. We really liked the outdoor patio overlooking the watering hole where we saw elephants and kudu. It was very quiet and peaceful at night...and it made for great star gazing. We bought groceries in town before arriving so we cooked our own meals for the most part, except for one dinner at their restaurant. It was a bit cold at night (probably due to the high ceilings) and there was only one portable heater between 2 bedrooms, but there were extra blankets. We loved that we could walk to the game drive office and general store. We took a few of the game drives- night tour, sunrise tour, sunset, and horseback riding. We saw a lot of game (including 3 black rhinos on the night tour), but it actually wasn't until we were driving our own car out of the park that we saw 3 lions!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Always excellent. Accommodations are private, clean & part of the natural surroundings.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
Thank JoyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This rest camp has been modernised and the accommodations are actually pretty good and very good value.

There is a kitchen and outdoor braaiing area. Nice double bed, glass door verandah, TV.

The camp has a swimming pool and a floodlight watering hole.

The Addo Elephant Park is not up there with the Kruger and Kgaligadi parks, but it is still worth a visit nontheless. Obviously, big herds of elephants, lots of buck, but not many predators. We saw 2 porcupines and a first ever aardvark on one of the must-do game drives.

When you are out driving the park yourself, try the area to the east as this has more open land and is less wooded - easier to see the animals.

Also try to choose a cottage close to the rest camp main facilities. Ours was stuck out in the middle of nowhere somewhat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

My family and I enjoyed two nights at the main camp. The cottages/chalet was much better than we expected, and even the dinner was fine. The night safari was good, but not great, the safari guide kept repeating: "There is a <insert animal> WOW!!! I have not seen that animal in years - YOU are all sooooooo lucky to see this animal tonite."

The daytime self-drive was fantastic - and the game was abundant enough for even our youngest to maintain his enthusiasm for a whole day.

Go to Addo!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stay in Kruger a lot - we thought we would find the slightly tired looking accommodation of there (we love kruger and the accommodation definitely does not dim this - but it could do with revamping). We stayed in a cottage in both the main camp and Matyloyweni and both were excellent. Very well kitted out to cook and to braai. Great bathrooms. Stunning setting. Could not be beaten. And of course you have all of the wildlife of Addo a short distance away. Excellent. Food at the main camp restaurant was very good (a real improvement on Kruger where we always braai).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHH-pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews