We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Always had a great time at the crusader until this year 2012 in aug.I should of known I was going to have a bad time as soon as I showed up the elevators where down I had to carry my stuff to the room. As I'm walking to the room I noticed that the room they where giving me was not the one I reserved.they told me that I would get ocean front and pool view with private balcony.guess what they stuck me in 115. I argued with them telling them that they made a mistake.Allan the manager asked me if I can put you up on a higher floor would that be better I said I would just want my room but for the time being sure he said go see the room and let me know if you like it I told the woman that ok ill move for now as soon as I said that Allan walks up and says imsorry can't give you that room.Really ,,, I asked allan that I would like to speak with the person in which I made the reservation. He said as soon as he comes in he would tell him.They never contacted me they never apologized when I left I felt used and treated unfairly .one month has gone by and I'm writing this review you know I'm pissed, and still no phone call. Oh by the way tell your lifeguard stop texting while he's watching the kids in the pool. Never again thanks Allan keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
While it is unfortunate that the elevator unexpectedly went out of service just days after it had routine service, I had staff standing by to assist all guests with luggage or whatever else they had to move from floor to floor.

I don't understand why this customer was surprised by his accommodations (a pool view efficiency suite which does offer an ocean view) . It was the same room type he reserved and occupied in 2010, in fact it was the room next to the one he reserved in 2010. In 2006 and 2009 he did reserve an ocean front suite.

The room types are clearly noted on all confirmations. The time to raise any question is upon reciept of the confirmation, not check in. I did ask the guest if he would be happier if I could move him one floor higher and he responded by asking which room. He was shown the alternative room while I tried to make the change. Unfortunately I was unable to manipulate reservations to accommodate him.

I made several sincere apologies to the guest and tried to ease the obvious tention between him and his guest. The person who took the reservation was off the first two days of the stay, and did attempt to call the room on at least three seperate occasions on the third and final day of the reservation.

We take great pride in our reservation proceedures. We always guarantee the type of accommodation and 99% of the time we can honor requests for particular locations or even room number. However, it is the responsibilty of the guest to review the confirmation (with particualr attention to dates, room type and rate) to be sure they are satisfied upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    27
    3
    6
    8
See reviews for
84
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am an avid beach goer, and after having gone through the horrible experience at the El Coronado in July, I was very pleasantly surprised at the Crusader. The staff at check-in was delightful, the room was immaculate (and nicely air conditioned!), the beds were extremely comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay and will definitely return. Only one mishap and that was the elevator broke the night before we were checking out, but the front desk had two of their maintenance people show up at our third floor room to carry our luggage downstairs for us. Outstanding customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyg0lucky23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great family vacation at The Crusader! It was very clean and the staff is so friendly. The room was a great size and it is a great location! If I had any negative it is that there is not enough lounge chairs around the pool and people put their towels on the chairs to save the few there are and then never come to the pool! But overall we had a wonderful time and will return for sure!!!!

Room Tip: The 4s rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have been coming to the Crusader for many years and cannot believe this is not rated at the top. I dont even know where to start explaining why this motel is the most awesome choice in the town. There is not a negative thing to say. The place is extremely clean, well maintained, the people are friendly and helpful, the coffee shop and take out window are great and convenient. There is a gift shop in the lobby. They have a bathroom to use or change in on the lower level if you want to use to stay and go to the beach after you check out. The self controlled central air conditioning means you do not have a noisey unit buzzing while you are trying to sleep. It is never noisey morning or night. They have ping pong and shuffle board. The pool is always immaculate. The owner and the front desk staff are unbelievablely nice, pleasant and helpful. The rooms are perfect size, always clean, beds and pillows really comfortable, 2 tv's that are modern and work great. The lobby is full of fliers, newspapers, coupon books full of fun activites of things to do around town, restaruant menus to look at and more. Not one negative here, HIGHLY recommend this place!!!! (have been coming to the wildwoods since a kid, have stayed in others)

Room Tip: We like the efficiency rooms, large refrigerators, plates, glasses utensils all there. Ours faced th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you, and all of our other guests, for your kind review(s). It is most important for all of us here to make everyone who stays with us feel like they are guests in our home, not just staying at another beach resort. Many of you are like family.

On behalf of the owners and all of the staff I thank you and look forward to seeing you all in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We check in early to our room and was very happy about that. Everyone at the front desk I talked to was very nice & friendly. We stayed in the 4W. Livingroom with sleeper sofa, table n chairs, small flat screen, small fridge wish was bigger, bathroom was clean an decent, bedroom with queen fluffy bed, small flat screen and loved the whirlpool. Very clean,neat & well kept. Wasn't expecting to be waken up by room service early ever morning but I told them I did my own cleaning so they didn't have to do much. Pool was clean, you knew it had chlorine but wasn't over powering. Wasn't to thrilled about the other guest moving my belongings to satisfy themselves or that the children had taken over the pool all day an it closed early. The restaurant downstairs was ok not great but ok. Loved that the beach was across the street an 5 blocks to beginning of boardwalk. Not many stores in walking distance so we had to drive but not a problem. Was sad they didn't except pets but overall we loved it. Next time we bring the whole family !!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wifey6902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A bit late on this review, our unexpected stay to Crusader from 7/19-21 was unbelievable, on our way back from Ocean City, MD, we took the ferry, an awesome ride, we decided to stay in Wildwood for 2 nights, drove around, checked for availability, and ended up at Crusader, The staff showed us two rooms, one was on the street side and the other ocean front suite, we took the oceanfront, the bedroom was separate with 2 full size beds, and the couch had a pull out bed, got our bags, unpacked a little and hit the pool, it was great, there was a lifeguard, very helpful, answer a few questions. In the evening, we walked to the boardwalk as we were only about 6 blocks away, the most amazing boardwalk in the world that I know, highly recommend for all ages. The room was SO CLEAN, the sheets, bathroom, bedroom, everything, all was of high standards, the workers were all friendly, very helpful. On Friday, it was raining, damp, cloudy and windy, however we still took a walk the beach, came back and hit the pool for a few minutes. Saturday was same weather so we left early. We would definitely stay at this hotel every year from now on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziJerseyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent 3 nights in July and would definitely return again. Owner was very accomodating in renting our family three rooms close to each other for a short family getaway (2 grandparents, 4 parents and 5 kids). Rooms were just right, not fancy but everything you would need, including coffee filters and plenty of outside seating! Was great to have a bedroom separated from the living area. Pool was clean and warm, friendly staff always straightening up around the pool and hotel itself, daily housekeeping, ocean front property, great recc for dining, beaches were great,no problems with parking and wonderful diner type restaurant attached.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have 2 double beds or 1 queen size bed, each with sleeper sofas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamBidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#11 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#28 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#18 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort

Property: The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Address: 6101 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort is located directly on the beach in beautiful Wildwood Crest, New Jersey. Here you will find the cleanest, whitest expanse of sandy beaches on the entire East Coast. There is surfing and water sports nearby and we boost the best amusement boardwalk on the coast. Our 40+ year reputation is a benchmark in cleanliness and hospitality. Please come and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel Wildwood Crest
Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing