We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two wonderful days”

Addo Elephant National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.80*
and up
Private Addo Elephant National Park Day Tour from Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two wonderful days”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a day touring by ourselves - at a slow pace and stopping often for the slightest glimpse of animals or birds which was a wonderful experience. We then had a days tour with a guide which was even more special. The elephants are awe inspiring.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,387
    552
    139
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elephants”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A wonderful sighting of the ellies at the watering hole. Easy to drive around, although some of the signposts are a bit misleading. Nice tourist shop if you're interested in buying souvenirs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillyfrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Elephants are Amazing”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The National Park is large, and as I understand will soon grow much more.
To be honest, I was expecting to see more, but with the size of the place, it's understandable why you might not see every animal you are expecting.
There are tons of Kudu, Zebra, Buffalo and other deer, but as you can imagine, seeing the same animals can make you a tad despondent...but then we saw the Elephants! Herds and herds of Elephants, and they were beautiful!!! They walked right by us...amazing!
The Guide was entertaining, and you could tell he really wanted to find animals for us to see, but I guess this is up to chance.
It's a good drive in a massive park, definitely give it a try if in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adventure of a lifetime”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It has been my dream to go and see live elephants and other wild animals as I frequently passed Addo and wondered how it would be. We visited the park on a Sunday morning and what a great time we had. We first had breakfast at the restaurant before going on the game drive and took some pictures at the museum with skeletons of elephants and different animals mounted on the walls. We then went on the game drive which lasted about 2 hours seeing zebras, kudus and elephants by the waterhole and what a magnificent sight they are! I couldn't believe how huge they are up close and one was as if posing seeing that people were taking pictures of them, I'm sure they are so used to having human beings fussing over them. It was a remarkable sight to see. We then proceded to the picnic area were we had our braai and salads prepared by the restaurant, we relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. There were also some monkeys jumping around from tree to tree seemed excited to have us around and some indigenious birds walking about not even worried with our presence. On our way out of the park we saw more elephants and some kudus running freely on the fields. Great experience indeed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Khusela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Saw a Herd of 200+ elephants”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We traveled around in the park, saw a few elephants from afar and were sort of despairing of getting a good view when we saw 200+ at a waterhole. We were able to get within 10-30 yards of them as they drank, rolled in the mud, played, fought, showed dominance. Fascinating. Well worth it.
Food at the restaurant was pretty good - unremarkable as I can't really remember it as bad.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Elephant National Park also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Elephant National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing