We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elephants, elephants everywhere.”

Addo Elephant National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.80*
and up
Private Addo Elephant National Park Day Tour from Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“elephants, elephants everywhere.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

First visit to the Addo Elephant park on our LONG trip along the Garden Route. Good roads so no being bogged down. Variety of wild life and very scenic. Cafe recommended for a well earned break. Elephants are the main thing and you can get VERY close to them. Not a huge park but it will take a day to drive around it. Well priced and easy to get to. Enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ratchetspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,387
    552
    139
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very pleased we went”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a wonderful time. It was excellent. Our guide was extremely knowledgable and we saw lots of family groups of elephants. Combined the trip with a visit to Schotia.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hedleyhouse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Elephants galore”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Provided you are lucky, as elephants have the ability to 'disappear' round just a single bush, like us you will see hundreds. And if you are really lucky more than a hundred around one water hole - a fantastic sight. But remember that ADDO is a big area and much is covered by shrub land. The animals can hide and you may travel for a long time without spotting one, which for us is part of the fun. Our visit was after periods of heavy rain so the animals were not so plentiful near the 'normal' waterholes and we failed to find buffalo and lion but this did not detract from a great day. Also not all animals are there as they are not indigenous, most notably is the absence of giraffe. Facilities are similar to other National Parks, perfectly adequate but not luxurious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So Glad I Went”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We decided on the last minute to do a self-drive through Addo Elephant National Park during October 2012. Entrance was really cheap (about R 75 for 2 guests??). We're avid safari visitors when we go on holiday and this was one on our tick list.

The reserve is much bigger than I expected. The map is a little bit tricky but if you stick to the speed limit and pre-plan your route, you won't be disappointed with game viewing. We got within meters of grazing wildlife, wild boars, surprisingly just 2 elephants, and a couple of other smaller game.

Overall I was very impressed with the reserve - they have a large curio shop and restaurant.

It was however disappointing to see that some people in the reserve (the self-drivers anyway) tend to think its a race to get from one point to another. A lot of the time we put the car in neutral and just coasted using the brake to adjust our speed. A typical game drive should last 2 - 4 hours, so there really is no reason to race through the park. You get to see so much more if you take it slowly.

Another bit of a surprise was to see that somebody had thrown out a half-eaten apple in the road.

I would definitely go again and would recommend the Park to anyone.

Their game rangers are knowledgeable and well trained as we observed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
389 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Animal Kingdom”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Addo Elephant National Park is really worth staying couple of days. Own drives give You opportunity to see really lot of animals and enjoy the nature. Just drive slowly enough and be prepared all the time.
Try to wake up early enough, just after 0600 gate opening we saw many animals, which on daytime were somewhere sleeping and not visible.
We stayed two night at the Main Camp, that is good place for touring the Park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Elephant National Park also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Elephant National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing