We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Family Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aztec Resort Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aztec Resort Motel
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family stayed at the Aztec and we had a great time. The location was perfect and the place even better. The room was very clean and well maintained, the cleaning people were there every morning making sure the pool and rooms were clean. Adam, the owner, had coffee for the guest every morning. I would highly recommend the Aztec to anyone who is looking to visit Wildwood. I will defenitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    36
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This motel is conveniently located close to the beach and boardwalk which is great for a family with two(2) small children. Parking lot spaces are very tight and cramped which makes it difficult to unload your vehicle. The best part of this motel is the pool area and the barbeque grills that are present. Both were very clean and accommodated all guests of the motel at all times.

Two double beds in the room made for a tight and cramped quarters. A loud but effective air conditioner was running and the room was cool upon entry. The floor was not carpeted and it was not long before my wife and kids advised that the floor was gritty. Sand? Dirt? I used a towel from the bathroom to wipe the floor and found it to be covered in dirt and grime. The bathroom wall area next to the toilet contained a brown colored stain beneath the light switch. The light switch outside of the bathroom was very dirty and contained grime in all of it's crevices. The bathroom sink was angled towards the floor which made it almost impossible to place anything on top without it falling into the sink or floor. There appeared to be a brand new mini fridge in the room which was quite efficient but was forced into a spot where the previous fridge was located. Unfortunately they were not equally sized and caused the counter leg to jut out. Not all that bad unless you have kids that want to shake it and move it. The cleanliness of the the room did not change during our stay and the noted items above never changed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmart1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time in Wildwood, we stayed there for three days from July 9 to the 11th, clean and friendly service,everyday cookies and coffee in the morning, Adam tried to acommodate us even though we arrived very early in the morning. The motel is very convenient to the boardwalk. Will definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is our 2nd year staying at the Aztec and we love it!!! The owner/and or the man that works front desk is always so friendly and helpful. The motel is so clean we are so impressed with the cleanliness and the hospitality there. This is the place we will always stay at when coming to Wildwood. Close to the beach, their pool is clean and nice every thing is WONDERFUL!!! It's our home away from home. We just got back today and miss it there already. Best place to stay!!!
Carol & Bill F, Leola PA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My family has stayed at a few different properties in Wildwood Crest over the years. Going into this summer, we didn't intend to be in Wildwood so I had not reserved a room. About a month before our stay, with a week off from work looming, we decided to return for a stay. I called our previous stay locations but they could not accommodate two rooms in a location of interest on their properties. So, I turned to TripAdvisor for assistance with alternative options. After reading the positive reviews on Aztec, we decided to give it a try.
Ending our stay yesterday (07/09/14 - 07/12/14), we left the motel extremely pleased. It was the details, at this location, which truly mattered. First off, on-site owners, Adamo Sr. & Jeanette, is an exception in this area. Normally, the motels have a staff member at the desk and owners who are never seen by guests. Not at Aztec (or American Safari & Gondolier, same owners), the owners are always present, showing they truly care about their businesses. Warmly greeting and assisting guests, it was refreshing to see them present and seemingly always positive.
Another differentiator for this resort, compared to other places we stayed, was the presence of an overnight security person. Constantly roaming about the property, it allowed me to rest comfortably knowing someone was present at all hours. The area is absolutely safe so the security personnel is not truly necessary, yet it was comforting to have someone with the guests best interest available overnight.
Cookies & coffee provided daily, free, in the mornings. Awake each morning and you will find a fresh variety of cookies to snack on and piping hot coffee in the lobby. These cookies were not the cheap, generic grocery store brand either. Instead, the offering was an assortment of cookies dipped in chocolate, others with jellies in the middle, and varieties of shapes.
Rooms were clean upon entry and refreshed perfectly by the staff daily. They always smelled wonderfully clean. Beds were comfortable, air conditioning cold, and plenty of storage for clothing available.
There was ample seating always available around the pool, as well as the property in general. At no point was there a crowded feeling or the compelling need to get up early an 'save' chairs with towels. That was exceptionally relaxing. No need to compete with other motel guests for a spot unlike so many other places I have stayed.
The entire property, rooms, common areas including walkways, patio, pool, & parking lot, were ALWAYS clean. Fellow guests were very nice and respectful. Nearly all families at this property.
Prices were reasonable, actually much lower than other places I contacted for a stay. The value provided at the Aztec is exceptional. Our family has found a new home while vacationing in Wildwood, I am thankful to have found such great people who care about ownership.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our first time staying in a Jersey Shore motel & we did so with some trepidation as our family normally travels in 4-5 star name brand resort properties. We were, however, pleasantly surprised. This is a family owned business & from my initial phone call with the son, to our check in process with the dad, everything was great. Our 2nd floor room had 2 queen beds, a small kitchenette area (which we didn't use other than the small fridge) & a petite bathroom. The room was very clean. WHITE bedding (hooray!). Small table/chairs and TV. We parked our car right below our room & left it there for our 2 day/1 night stay. 1 block to the beach. We were also invited by the owners/manager to pool hop to the owners' nearby other properties (where, at the Gondolier, a poolside party was underway). Just a few blocks to the WW Boardwalk. We had a slight problem getting our room key (yes, key) to work, and the on-site maintenance man was there within minutes. We didn't know that shore motels do not provide toiletries other than bar soap, but the owner kindly offered to provide me with some anyway. We were glad to be overlooking the parking lot because we assumed the pool area might be a bit noisy with kids laughing/splashing etc. Overall, this was a fun weekend getaway and we would definitely stay in one of this family's properties again.

Room Tip: We were in a room overlooking the parking lot/Lavender Avenue. There was no noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawdog037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed a week, one block from the best beach NJ has to offer. Friendliest, most helpful staff I've ever met. Place is spotless and there is always someone around to take care of any concern you may have. Yes the room was small, but we were there to sleep and it was not a big concern. Beds and furniture were not junk. The kitchenette worked well, and the few things we needed to buy were easily gotten at a Dollar Tree store about 10 miles away. Food store a few blocks away. The pool is sparkling, and there are ample comfortable lounge chairs and umbrella tables. Everything at the hotel was in great shape, no rust or broken things noted anywhere. I will make Aztec and Adamo's sister hotels, the Butternut, Safari, and Gondolier, my Wildwood hotels of choice forever!!! That's the way to run a business!!!

Room Tip: The best value is a small room with two full beds. However, the owner has 3 other nearby hotels. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#27 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#9 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#1 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aztec Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aztec Resort Motel

Property: Aztec Resort Motel
Address: 411 E Lavender Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4349
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#18 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Aztec Resort Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aztec Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztec Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing