We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant self-catering”
Review of Addo Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addo Elephant National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addo Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

As recommended by Mom, we entered Addo Elephant Park from the south, driving slowly north to check in. VERY friendly Lee-Marque, who had been extremely helpful previously on the telephone, checked us in to our Chalet # 27.
The units are being revamped and our bathroom was new and clean. Unfortunately the tops of the cupboards (where we stored our suitcases) had not been dusted / cleaned after the renovation, which we only found out when taking down our cases for our departure.
Lovely sized chalet with an open plan kitchen, lounge & bedroom. The verandah overlooks the park - the fence is close by. A pity the shrubs are not kept trimmed, as this would have made it so much easier to see the elephant munching his/her way along the fence.
We were there for 4 nights; saw plenty of game, especially elephants and many babies. Only saw one beautiful lioness, but apparently 2 are pregnant, so there should be more lions around in the future.
We can't wait to return: a truly relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPWfmPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 440 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

They were sort of clean, but our sheets had huge holes in them and the bathroom had rotted out and felt like you were going to fall through the floor. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Restaurant was nice, I would avoid the game drives but the horse back ride was EXCELLENT and worth the money. Our guide was funny and very helpful we had an excellent time.
Store was very well stocked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our second visit to Addo. We were not sure what to expect after a 12 years absence, but we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one of the rondavels overlooking the waterhole. Although the chalets may offer better quality accommodation, the positioning of the rondavels is far superior. Addo offers excellent opportunity for game viewing in a scenic environment. The only negativity was the unfriendliness of the staff, especially at reception and in the shop. we also found the menu of the Cattle Baron restaurant quite boring and opted for another braai.

Room Tip: The positioning of the rondavels are excellent, but the chalets are slightly newer and more spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whalerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The park itself is awesome, sadly the staff could not care less about customer service, they do the bare minimum and no more. We needed to badger them into getting our cottage serviced. The morning game drive was awful, I seemed to know more about the park and the animals than he did. We drove around on our own and saw every animal except leopard and had a blast. It is a shame that the staff let down a wonderful park.
Forget about eating in beef baron restaurant unless you want to wait an hour for your food and for lousy food at best.
We stayed here 7 nights in main camp
...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had an amazing time; the rondavels are basic but clean, however, their real draw is their position near the waterhole. It is delightful watching elephants, zebras etc as you sip a glass of wine.

Restaurant is pretty basic. We ate there twice; once was ok the other awful.

We would still return we didn't go for the food!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JFlowerStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at Addo Nat. Park in 2007 and enjoyed our visit so much that we returned on this trip. Arrived and did not receive the warmest greeting from staff. After checking in, we were sent off and told the key would be in the door of our chalet. It wasn't so we had to drive back for a key. There seemed to be confusion at reception about available rooms. Booked a chalet because we knew it was spacious having stayed in on in '07. The accommodations haven't changed from '07 and that is unfortunate. We were thrilled with the accommodation in '07 but 7 years later with no updating one is not as thrilled. Our chalet was adequate but the units need some updating and renovating. Overall the chalet was clean but the bathroom could use a thorough cleaning prior to guests arrival. The mattresses need replacing and the air conditioning unit definitely needs to be replaced. It was so noisy that we didn't sleep well. Addo Rest Camp is perfect for visiting the park as you have in and out privileges into the Nat. Park and the animals are the reason you come. However it would be beneficial to SANParks if they updated the chalets. Enjoyed breakfast and dinners at the restaurant - simple food but it hits the spot. Hopefully when we return next time, some updating will have been done.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Addo was great. We stayed in a chalet for 2 nights and saw elephants, warthogs and kudu from the verandah while having a braai. Hearing the jackals howling at night was a truly African experience, also being burgled by hungry vervet monkeys was interesting too (the window was open just a crack and they managed to get in to nick a mango).

The chalet was very well furnished with a complete kitchen (full range of kitchen utensils, crockery and appliances) , it was also serviced every day. The thatched chalet included parking and a barbecue. En suite was clean and included a shower and bath.

The amenities in the camp were good too and included an information centre, restaurant, small curio / supply shop, petrol station and pool. I’d suggest stocking up at a supermarket in town (Port Elizabeth, etc) before venturing up to Addo.

Within the park we saw many animals in their natural environment – too many to list here. The highlight was a seeing a rooikat (caracal) and having a close encounter with a mother and baby elephant. Take binoculars and a camera with a decent zoom.

Room Tip: Book chalets 25 – 38, they are situated on a ridge with a good view of the valley. The rondavels are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
23.8 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
45 reviews
1.3 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
333 reviews
6.5 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
334 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 22 in Addo
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Rest Camp

Address: 36 km From Matyholweni Gate, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Addo Rest Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Addo Park Rest Camp Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing