We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge park with huge tennants!”

Addo Elephant National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.07*
and up
Private Addo Elephant National Park Day Tour from Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge park with huge tennants!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I loved Addo Elephant Park, the tour guides are so helpful and informative and don't mind if you ask 'stupid' questions. The tours always find groups of elephants to watch and if you are lucky you will see some babies too! We also saw some wilderbeast ad bush buck's with was pretty amazing. The gift shop is extensive with so much on offer as well as snacks and other food/drinks.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank friendlytraveller424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,410
    558
    142
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite 3 days, ever.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The most magical three days ever. It was absolutely everything I could have ever hoped for and dreamed of. We stayed at a backpacker (I believe it was the Orange Elephant) which worked out great. They had a bar, wifi and a great bonfire. We had a brai one evening, and it spectacular.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent ADDO and its Big 6”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Addo has got such charm and the animals are so very photogenic and foto friendly that it will give anyone a great chance to bring home magnificent images you will treasure for ever. Africa at its best

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bushveld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Game & Bush Experience - Close to Port Elizabeth”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our second visit to Addo. This time we stayed in one of Sanparks chalets in the main camp rather than a private lodge outside the camp as we wanted to feel more of the atmosphere of the park. The chalet was clean and perfectly acceptable with adequate basics for our 2 night stay. We took all our own provisions rather than rely on the camp's restaurant. The game viewing was enjoyable with lots of bird sightings as well. We were worried after our first drive that we had not seen any of the huge population of elephants but this was happily rectified later. Addo's main park area is split into 2 and this was our first experience of the southern part which pleasantly surprised us for both it's scenery and the game.

We will certainly return!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank R_S1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Great way to see wildlife..on your own terms.....”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We really enjoyed this park. The thing i really liked about it was you can drive your own vehicle and self-guide.... It reminded me of Yellowstone National Park in the States where you can see lots of wildlife along the road in the comfort of your own vehicle.... We saw the standard issue animals--zebra, elephants, buck etc... We saw many jackals, which was a first for me....

The only drawback was the very pricey entrance fee. As a USA resident, i got hit pretty hard. My wife got a discount as she holds a S. Africa passport.... And the kids were discounted too.... Unlike Yellowstone and every other US National Park where you are charged per vehicle, it seems South Africa charges per person. This can get VERY expensive if you visit with a carload of non-resident adults. Thus, i gave this Park a 4 instead of a 5.........

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Elephant National Park also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Elephant National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing