We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Addo Elephant Back Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Addo Elephant Lodge & Safaris is located in the Zuurberg Mountains, just a short distance from Port Elizabeth adjoining the Greater Addo Elephant National Park. Malaria-free conservancy. Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris offers the ultimate getaway opportunity to both local and international travelers - from families, groups and corporates to nature lovers, honeymooners and local residents wanting a quick reprieve from home. ELEPHANT ENCOUNTERS & SAFARIS - A once in a lifetime safari adventure - at one with nature, departing from our new Day Centre, we offer you the exhilarating experience of riding these magnificent animals. Revel in the natural beauty of the environs and its wildlife from lofty heights as these gentle giants amble through the African bush.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We did not stay at the lodge but had a very nice lunch there. The last few kilometers of road were rough but easy to negotiate in our VW 8-seater vehicle when taken slowly. Four of our party, including our 11 year old granddaughter rode the elephants and had a wonderful time. This is a once in-a-lifetime experience for visitors to Africa who want to get up close and personal with these remarkable animals. After the one-hour ride in beautiful Eastern Cape bush, they got to walk with the elephants and then reward them with treats.

Thank maxfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tam M, Marketing at Addo Elephant Back Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Thank you so much for your great review - we absolutely love getting such positive feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Tamlyn McMullan, Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

Was expecting a 2 hour elephant safari (never saw any animals just a distant herd of antelopes) but only got half an hour on the elephonat the rest of the time is spent follwing the elephants and feeding them - mind you would not have wanted any longer on the bareback elephants could hardly walk after in fact you could do some damage to your back or coxix. It is a one off experience but an expensive one. Lunch was very nice but not all that much food - quiche salad and bread. Drinks were not included except coffee but the alcoholoic ones were not over epensive.

Thank ligortig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tam M, Marketing at Addo Elephant Back Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it.

Tamlyn McMullan, Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I had researched on how the elephants were trained before reserving for my husband and I, I did not wish to partake of any inhuman conditioning of the animals. The ride up dangerous roads full of bumps & rocks with no safety guards on the roads was quite a tiring experience. Because we were in the Addo region I assumed that the elephants would be the smaller Addo kind, but no these
were brought in from Kruger Park and were massive. If only we had a cover or mat or any kind of protection from the pointy spinal column that just dug into certain parts of the body. We managed to stay on for 15 minutes despite the pain. No one was waiting but it all seemed rather rushed.
We did walk a bit with the beasts, then fed them of course it was a good experience however.............a painful one.

1  Thank lucille75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tam M, Marketing at Addo Elephant Back Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is appreciated.
Our elephant training is based on a trust and reward system. We build trust, earn respect and reward them. There is no inhuman methods used at all, I can assure you. Not with our boys.

We hope to see you again soon, maybe for a nights stay at the lodge and a game drive.

Tamlyn McMullan, Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

booked to go an elephant back safari, at £80 per person and at a set time we would of hoped for some exclusivity, Not the case, website promises 2-3 hours interaction with the Elephants, to walk with them and see them in their habitat to, not the case

Arrived, 1430, for the 15.00 schedule, 5 other people already there, first 3 went for a20 in walk on the elephants, for that period we are waiting and cannot see the elephants then it was our turn 20-30 mins on the elephant, when we arrive back another 5 people have arived, so they then go for a 20- 30 mins ride on the elephants, please also note they only have 3 elephants in total. while on the ride we are told some facts about the elephants which are interesting, but the elephant doing what is natural to them is to eat, they got shouted at and poked in the ears by the rider, which was not particularly nice,

next the interaction, we were told not to go near one elephant because he had a injury, and the other 2 were made to lay down for photos, at this point it started to be a bit of a circus act, but ok it was nice to be able to touch and feel the skin and trunk and so on. this lasted for about 15-20 mins,

then they were walked with us following, this lasted 5 mins i thought they were supposed to go and do what they like to and walk where they liked, they stopped for water and and were moved on .

we were told to walk a different way to meet with them at there feeding place, where we were given food to feed them, again nice to be close to them, but also a circus act, this lasted about 20 mins, we were told that maybe they would go to the water hole for us to watch while we drank our refreshments, but when they arrived they were just as quicky hurded off, so we sat with our drinks alone,

while with our drinks, there was no atmosphere, a lady introduced herself to us, possibly the owner, looking untidy,

overall i would say this is not a good place to get close to elephants, i do understand how dangerous these animals can be, and how they must have control, i certainly feel that the money paid is not being put back towards these fantastic animals but to support an upmarket lodge. i urge you not to take part in this circus act

so our final interaction was just over the hour, NOT the 3+- as web site implies , it was sad to see what we saw and wished we had not seen what we had seen

7  Thank Kata_Damon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tam M, Marketing at Addo Elephant Back Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Hi there,

I am happy to report a lot has changed since then at the Lodge. Our website is updated accordingly, which we are very excited about.

Thank you for bringing the above to attention, the matters discussed in your review have been dealt with. Our herd interaction with our guides works on a reward system, they build trust and earn respect and a mutual understanding.

Tamlyn McMullan, Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We started our day in Addo Elephant National Park with a Safari-Tour in a Landrover that is offered by the park. I would strongly recommend that you try to be on the small Landrover (space for approx. 7 people) and not the large vehicle. From the car, we had a fantastic view and the driver drove off-road. thus we had the chance to see more animals. we even saw a lion which is very rarely.
the Landrover tour lasts about 2 hrs and costs 400 Rand. It is completely worth this money!
After the tour we continued to drive in our own car through the park. we went to the water holes that were farer away and had not been on the route of the Landrover trip. here we saw large herds of animals.
you can get really really clos to the animals. they are used to the sounds of cars and people taking photos of them. nevertheless one does completely not feel like in a zoo. it is kind of safari-feeling

1  Thank kaffeeanne_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tam M, Marketing at Addo Elephant Back Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Thank you so much for your great review - we absolutely love getting such positive feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Tamlyn McMullan, Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Elephant Back Safaris also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Elephant Back Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing