We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephants”

Addo Elephant National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$189.87*
and up
Private Addo Elephant National Park Day Tour from Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
laguna, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Elephants”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It was an awesome experience to see numerous elephants! We took time observing them drink, walk, play, and just be elephants. We saw single bull elephants, groups of elephants... The park was huge. You can drive thru yourself or take a 4x4 with A guide who could explain things and take you on the dirt roads- one an get lost in the hugeness of the park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,406
    558
    141
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“One of the best kept secrets!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from another trip to the Addo Elephant Park - the third one this year (and we live 10 hours drive from there!). What a great park! Not too big, not too small. Of course - this is the Elephant Park - you will see elephants. We were lucky enought to get them in the morning at a dam. There must have been 60 or more elephants drinking water and playing around! We also saw spotted hyena (a family), who stayed in one place. Lots of kudu, buffolo and zebra and typical this great park - a surprise as we were about to leave - lioness on a dam wall. Stunning!
Tip : Bring your own food and have a braai at the picnic site!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lon, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like animals and nature get yourself to Addo.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went on a full day tour of Addo Elephant park organised by Jonga Africa (see below):

http://www.jonga-africa.co.za/

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jonga-Africa/215511795237721

The day was unbelievable. We left at 0900hrs and returned at 1800hrs (ish) and it felt like seconds.

The guide was Kevin Foster. He was incredibly knowledgeable and found got us sightings of elephants, lions, bison and, remarkably, black rhino.

The facilities at Addo are brilliant. There are regular stops for picnics (if that's your thing) and 'comfort' stops. The scenery and animals will take your breath away.

If I could select one thing from my visit to South Africa which I hope never to forget it is my day at Addo Elephant Park.

100% amazing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful elephant viewing, as well as ostrich, and so much more”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We toured Addo in a bus...part of a Grand Circle Tour. Even in a bus we had a great viewing and were able to see a lot of elephants, zebra, etc. Our guide saw the elephants moving, so we went to a watering hole, and saw a herd gather for a drink and a cool-down. We saw other elephants during the day, many birds and too much to mention.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank annmcnulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of our favorites NP in South Africa”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a great experience in Addo. We did not see any big predator, but plenty of elephants, antelopes, giraffes and many other animals.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AFreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Elephant National Park also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Elephant National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing