We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We would go back again and again. They had clean rooms,a friendly and informative staff and close to everything. The beach is prestine and right outside the door. The boardwalk is two blocks away and cape may is near too. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: book early. Any room is good especially the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    29
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
92
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family and I have been going to Wildwood Crest for many years and staying at the same Motel until last year. This year we decided to try the Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort and "OH BOY" are we glad we did. First I must say that the Manager Alan and Jana were most welcoming to me and my family. Not only did our room fit me, my Husband and my daughter Noele and our 2 granddaughters most comfortably and with room to spare..The kitchenette was great along with the bathroom which I may say was roomy enough to fit most of our toiletries. About the pool, well I am slightly handicapped and the step down to the pool had gradual steps with wide steps to keep my balance along with railings so I was able to go into the pool with ease. I went to the pool every day with much enjoyment. The Resort also has a restaurant connected but separately owned at the resort that served breakfast, lunch, dinner and I must say a diversified menu that would accommodate all tastes and Rick is always there to please he even made Mickey Mouse silver dollar pancakes for my granddaughters. So you know there are rules to protect your children from harm while in the pool and there was a lifeguard named Manny on duty to make sure all goes well, he was sweet. We even played movie trivia with him while in the pool "what fun" Our maid Marabel was so professional and friendly along with all the staff. We of coarse went to the Boardwalk every night and there are 3 piers for everyone enjoyment. We ate at the Ravioli House the first night and would highly recommend it for dinner. If you like Chinese Food, we recommend :The Dragon House for dinner, the food is *****. We are making the Crusader our forever family place to visit each year from now on. We booked for next year already. Try it and you will see for yourself....

Room Tip: Room 5 if you have small children and need a efficiency.. We had room type 5 poolside which for us w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Oh my goodness! Thank you from all us at the Crusader. I know the staff surely enjoyed having you, your family and friends as our guests. As for Jana and myself, welcome to the Crusader Family.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your most needed vacation and look forward to seeing you all again.

On a personal note we will all pray for your good health and a speedy and just recovery from "Super Storm Sandy" for your friends.

Thank you from all of us at 'The Cru".

Warmest Regards,
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family and I love the Crusader Hotel! We have stayed there for several years and have had a great experience each time. The rooms are very nice and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is not far to the boardwalk and the beach access is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms that are numbered 103, 104, 203, 204, and 303, 304 are quieter and have less foot traffic outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I just returned from our 10 night stay at the Crusader Resort. This was our 4th straight year staying at the Crusader. This year we were fortunate enough to get an Oceanfront Efficiency Suite. We had a great time as always. The room was clean, comfortable, and up to date. Every morning when we went to the beach, we would stick the "service requested" tag in the door. When we returned for lunch a few hours later, the room was already cleaned! I've stayed in many hotels over the years in Wildwood and many of them do a lousy job at cleaning the rooms. But I can honestly say the staff at the Crusader does an outstanding job of cleaning the rooms each and every day. So please remember to tip your maid. They deserve it!

I was especially pleased to see that wire screening has been installed overhead in the parking garage to keep the seagulls and pigeons out. In years past, if you parked in the garage, your vehicle would get dirty from the droppings of seagulls and pigeons that were nesting up in the steel beams. This year that's not a problem so kudos to the owner/manager for addressing that. Our vehicle was as clean when we left as it was when we arrived.

For anyone who's visiting Wildwood for the first time, I highly recommend staying at the Crusader. It's a well maintained resort. It's oceanfront location is ideal for families with small children. We definitely intend to continue staying at the Crusader when vacationing in Wildwood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 226jeffreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. And, actually, it was your sixth stay in four years. we appreciate your loyalty.

Yes, the garage was a bone of contention with us as well and we are very pleased to say that we are bird free in the kindest way to our fine feathered friends.

I have shared your kind words with the staff and they are most appreciative as I am.

Thank you, and we look forward to having you and your family as our guests next year (remember to "Roll Back").

Best Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in many shore hotels.The rooms and pool were very clean. Staff was exceptional! We arrived at 9 am in the morning with no reservation and wanted a two night stay. Check in was 3pm. Jana allowed us to check into our room right away. We extended our stay one more day but had to move to another room. We were told that we could switch rooms around 12:30 pm. We got a knock on our door at 10 am telling us that we could move to the other room. It was so clean and the oceanfront view was wonderful. All staff members were hospitable and accommodating. Location was great also. I would highly recommend the Crusader and will make it my top choice when returning to Wildwood Crest.

Room Tip: Room 105 on the end, ocean view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crusader, we are so pleased that you did and just as pleased we were able to accommodate you for an additional night. I hope that we have the pleasure of your company again and again.

Our best regards to you both.
...the Crusader staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a very nice time here. All of the staff was extremely nice and accommodating. Extremely clean compared to any other place we had stayed at in wildwood. The pool was perfect and maintained every night. We would be happy to stay there again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Wildwood and def not our last. We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Crusader. Our stay was excellent. The rooms were clean and represented very well by the pictures. When we arrived our room had a fridge that was not working and we were quickly upgraded to a better room with a fridge that was working! Jana was a excellent help to us and made sure that all of the food we brought with us didn't spoil. We would def stay again. I noticed in one review that someone complained about smoking outside? We as smokers APPRECIATED the designated ashtrays, chairs and tables for smoking OUTSIDE. Where else would you expect smokers to smoke/ Ruining ocean air? come on now? That is the most absurd thing I have ever heard. THANK YOU CRUSADER RESORT, for allowing smokers their given right to smoke outside where it is by law allowed. We appreciate you, your resort, and everything you do. We even got breakfast from your restaurant one morning it was great. Can't wait to come back again and visit.

Room Tip: Def choose a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cryschase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
1.0 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#22 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort

Property: The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Address: 6101 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#15 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort is located directly on the beach in beautiful Wildwood Crest, New Jersey. Here you will find the cleanest, whitest expanse of sandy beaches on the entire East Coast. There is surfing and water sports nearby and we boast the best amusement boardwalk on the coast featuring Morey's Amusement Piers and Water Parks within walking distance. Our 40+ year reputation is a benchmark in cleanliness and hospitality. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel Wildwood Crest
Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing