We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OBRIGADO Chen!!”

CrissCross Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Addo Tour, Safari & Adventures specialists, Crisscross Adventures,were the first Tour and Safari Company to be based in Addo. They are committed to ensuring that you receive a safe, fun-filled, affordable tour with highly qualified guides, and that your experience of South Africa, and specifically Addo, is truly memorable. We specialize in Addo Elephant Park Safari’s: Half day & Full Day Tours, Addo River Safari’s on the Sunday River, Quad biking tours,Addo Hiking tours in the Zuurberg mountains,Sand boarding and sledding in Addo’s Marine Section,Beach Safari’s at Addo’s Marine Section,Fishing in Addo, mountain Biking and Addo Bird watching. Included on Every Tour: Return Transfers if staying in the Addo Village area, drinks, snacks, All entrance fees, and lunches (on Full day tours) are included in the price. Come and join us for the Ultimate ADDO Experience!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OBRIGADO Chen!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went on a half day Addo Safari with X+/adventures. We saw lots of animals and profitted of the very knowledgeable guide Chen. He was very funny and very patient - not even annoying Germans took away his professionality - Chen kept cool. He answered patiently all our questions and tried everything to show us a lion, which was the highlight of Addo park. Unfortuntately we saw none. Nevertheless we spent a memorable day at Addo. In Chen we met a person who represents the positivity of African people. Despite of daily tours to Addo park, he showed just as much enthusiasm as on his very first day. Obrigado!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank akaegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    25
    5
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Most wonderful way to end a holiday”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went on the canoe trip down the Sundays river. Chris gave a brilliant running commentary as we gently drifted down the river. There was much bird life including a fish eG,e or two, Goliath heron and a few iguanas lurking about. Enjoyed my beer and biltong. Highly recommend this trip. Went went on our last day of holiday and it was certainly a highlight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“BEST tours of the Addo area, HANDS DOWN!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I just visited Addo with my mom and I can honestly say that CrissCross were hands down THE BEST tours of the area!!!!

My mom and I went on 5 tours each of the Addo area in total (2 safaris with the Addo National Park, 2 safaris with CrissCross and one river tour with CrissCross). It was unbelievable what a different league CrissCross tours are in from the Addo National Park!!!!

We had tours with all 3 of the guides from CrissCross (Chris, Addie, and Chen) and they were all incredible! SO passionate, SO knowledgable and really made each tour a personal experience. When we were with them you couldn't help get excited from their excitement. They are truly lovers of that land and love to share that with their guests!

I highly encourage everyone to safari Addo National Park with CrissCross instead of the National Park guides. BOTH of our tours with the National Park Guides could not hold a candle to the CrissCross tours. Our Addo National Park guides were uninterested, rude and could not have disliked their job more. At one point we were on the road with a large, beautiful elephant and our guide momentarily stopped and said, "Ok, now you know what an elephant looks like." Then kept driving. It was horrible.

In comparison, our CrissCross guides were so enthusiastic about everything, sharing info from the littlest details about the sounds elephants make and how they chew to talking with other guides on the road and keeping keen eyes out to makes sure we saw the most animals as possible!!! BOTH safaris we did with CrissCross we saw more animals than the other guests at our lodge who went with National Park Guides!!!! We even were up close and personal with lions with NO other cars around us!!!!! Amazing!!!

In addition to safariing with CrissCross in Addo, their River trip is NOT TO BE MISSED!!!!! Not only is it absolutely beautiful, but it was one of the most unique experiences I have had in South Africa. Chris, owner of CrissCross who grew up in the area, has created a relationship a very special hawk in the area. The guides can actually spot the bird and throw a fish for him to swoop down and retrieve from the water right next to the canoes. UNBELIEVABLE!!! When else in life do you get to see that in the wild?!?!!? It was AMAZING!!!! Definitely an experience not to be missed.

In short, if you are heading to the Addo area, make sure you book your tours with CrissCross, it is a guarantee to not be disappointed!!! And if you don't have plans to go to Addo, MAKE THEM!!! It is worth it!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Britt U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrissCrossAdventures, Owner at CrissCross Adventures, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Crisscross Adventures is very happy to hear that we made your Addo experience a memorable one! We pride ourselves in being the Addo Tour and Safari Specialists, spending a great amount of time training members of our team to portray our Love and Passion for the Addo area, and all the diversity it has to offer. Thank you for informing us that our guides, and Chris my Husband :), are doing their job!
We look forward to seeing you in our neck of the woods again one day!
With Best wishes for you and your mother for 2013,

Terri Pickels
Crisscross Adventures
Addo Tours & Safari's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“River Safari”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Did a morning on the Sundays river,very relaxing,no serious paddling,safe swimming.The guide/owner was very pleasant and has vast knowledge of the area.Enjoyed a cold beer on the banks of the river with other tourist...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 46Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neu-Ulm, Germany
1 review
“half day tour addo elephant park”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

we really had a good time with our tourguide adi
it was informative but also very relaxed and you get very close to the wild animals.
the used vehicle is really unique, and it's fun to be different to other tours.
adi, thanks for the great time we and team australia had! :-)

markus + margit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Markus X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CrissCross Adventures also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to CrissCross Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing