We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gorah Elephant Camp(Addo Elephant National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Bend Lodge(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zuurberg Mountain Village(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Addo Elephant Country Estate(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris(Addo Elephant National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
339
72
24
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
72
24
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesthe reservecheetah walkstunning viewsblack rhinolight lunchprivate balconieshand massagefemale lionsdirt trackbig gamehot towelsafternoon driveswelcome drinkgreat funfantastic experiencemorning and evening
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 438 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We had a great experience at Kuzuko for our wedding anniversary - they spoilt us rotten. The food was great, the staff amazing and attentive and Luke, the guide....There aren't even words to describe this guy. It truly shows that he LOVES his job and the bush. He goes out of his way to make your drive as fun and interesting as possible. We visit game parks often and can truly say that he is the best of the best. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larauten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuzukoLodge, General Manager at Kuzuko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Thank you for your awesome review of Luke.
He truly has a passion for what he does.
Blessings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

For your 1st safari what do you expect? to see the Big 5 up close like on TV play with lion cubs, get the 1 in a million picture to show friends and do it all from the comfort of a seat. Wrong what you need is an open mind, a brill ranger and hope. This is what we got and what an experience. The layout of the lodges is excellent with brilliant views day and night, all private from each other. The pool and downtime area is well situated with again great views and access to the main lodge. Staff are all friendly helpful and on hand with anything. Food was great and the idea of a light lunch before a safari I now know why. You are on the go constantly up and down so tummy gets a pasting. I have to say Luke was more than excellent for what we seen saw and how he managed to get us close up with these creatures is beyond me. However as said previous it takes knowledge, experience and time to get to these animals as they are wild in a natural environment which Kuzuko provides as protection. Yes go to Kruger or Addo see more but this is big game driving at its best and to see these wonderful creatures in their own habitat will live forever.
It may be a pain to get there and a long drive but trust me its worth it all in all a brill time.

Room Tip: The drive from the N2 is bumpy best way is head to Ann's Villa that road is tarmac and not stony as the R400.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bigstu1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuzukoLodge, General Manager at Kuzuko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Highly appreciated your comprehensive review.
Will keep you posted should we have some lion cubs in the future. However o not think Sylvester will allow any touching. :-)
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We had 2 chalets as we had older teens. Beautiful place. Every luxury catered for. Cooked specifically for my veggie daughter.slightly disappointed that there weren't so many animals. We didn't realise it was a private reserve and the drive there to the north of Addiscombe was long.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank SaudiClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuzukoLodge, General Manager at Kuzuko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us the informative review.
Herewith a bit more info regarding our location. The greater Addo is a vast area with various sections. The original Main Camp Addo Elephant National Park lies at the heart of this greater area but is separate.
The private Kuzuko contractual area has totally different vegetation and as such can not house the amount of elephant one would expect from the central main camp. You are however totally private and do not have to compete with the general public at wildlife sightings. This ensures an exclusive experience. Also due to the variety of biomes which make up Kuzuko we are home to a bigger variety of game than which can be found in the main camp. I hope this helps with information for our future visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Wow what an experience my family and I have just had, absolutely loved Kuzuko Lodge and all that it offers! Highly recommend.
Kuzuko is some 50km from the main road and the road to it is more of a bumpy track you have been warned. Initially you check in at a lodge on the perimeter of the site and then its a 15 minute ride in a jeep to the main site. This in itself is exciting we arrived in the dark and had no idea what to expect and what awaited us!
Arrival at the main site/lodge house is so welcoming, warm towels for faces and hands a great big smile and warm fires!
Our actual lodge (no 21) was fabulous with stunning views, the beds, sofas seating were sumptuous. Daily our bed was turned down, a little treat was left everything was as you would expect from 5*accommodation. You feel very spoilt at this hotel!

We had two games drives daily and our ranger was Wayne, Wayne was great he has a very dry sense of humour but clearly wanted to give his guests the best game drives going to great extremes to ensure we saw plenty of game. We saw lions, cheetahs, zebras, elephants, giraffes, monkeys, antelope, springbok, ostriches, wildebeest, jackal and many kudos. Game isn't like Disney its not presented you have to search for it, its there and the "hunt" and the joy of a good sighting is the reward and an amazing experience. Drives can be chilly but ponchos and blankets are provided!

Hospitality at Kuzuko is fabulous, rusks and a hot drink before the early morning game drive, on return a wonderful breakfast with many choices. Afternoon tea is served before the afternoon game drive (my personal favourite) with lots of treats. The evening meal was 4 courses with several choices, the food was delicious and really well presented. Wednesday and Saturday is buffet night!

All staff are really attentive, they want you to have an unforgettable experience at Kuzuko.

Another facility we used was the spa I indulged in a neck, shoulder and back massage fabulous!

I adored this place it offers a real African experience with pure luxury!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrymaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuzukoLodge, General Manager at Kuzuko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you so much for the recommendation and kind and detailed review.
Highly appreciate it. Will ensure Wayne receives a copy as well.
Blessings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Three glorious days at this delightful and exciting surprise to us. Not easy to drive to as it is an hour on a dirt road to reception. Then another 15-30 minutes in a game truck to the hotel, which as we arrived at night was quite a chilled ride. But what a welcome! Warmth in both temperature and atmosphere greeted us, a bar to refresh and further warm us and then marvelous dinner.

Two game drives every day, sometimes lasting as long as 4-5 hours depending on what animals have been sighted and who's doing the tracking. Our guide, "Eddie", was tenacious in his successful quest to get us up close and personal with a pair of lionesses and two males on separate drives. Plus the close encounter with a black rhino who "mock charged" the truck, rendering us all amazed and too focused on the vapors coming from his snorts to even manage a picture.

And the sundowner at the end of every afternoon drive. Cocktails on the expanse of plain and sky! WOW!

If ever I am back in SA, Kuzuko and Makakatana are the two places to which I'd return.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank WildBillSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuzukoLodge, General Manager at Kuzuko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for the time taken to write this review.
It warms the heart to hear that it is all worth the drive. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to our 'place of glory', Kuzuko Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews