We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olympic Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Montco, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We have stayed here for years. The staff is great. We enjoy visiting them every year. The rooms are your typical hotel at the beach stuff. Last stay I had a little trouble getting comfy on the matress.

We really enjoy their off season specials!

  • Liked — Location to the beach, beach side grill resturant
  • Disliked — Matresses could be a luittle more comfy
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mason94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    32
    24
    12
    13
See reviews for
107
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2006

The only 2 good things about this motel are 1) it's right on the beach - we have a very nice view of the ocean 2) staff is friendly and helpful.

But I don't know if I will come back... The 1-bedroom suite is tiny, there is no AC in the bedroom - it's quite stuffy, you have to leave the BR door opened all the time. If you pay with your credit card, a 5% charge is applied - I was not told about the 5% when I called to book the room. Shampoo is NOT supplied - no kleenex either. You would think those items should be available when you pay 214$ per night (we paid 190$/ni for the 1st 2 nights and 214$ for the 3rd night). Ice is not free either, 25 cents/ bucket.

The toilet doesn't flush very well. Dishes are minimum in the kitchen. Don't forget to bring your dishwashing stuff. The elevator is not too far from the garbage bins - when we arrived, all 3 garbages were full and the area smelt quite bad. The pool opens only until 7pm, unlike some other motels on the same street - they open until 10pm.

The beds are OK although I had the impression that the floor level is not even. The sofa bed has a weird L-shape, not fun to sit.

Overall, I don't feel the motel is that clean and worth the price I was paying.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank QCtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

We (2 adults & 4 year old child) stay at a different hotel every year and this one is about average. The rooms are a decent size; we had a 2 room ocean view efficeincy. The rugs were new as was the kitchen area: new full size fridge, new cabinets, new small microwave. The bathroom was not new; it had peeling wallpaper and no place to put your toiletries unless you wanted to put them in the medicine cabinet. There was no closet in the bedroom and the dressers were in the living area. Also, the a/c was in the front of the living area, so it was warmer in the bedroom. The ocean view from the balcony was very nice and the beach is right across the street. I found the staff to be extremely friendly, even when they came to clean the room on our check-out date and I was still in there a half an hour late!

I think this hotel is fine for a short stay, but for more than a few nights, there are better places to spend your money. Especially if you have older kids or more then one child. The pool area is small and there is no game room, only a few games in the garage area. Overall a decent place, but it depends on what you're looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pidndude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRANTON, PA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2005

We stayed here from August 17th to August 21st, 2005. We had a great time. From the moment we pulled in the staff was very helpfull. The parking is tight, however, the spaces under the hotel are better suited for an SUV. There is one elevator, not too large, but it fits a luggage cart or two at once along with two people. Our room was second floor, corner, facing the ocean. Beautiful view. Both from the room and the balcony. The pool is a nice size. There is a kiddie pool, which is attached to the larger one. There was a sufficient amount of chairs and tables at the pool. The hotel room was very clean and neat. The only downfall was that there is no second air conditioner in the bedroom. There is only one in the front room. If you don't mind keeping the door open a craxk, You will be fine. The kitchen was sufficient, along with the dining room. Bathroom was not small. Average for a hotel room. We had three adults and a three year old and we were fine. Coffee shop under hotel is very nice. Food was great. Hours could be later in the evening. Nice location for running back to room from beach. The guests were also very friendly. I will definately stay here again.

Helpful?
8 Thank herm822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Poeple in hotel were very helpfull and easy to talk with. The room was newly renovated new rugs, new kitchens and new air condition. This week in july was a quiet one. Mostly familys that come back the same time every years. The Hotel was clean the pool was pretty warm in temp.
Over all it is a nice hotel clean, quite and friendly.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2005

We booked here off the internet, MISTAKE. When we got to the hotel and they showed us the room we immediately had it changed due to the fact that the people in the room next to us were already drunk and screaming off the balcony, blowing whistles at each other. The first room we obviously didn't keep. Then they showed us to another room on the second floor. The rooms are dirty and outdated not to mention the --- hairs they didn't clean up from the last guests. The furniture is old, the mattress are old. There isn't even a couch, its a full size bed with some sort of table on it. There is NO air conditioning in the bedroom that has no closet. Oh did I mention the mold infested window unit air conditioner. The room stinks of mildew and the bathroom.... well,.... I don't even want to go there. I wouldn't even consider hovering over the toilet bowl to pee. The pool..... the paint is chipping off the concrete bottom of the pool. The ladder in the deep end is broken and taped up with yellow tape. Oh and don't let your kids play in the game room... it's in the garage.... good place.... they can breathe in all the fumes from the cars while they sweat to death and smell the rotting garbage from the dumpster. Beware of hotels that do not accept credit cards for deposits.... cause they do not refund your money when they're skanky hotel does not meet your standards.... so we were there a whole 2 hours, ate the deposit and went and stayed at a clean family oriented hotel called Pier 6600 at the end of the crest........

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyOf4NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2005

I would rather pay a few extra bucks than stay here again. The parking is absolutely ridiculous. You would think that after 35 years, they would have relined the spots for the larger vehicles of today. They don't make vehicles as small as they did in the 50's or 60's. Once you park, you are unable to get out. I had my vehicle keyed by some idiot who must of thought we didn't know how to park.

Pool closes at 7 p.m. Because they don't invest in lighting the pool area, the town requires that unlit pools close by 7.
One ice machine the doles out wet (or melting) ice for .25 a pop. Only one located on 2nd floor.

No staff on hand after 11 p.m. Efficiencies are stuffy and hot in bedroom due to one a/c in living room area. Washclothes and towels are so cheap and overly bleached, they will kill your skin, especially if it's sensitive after being in the sun. Walls are thin that you can hear t.v. next door. Next door shower flow also woke me up.

Housekeeping doesn't know how to clean hair left behind in bathroom. Bathrooms are very small and so is the tub. No room to put toiletries while bathing/dressing/ etc.

Mark in office is extremely rude. Oh....and at check-in they give you your room keys which have an emblem on them. But they fail to tell you that that emblem will get you discounts at local restaurants. We only knew because we happened to stumble upon a paper explaining it.

And close to the beach?????? Hahahaha. It's a good 5 minute walk. Point Pleasant Beach is the best.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.5 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#21 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#16 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Granada Ocean Resort
Granada Ocean Resort
#55 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Beach Resort

Property: Olympic Beach Resort
Address: 6401 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4152
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olympic Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Olympic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Beach Hotel Wildwood Crest
Olympic Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing