We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour package”

CrissCross Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Addo Tour, Safari & Adventures specialists, Crisscross Adventures,were the first Tour and Safari Company to be based in Addo. They are committed to ensuring that you receive a safe, fun-filled, affordable tour with highly qualified guides, and that your experience of South Africa, and specifically Addo, is truly memorable. We specialize in Addo Elephant Park Safari’s: Half day & Full Day Tours, Addo River Safari’s on the Sunday River, Quad biking tours,Addo Hiking tours in the Zuurberg mountains,Sand boarding and sledding in Addo’s Marine Section,Beach Safari’s at Addo’s Marine Section,Fishing in Addo, mountain Biking and Addo Bird watching. Included on Every Tour: Return Transfers if staying in the Addo Village area, drinks, snacks, All entrance fees, and lunches (on Full day tours) are included in the price. Come and join us for the Ultimate ADDO Experience!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tour package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked this as a package with mountain hiking, river safari and Addo park tour, as well as 3 nights on the Chrislin African Lodge and a transfer to/from Port Elizabeth.

Everything went smoothly and all three tours were a great experience. Baboon talking and kudu poop spitting contest in the mountains. Sightings of Goliath egret, fish eagles and lots of weaver bird nests while canoeing. Lots of wild elephants and other big mammals in the park.

Our guide, Moses, was great, full of humor and eco-conscious. He had full knowledge about the animals and about bushman culture.

Chrislin was a nice and calm place to relax and cool down after hot days.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alopex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    24
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Addo area stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We joined CrissCross for their wonderful kayak adventure on the Sunday River, Addo.

It was a very hot day (35c) and the water level was, apparently, lower than usual but looked a picture to us.

Chris, his wife Terri, and his assistant ranger, Eddie, made us very welcome and we joined up with about a dozen others, including several volunteers from the exclusive Shamwari private game reserve a few miles away.

We paddled about 4.5 kms downstream, including navigating several class one rapids, which was fun. Lots of fascinating birds to spot including an Eagle which was having a serious flirtation with Chris. Wife Terri had better watch that one! We stopped for drinks and an informative walk on the bankside after which most of the group swam in the river.

All in all, a wonderful few hours in great company. Do give it a go if in the area. Highly recommended. But do slap on the factor 50+!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sirlenscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrynarbor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Another vote for Chen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We recently did a half day trip into Addo with Chen as our guide, what a delightful, knowledgable man he is, how he spots things so quickly I do not know! He was a delight to spend the trip with, getting us very close to the elephants, and explaining so much to us. We so enjoyed it that we did the Sundays river tour the next day, specifically asking for him. The trip was so peaceful and we saw many different birds including an eagle that comes when he whistles. Chen also kept us positive when the skies opened and we got soaked, all part of the experience! The 2 trips we had with him were some of the best times of our holiday. Thanks Chen, hope to see you next year. (Chris seemed very nice too, although we only met him briefly!)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“Great Tour at Addo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went on a half day tour at Addo with Terri Pickels. We had a great time. Terri is the perfect guide: professional, knowledgeable and super nice. I recommend this tour to everybody. Only down side: we went on a SUV instead of an open land rover!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viviana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“The best tour EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thank you, Chen, for the best tour ever. Even though I am sure you say that for each tour, this was really great! Linda and Bernadine at Chrislin Lodge were wonderful in setting up this last minute tour for us. We walked into the reception at 1:30pm, and at 2 we were eating grilled meat on the BBQ in the park with our guide (and amazing griller!) Chen. Following a delicious meal (with chilled beers and ciders), we set off in the open air vehicle, and saw baby warthogs, elephants, numerous birds, and saw four of the 6 male lions in the park! Chen was super knowledgeable and charming! Thanks again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Echo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CrissCross Adventures also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to CrissCross Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing