We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family motel in Wildwood Crest”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

For the third year in a row, an amazing experience, staff recognizing the kids, clean room, a smiling suzanna and of course my favorite Boston Bruis fan Bill.

Great staff, amazing location.

Thanks for another wonderfull vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarknSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

My family stayed at the Commander for a week in July. If you are looking for an average cheap place to stay this is it. The location is great, right on the beach. It has a pool which my family enjoyed. We stayed on the third floor which was quite a hike because they do not have an elevator. Our room was a two room "suite" with only a refrigerator. The front room had no air conditioning and was always hot. The actual air conditioner was in the bedroom but it could not cool the front room. The bathroom was my nightmare. The toilet flushed very slowly. On our first hour there we had to call the front desk to get a plunger for the toilet. We had to flush a couple of times and then wait for the tank to fill up again and then flush again. Very very frustrating! The shower has one of those old fashioned shower heads that cannot be moved, which was very inconvenient if you didn't want to get your hair wet. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. So we did have our pros and cons. Overall we did have a good stay but the bathrooms need to be spruced up a bit.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor. You won't need to use the stairs. They do not have an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko26, Owner at Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your concerns, and during this off season we have addressed all of the issues you mention with regard to our bathrooms on the thrid floor with new and upgraded amenities. Normally, our rooms typically will cool down nicely with the current air conditioners we use, however, there are occasions when the front rooms will remain warm if the curtains are not kept closed due to the fact that we face south and have to contend with constant sun exposure. We always advise our customers to please keep their drapes closed during the afternoons so the rooms can stay cool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I first started coming to The Commander when I was little. My family and another family would come down just about every year. I now come down with my own family, and we love it.... The kids (now 16 and 13), always have a great time. The Crest is our favorite part of Wildwood... Quiet, relaxing and close enough to both the boardwalk and Cape May to visit at night. The Commander is clean, and well run... With two double beds in the bedroom, and a pullout sofa in the living room, it can easily sleep six. We'll continue to visit for years to come!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank MichelleCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just returned from another excellent 4th of July stay!! If you are looking for a extremely clean, convienient place to stay right on the beach this is it! We have been staying here for about 5 or 6 years now and enjoy it every time!

Reading some of the other reviews that make some rude comments about the staff I really can't believe it. Complaining about rinsing the sand off your feet, c'mon. Everyone that works here is so nice. The efficiency rooms are great and they have cleanest BBQ grills I have ever seen. Bring your bikes and you won't need to move you car until you leave, since there is trolley stop right out front!
I'll be calling tomorrow, we want to come back in two weeks.
Hope you have a room for us!
K & J

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

For the second year in a row our soccer team stay at this motel for the Wildwood Beach Blast Tournament. Overall this is your typical Jersey shore hotel, but it is very clean in a great location in the Crest. The owners of the property are so nice and accommodating. Everyone loved the pool overlooking the beach and the great deck with the views. There is ample space for a group to hang out, eat, drink and have a great time. It is a couple of miles to the boardwalk so as long as you do not mind driving down it is a great location. From what I understand there is a trolley you can take but we never took advantage of that. I would highly recommend this motel if you want to get away for a few days or if you have a large group that wants to stay together.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyPhanatic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent a week at the Commander recently. It is the Cleanest,Well Kept Motel we have been to in many years. The owners are very friendly and always available to offer advise on things to do in the Wildwoods and Cape May. The rooms are very comfy and the pool is clean and heated. The staff are friendly and always willing to tend to any and all needs you may have.
JM

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I totally. This place is in a GREAT location. The rooms are what you'd expect for a W.W.Crest Motel. The N.J. Shore Smell, the Smelly A.C.'s etc... The room we stayed in was fine. 2 beds and a pull out couch. Nice Fridge, microwave, cable, kitchen cabinets. The only negative would be the EVER PRESENT POOL GUY. It's ok for a while but, like mentioned, he NEVER stops talking. 'This is what it was like 20 yrs ago...'' Throwing coins into the pool for the kids is nice but, after 2 hrs of doing it??? We're trying to GET AWAY FROM PEOPLE not being FORCED to talk to some guy about the Motel ALL DAY. We're on Vacation. Leave us ALONE please. Other than that, the place isn't too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philly_Cop_Semper_Fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.1 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#13 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Regal Plaza Beach Resort
Regal Plaza Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Lower Township
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Granada Ocean Resort
Granada Ocean Resort
#57 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Winds
Four Winds
#34 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel

Address: 8803 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $76 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Commander-By-The-Sea Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing