We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a very nice time here. All of the staff was extremely nice and accommodating. Extremely clean compared to any other place we had stayed at in wildwood. The pool was perfect and maintained every night. We would be happy to stay there again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    30
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
105
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Wildwood and def not our last. We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Crusader. Our stay was excellent. The rooms were clean and represented very well by the pictures. When we arrived our room had a fridge that was not working and we were quickly upgraded to a better room with a fridge that was working! Jana was a excellent help to us and made sure that all of the food we brought with us didn't spoil. We would def stay again. I noticed in one review that someone complained about smoking outside? We as smokers APPRECIATED the designated ashtrays, chairs and tables for smoking OUTSIDE. Where else would you expect smokers to smoke/ Ruining ocean air? come on now? That is the most absurd thing I have ever heard. THANK YOU CRUSADER RESORT, for allowing smokers their given right to smoke outside where it is by law allowed. We appreciate you, your resort, and everything you do. We even got breakfast from your restaurant one morning it was great. Can't wait to come back again and visit.

Room Tip: Def choose a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cryschase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Growing up at the shore in the hotel business, I am the first to admit that I am a bit more critical than most when it comes to reviewing family resorts. The Crusader and its staff is by far the closest experience to what I remember as a child at the shore! The atmosphere is family-friendly. Clean, hospitable and phenomenally managed. It is very evident that the management has a strong grasp on what FAMILIES are looking for in a seaside resort. They not only met, but exceeded my expectations. I had the pleasure of meeting the manager, Alan, and was impressed that he took the time to speak not only to my husband and myself, but to our children as well about our impressions, requests and general questions about the area. We will most definitely be back and will highly recommend the Crusader to our friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamato4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family of five just returned home after a 5 night stay at The Crusader Ocean Front Resort and had an awesome time! The resort is located in a beautiful location, ocean front and next to a park. The view from our private balcony was gorgeous: a great place to have morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. The room was very neat and was cleaned daily; the fancy folded wash clothes were a nice touch:) The furniture and appliances in our suite had been updated from the website picture and we were pleasantly surprised by that. The kitchenette was very functional and had everything we needed. Our kids (11, 13 and 16) really enjoyed the pool. It was clean and felt great after a day on the beach. We also really enjoyed the sundeck over looking the beach. There are tables with umbrellas; a nice place for lunch or to hang out while the kids were swimming. The ping pong table and shuffleboard court on the sundeck were good old fashioned fun! The staff was courteous, often saying hello or good morning to us. We even saw someone sweeping sand off the parking lot! The resorts close proximity to the boardwalk and bike rentals is a plus. Our only negative comment is that our neighbors chain smoked on the balcony next to ours spoiling the beautiful ocean air. We would love to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I believe it was your first stay with us and hopefully the first of many.

We make many updates every year, both in the rooms and the exterior areas. Our guests are always asking "What's new this year?" when they make reservations. Although we can't update our brochures at the same rate we think it's always better to give our guests more than they expect. Just a note, all of our suites have two TVs and at least one of the two sets is a 32 inch flat screen.

Best regards and welcome to the "Cru".

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed a week with my family. I fact we had 7 rooms for our party. Our stay was excellent. Rooms were very roomy, comfortable and clean. Each room had a kitchenette and we utilized ours during our stay. Hotel staff was very nice our entire stay. They are very concerned with pool safety and the have a lifeguard on duty from pool open to close. The houskeep staff was very good and also very friendly. I did not eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment. I wish they had more modern TV's but really not much of a issue as they do provide cable. I also wish their beds wer bigger. The resort sits in Wildwood Crest, is very quiet at night and still very close to the broadwalk. On most nights we would walk to the broadwalk.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the pool level as you can walk out your door to the pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and choosing the Crusader to host your "mini reunion". I/we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Most of the guest rooms have two double beds and a queen size sofa bed, however there are rooms with either one king or queen bed plus a queen size sofa bed. The type of bedding for each room type is listed in our brochure, or ask when you are making your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate you.

Thank you again and I hope we have the pleasure of your company again.

Best Regards,
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Crusader resort in Wildwood Crest was a great place to stay. Clean. Room was very nice and workers in all areas seemed to be ontop of everything, and were friendly. I noticed how early in the morning, meaning 7 am, the workers were working hard in the restaurant and cleaning the pool. Restaurant was good and coffee was good. Our room was always very organized when we came back from our activities for the day. Right on beach, was very nice at night on deck overlooking ocean. One downer is that people carried on past Wildwood noise ordinance time of 11pm, and lights outside rooms stay on for a while. Air Conditioning untis are very loud, but helped in getting to sleep, when noise outside was too much. Nice little pool that was clean and overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Get ocean front and pay the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and your appreciation of our efforts to maintain a high standard of guest services. We make every attempt to treat our customers like they are guests in our home.

I apologize for the guests that were less than considerate (yes, they are the same people referred to in prior reviews), they are not welcome back.

We would be very pleased to have you and your family come back again and enjoy.

Best Regards,
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just returned from our 3rd summer vacation (10 days) at The Crusader and upon check-out we booked our reservations for June 2014. The management and staff are outstanding (thank you Alan for your restaurant recommendations, Menz was great and thank you Gizelle for an immaculate room each and every day). The 3rd floor ocean view balcony is a little piece of paradise. We travel with friends who have two young children and The Crusader is an extremely family friendly resort. The pool is cleaned and tested daily and it has an enclosed area for the babies. It is just steps from the beach and a short walk to the boardwalk. Our sincerest thanks to Jane for a superior establishment and for making us feel more welcomed each and every year...see you next June!
PS) we get dibs on rooms 303 & 304 (wink)
Mary & Joe

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaryDFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again this year, it was our utmost pleasure to have your family and your friend's family as our guests. I certainly need not ask if you all enjoyed your yourselves, one only had to observe.

There are many fine restaurants in the area, as you know, but the "little ones" should enjoy the experience just as much as the adults.

I/we look forward to having you as our guests again next year.

Best Regards,
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,007 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort

Property: The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Address: 6101 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#15 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort is located directly on the beach in beautiful Wildwood Crest, New Jersey. Here you will find the cleanest, whitest expanse of sandy beaches on the entire East Coast. There is surfing and water sports nearby and we boast the best amusement boardwalk on the coast featuring Morey's Amusement Piers and Water Parks within walking distance. Our 40+ year reputation is a benchmark in cleanliness and hospitality. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel Wildwood Crest
Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing