We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Safari experience”

Schotia Tooth and Claw Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Schotia offers one of the best chances to see lions in the wild. This private malaria free reserve close to the Addo Elephant National Park is probably the most densely stocked reserve in Africa, and with over 40 mammal species and approximately 2000 animals, can offer consistently good game viewing throughout the year.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Safari experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friends of us recommend this safari and so we booked it too. We had an amazing time with Scott (our guide) who is really experienced and made this afternoon & evening an unforgettable event. We saw all animals kept in this reserve and had a breathtaking close encounter with a male elephant (1-2m next to our jeep). Allthough Schotia is having a lot of visitors we had the pleasure of enyoing a quite personalized tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    46
    24
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
427 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Almost the real thing”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Schotia park is adjacent to Addo and offers guided tours. The park itself isn't too large and as with private game parks: all animals are counted. So if you have seen two rhinos, you know you have seen them all. Their own brochure is honest about it: they go for a sure sighting and won't waste time on birds or plants. Everything is a little too orchestrated for my taste. Having said that: our guide was very knowledgeable and we have spent a lovely afternoon in the park.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stalex24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, excellent guide”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked the full day tour starting at Addo in the morning, then on to Schotia for the afternoon and evening.

The ranger assigned to us, Malcolm was very good. He has been there for almost 20 years and has the most knowledge by far.

We were able to see several animals up close, including a 4 day old giraffe. The rhinos were a bit isolated way from the road, but the rangers got everone close enough for good photos.

Following the included dinner, Malcolm took us out again and we were able to get up close and personal with the elusive male lion.

This was a wonderful experiance overall.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Highlight of the holiday”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We did the full day Addo/Schotia combination tour and would highly recommend it to anyone who is in the Garden Route/PE area. We did a few safari/game park excursions on our trip and this package stood out as the best. On any game reserve, it is hard to strike a balance between ensuring guests see a sufficient number and variety of animals and not coming across as contrived and zoo-like. Addo and Schotia get the balance right and the obvious passion and enthusiasm of our guide (Peter) kept us enthralled from start to finish.

Having a rhino scratch her head against the side of our jeep and sitting 10 feet away from 8 hungry looking lions, in an open-backed Landrover, provided the highlights of our trip to South Africa.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMJM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“can't ask for more...”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We did the afternoon day safari and we can recommend it to everybody. it was definitely the best safari we did in South Africa. Our Guide Carl did a perfect job by showing us around the reserve and telling us lots of interesting and funny things about all the animals. They claim to 'focus on the big and interesting things, rather than the birds and the bees' - and that's exactly what they do. We even saw lions eating a zebra they must have gotten in the morning! The braai is also included and even that was really good!

Also you drive in smaller Landies of about 10 people (not 25 like Kruger).
You leave around 3pm and get back around 8 or 9pm. However, if you find lions (etc.) chasing for dinner the tour will be even longer.
With 650 Rand per person (if I remember correctly) it's a bit pricier, but so much worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank der_yonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schotia Tooth and Claw Safari also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Schotia Tooth and Claw Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing