We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort
Ranked #60 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
518 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“OK place to stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed here several times before and its ok! They do charge a 5% convenience charge for using a credit card etc, which I really didn't care for, so beware of that because I didn't notice the little sign til after I paid and they never said anything. The pool is nice and the hot tub and there is a view of the ocean! They have some parking underneath the hotel and they couldnt tell us how tall it was and the man and woman kind of contradicted each other. And the day we were checking out it was like 10 minutes 10 and we were watching tv and getting ready to leave and saw a lady peaking into the window of the room and then a few minutes later a guy practically did the same thing...believe it was the maid etc but still didn't like that and you have to return the key to the front office so they should know if were still in our rooms or not and not peek inside of the window which i found to be weird..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h0ckeygirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us we will look into your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    40
    26
    44
See reviews for
106
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed May 18-20,2013 which was a chilly weekend, so did not even go to the beach, This is a nicely kept retro hotel, good view of the ocean, with a pool (too cold this weekend) and a "hot tub" which was a nice alternative. It's not really a hot tub, it's like a kiddie pool you walk into via a ramp, with a little waterfall you can sit under. Unusual and charming, with room for at least 15-20 people (but it was just us two when we went). They have a game room and other facilities we didn't use. The desk folks were a little off, didn't seem too pleased to serve. They weren't mean or anything, just kind of matter of fact and marginally helpful. (recommended Yellow Cab which was a rip-off at $22 for a 4 mile ride to N Wildwood, picking up 2 other passengers on the way!?!)

Room was in good condition, had a small fridge, decent shower, a little table with chairs by the bay window, flat screen - all very comfortable basic amenities. There was no filter for the coffee maker, and the room could be staffed with better cups - a few plastic utensils even would have been nice.

I would go again though, if the rates did not climb so high in the summer weekends, but that;s true everywhere I suppose.

Roof deck was not open; snack bar was not open - Fitness room was a small room with a few treadmills, and not open. Oh, and the cool round room at the top center that is the centerpiece of the hotel is apparently a private residence. This was most disappointing, as that feature is perhaps the most interesting part of the place, and would make a great restaurant or even a top-rented suite.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pivoted to have a view of the ocean, but perhaps not so good on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjc2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family and I have stayed this motel several times. I love the family atmosphere. Most of The room has been upgraded with flat screen tv. The rooms are roomy and the staff Les , Sis and Peggy are awesome. I start working on this trip in January and have booked up to 30 rooms. I'm constantly communicating with Les via telephone and email and he is always very pleasant. This year the weather sucked the children still wanted to utilize the pool they staff was nice enough to heat the pool up. They added an extra grill this year giving them a total of 4 grills on the premise. Morey's pier is a nice walk away but stop at the few parks on the way.

Room Tip: I'd you would like to over look the pool pick the B room a little more pricey but well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Line, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have been going to wildwood sense I was born and have stayed at other hotels and it was horrible freezing pools and dirty rooms no air conditioner . But The Royal Hawaiian is great love the owners always nice my family and I have been staying at this hotel for at least 8 years and will never go to another hotel . My kids love the pool my mom loves the hot tub and the play room is great if there is bad weather. I love every thing yes the parking is tight but so what unload everyone berfore you park. We find it funny to park like its a chalange . Nothing is perfect but This is pretty close. My parents stay as well and we love it and look forward to staying here every year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for your comments and are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed in Wildwood Crest many times since I was a child and this was a return trip to celebrate my 40th with my children. It was my first time staying at this property. We had a beach front facing room. The room was spacious enough and was clean upon arrival. I will say it was a hassle bringing luggage carts up the elevator and then struggling to get down the exterior corridor all the way down and around to the beachfront room door. This hotel has a nice pool -- this was peak season so it was very busy and the pool/bbq area was busy and at times crowded. I did not feel the hotel owners/management were friendly at all. Overall our stay was fine and we had a nice time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgb722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we will look into the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you're looking for basic furnishings that can accommodate the whole family
with a kitchen too – try the Royal Hawaiian.

There is a huge hot tub (with cascading waterfall),
heated pool (with island and palm trees) and t
he Mile Wide Beach all right outside your door.

Beds are comfy,
pull out sofas aren't.

For us =
It's all about being near the water,
and the good folks at The Hawaiian have that
all set up for us!

We come back every year :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wblais1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhawaiian, General Manager at Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Royal Hawaiian has a lot of good things going for it so I almost gave it a "Very good" and it is very good compared to other Wildwood Crest choices so keep that in mind when picking--they really are all old places that can't change or be renovated to be much better than what they are. Here's the good: It is right on the beach the pool is nice and heated. They have a nice outdoor deck with grills for people to use and it's at a nice area in Wildwood Crest. The average stuff is tight small bathrooms beds are average and if you are staying in the rooms with the sofabeds these are really saggy and your back will hate you in the morning. It is a cool hotel for what it is.
That's the honest truth and I will probably stay here again next year. It is a cut above the rest but it's no perfect sleepa -- so if you like the Royale with Cheese in life once in a while then you'll be okay with this Royale with Wildwood Cheese for a weekend.

Room Tip: I think this place is average and okay for a weekend but not any longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Bal Harbour Hotels
Bal Harbour Hotels
#28 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Colony Resort Motel
Beach Colony Resort Motel
#1 of 7 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#19 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#27 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waikiki Oceanfront Inn
Waikiki Oceanfront Inn
#26 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort

Property: Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort
Address: On the Beach at 500 East Orchid Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Royal Hawaiian Beachfront Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing