We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible!”
Review of Kuzuko Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kuzuko Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at Kuzuko Lodge in early February 2014 and wished we had booked longer. Great staff, good food and wonderful accomodation. The game drives were superb and Rodwell (our ranger) did a fantastic job on every drive we went on. All of the staff were a joy to deal with and they truly care about their jobs and guests. The views from the rooms are incredible and we spent time each morning have coffee and gazing out over the scenery. I highly recommend the lodge and look forward to returning some day.
Michael and Donna, Toronto, Canada

P.S. The desserts were amazing and the croissants rival anything you will find in France

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbaToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 382 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had 3 nights here at the end of our South African holiday it was fantastic, the chalets were fabulous we had terrific views. The place was spotless and the staff so friendly. We had 5 game drives and the rangers we so knowledgeable . Zander was the best we had him 3 time and Romeo twice he was also very good. It was the perfect end to our holiday and to see the animals so close was great. We could see a watering hole from our chalet and were able to see lots of animals come there.

Room Tip: They all have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We drove to the Eastern Cape wanting a change of scenery and long-weekend safari experience. Kuzuko Lodge offered comfortable rooms, an attentive staff and close encounters with African wildlife. Our ranger Freddy was incredibly knowledgable, enthusiastic and genuinely kind. He offered a wealth of information on the game drives as well as after dinner conversation at the lodge. The only downside was not being able to go on the cave walk excursion because the person with the gate keys wasn't around. Overall a fun, adventurous experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We loved our stay at Kuzuko Lodge. Beautiful accomodation overlooking Addo National Park. Wonderful staff in the restaurant and the wellness centre and the rangers were wonderful, they did their utmost to enable us to see all the animals.
They adjusted gamedrive times as we arrived a little too late.
A peaceful and relaxing accomodation and a restaurant that provided wonderful meals.
Truly 5 * quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for three nights 20-24 Jan 2014. Stunning location with fantastic thatched chalets all with magnificent views. We took game drives dawn and afternoon each day. All rangers were very knowledgeable and gave plenty of opportunity for photos. Plenty of variety to see but those wanting to see large quantities of big 5 may be disappointed although this in no way detracted from our enjoyment and perversely probably enhanced our overall experience. Also on departing Kuzuko obtained a pass for Addo Elephant Park which made us appreciate how lucky we had been to have been at Kuzuko as the bush there is so thick all you can see is what is at the waterholes, lots of elephant admittedly, or the occasional antelope wandering across the road, whereas at Kuzuko you get a much better view as you get transported around the reserve. Would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone other than those with young children with a two night stay probably optimum, The 30km on the dirt road is a pain but worth the effort, The R335 signposted Ann's Villa off the N10 is less bad than the R400.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at Kuzuko lodge for two nights, 20-22 December 2013 and what an unexpected beautiful location. Driving up to the car drop off we were a bit apprehensive as there wasn’t much in the area, but as soon as we dropped our bags off in the Landrover and we were driven to the lodge we couldn’t have been happier. We received 5-class service on arrival and that didn’t end. It was a refreshing welcome being greeted with a drink and an introduction the lodge and the activities on offer.

The accommodation was amazing. Very private lodges, with no other guests overlooking your own balcony overlooking what can only be described as breath taking views – especially in the morning. TIP – if you want a lie in, close the curtains as once the sun comes up you can’t help watching it rise! The rooms were spacious, clean, attention to detail and quiet. Sit on the balcony in the evening, be very quiet and if you are lucky you can hear some lions roaring and some baboons!

Every meal was beautiful and as always we over indulged – we couldn’t resist and it was Christmas after all! The staff were exceptional. They couldn’t do enough for us and were so attentive and the hospitality is some of the best we have experienced. We would definitely recommend everyone who visits Kuzuko to try one Andrew's Strawberry Daiquri’s – it is worth it!

Activities included three game drives and a Cheetah Walk. On the Cheetah walk, we unfortunately didn’t find the m. However, the Kuzuko staff bent over backwards, found the cheetahs and came to find us relaxing by the pool to see if we wanted to do the walk again – so glad we did. On the games drives we saw Cheetahs, Elephants (Saracen the bull is huge!), Black Rhino, Zebra, Kudu, hartebeest, baboons, tortoise, birds and probably many many more. Our guides, Freddie and Tammy were knowledgeable, amazing and would go to great lengths to make sure we saw as much as possible.

Two nights was not enough time, we felt a third was definitely required and we were sad to leave the lodge. We would highly recommend to everyone and anyone who will listen! What a great way to kick off our SA Christmas and to recharge the batteries after a friends wedding. The property supports local employment and was built for that purpose. It is definitely worth the dirt track of the R400…the views and the accommodation are well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 655Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Kuzuko Lodge for two nights, December 7-9, 2013. We got lost along the way due an outdated gps, and arrived three hours later than we were supposed to. We were too late to enjoy a game drive but the staff bent over backwards assuring us that we would still get all of activities in for the duration of our stay.

We checked into our gorgeous room and wasted no time having drinks from the honour bar on our private terrace overlooking the valley. The bird life is amazing here. We saw what we later found out were kudu on the hill across the valley from the lodge. Stunning, truly.

Every meal we enjoyed here was of the highest quality, presented beautifully, and the service was beyond compare. We were always greeted with smiles and such kindness. People around the world could learn a LOT from South African courtesy and hospitality!!

We ended up completing 3 game drives, and I enjoyed an outstanding massage in lieu of one missed drive. My husband was credited back for his missed drive as he did not find an alternate activity to enjoy.

Now, the game drives...

We only ended up seeing two of the big five (elephant and Cape buffalo) but were not disappointed in the least. The weather was so cold and drizzly, but all three guides were amazing, so knowledgeable and willing to go to great lengths to allow us the privilege of seeing what we could. We saw the leopards, close enough to touch, as well as numerous zebra (Berchel and Cape Mountain), kudu, red hartebeest, baboons, so many bird species, duikers, and on and on. We felt two nights was not adequate to see everything, but left with the knowledge we would return for a longer stay.

This property was also built around a socially responsible mandate, providing jobs for locals and maintaining a conservationist attitude. I would highly recommend, it was stellar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CravingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
46 reviews
29.1 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
337 reviews
23.1 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
352 reviews
18.5 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
488 reviews
24.4 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuzuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuzuko Lodge

Address: Olivenfontein Farm | Kommadagga, Addo Elephant National Park 5800, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: $325 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kuzuko Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kuzuko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuzuko Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing