We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really need 2 days to see all here.”

Addo Elephant National Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$190.80*
and up
Private Addo Elephant National Park Day Tour from Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liscannor, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You really need 2 days to see all here.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We drove around ourselves from 11am until 4pm, then returned to reception to go on the game drive we booked. Our guide CJ was a mine of information, witty and welcoming. We didn't get to see all the south section, wish we had more time.
Unfortunately didn't see any wild cats, but that's the luck of the draw!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank susannejward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,387
    552
    139
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
206 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very special place to visit and to stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The terrain of the park is stunning especially the Northern part of the Park where there are all sorts of animals. Elephant, Zebra, Red Hartebeest, Hyena, all kinds of bird life, Spring Flowers now in September, Black backed jackal, Ostrich, Big Leopard Tortoises, Puff Adder, Blue Crane birds, Meerkat, Vervet monkey, Kudu, Common Duiker, Warthog, Scrub hare, Buffalo and lots of Elephant. What a feast of wild-life. We stayed in a chalet (one bedroom) at the main camp, right alongside the fence to the wild-life park. During the night we heard lion and hyena. Really a special happening. They have a restaurant at the main camp and a shop where you can buy all sorts of things. We found all the amenities clean and well kept. Only one stop in the park where there are toilet facilities and a picnic spot, but very clean and well organised.

Very special after what is offered at Kruger which we absolutely love, but the amenities are very basic... captive audience????

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

After seeing a few elephants in the Kruger and having the opportunity to walk with them I couldn't wait to visit Addo!!!

We entered at the Southern end of the park and got off to a slow start elephant spotting. While we only saw 2 elephants before lunch time we saw lots of zebra, ostriches and various species of buck.

After having lunch at the restaurant (nice enough but nothing spectacular and a bit on the pricey side) we decided to chance our luck on the Gorah loop and spotted what seemed like hundreds of elephants. Herds of young and old were on the side of the road, among the trees and crossing the road in front of us.

Addo is now one of my favourite places in South Africa and I can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Departed_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
805 reviews
383 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day with Elephants in Abundance”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After missing the elephants at Hluhluwe we were keen to see some elephants and were not disappointed. Spent a whole day there and in addition to elephants saw lions, cubs, zebras etc. Fantastic day and well worth the effort to get there.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thrilling”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My two sisters and I stayed one night at Addo...what a thrill...we drove around on arrival encountering quite a few elephants, kudus, zebras and 2 tortoises, warthogs, vultures....plus numerous birds and piles of ...
Our accommodation was just perfect and we also went on a night safari...how magical! We encountered numerous elephants (one who took a very up close and personal liking to our bus...) buffaloes, buck, a bat earred jackal...the whole experience was wonderful ...thoroughly recommend it. Viewing the many varieties of birds from the hide was fantastic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenyce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Elephant National Park also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Elephant National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing