We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like visiting family!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feels like visiting family!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We went to the Commander last year for the first time and it felt like visiting old friends. When we went in to check in and the ladies were so nice telling us different places to eat and all the different activities around the hotel without us having to ask. The room was very clean and even though our room wasn't ocean front we could still see the ocean and they had a great ocean front pool deck. Everyone that worked at the hotel was very nice and great to talk to. Many people who stay there have been there for years and come back again and again. I'd definity recommend staying here! Its like visitng you're family ! (:

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella87912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is very clean, the owner and the people working there very nice. We had a room with a view of the ocean ''super''. It's not a super chic hotel but it very nice and homy. Will come back next year

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coockiecalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My friend and I spent a few days at the Commander By The Sea. From check in to check out, the owners were friendly, pleasant and helpful. The rooms are exceptionally clean, comfortable and updated and having the efficiency kitchen is a great bonus. The location, on the beach, was great and the views from our balcony or the patio were wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful and kept everything neat and tidy. I've only stayed at one other place in Wildwood Crest and it wasn't on the beach so I don't have much to compare it to. I checked reviews and looked at many locations before I called the Commander it turned out to be a great pick. Even though I wasn't there with children, I noticed that the owners and staff are very children-friendly. You can't go wrong at the Commander and I know I'll be going back next year!

Room Tip: Best views from the 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My sister first found this gem about 8 years ago. Whenever we go to the Jersey Shore this is our place.
Clean, on the beach, with a pool, daily maid service, fabulous owners whose only goal is to make sure you have a great experience. We have brought our children, in-laws and now our grandchildren. Also, handicapped accessible. not just accomodating, really accessible if you let them know that you need a first floor room. There is no reason that anyone would be unhappy with these accomodations.
Very family friendly. Every year that we stay here we meet the nicest people. 10 stars for this place.
I live in CT and could easily go to the Cape, but nothing compares with Commander by the Sea and the Jersey Shore.

Room Tip: The efficiency with the kitchen is a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwestrbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

The pros: Good location, 2 sun decks, clean heated pool & clean BBQ. The place is under the owner close watch so you feel secure.a t all time.

The cons: The towels weren't always clean. They use a laundry service that doesn't always do the job properly. They replace the towels daily but sometimes by... dirty ones!!!

I had twice some make-up on my towel ( lipstick, mascara). And you think ok that's not so bad, stained but clean. Yeah right! Thinks again...
One time there was even sh** on it and that wasn't stained I could rub it off with some water ! Disgusting!!!!

The other con is the air conditioning. It makes a lot of noise so it is hard to fall asleep if you are use to sleep in a quiet environment.

I would recommend this hotel but... BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeisatrip333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko26, Owner at Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for your review and the positive comments. We were disappointed and concerned, however, by the negative comments. As to your observation regarding the towels that you claimed were "dirty." It is puzzling to me, as the owner of the Commander and someone who is second generation in the lodging industry in Wildwood Crest, that such an incident occurred and went unreported to management during your stay. I say this because in all of the years we have used our linen service we have never experienced a situation as egregious as the one you allude to. As a general rule we have found the linens they provide to be excellent in quality and cleanliness. Moreover, all of our linens are inspected for cleanliness and quality multiple times before they are placed in our guest rooms. Any items that are not absolutely clean and of acceptable quality are rejected and returned to the linen service. That said, I sincerely regret that you did not bring this to our attention during your stay. We would have addressed the situation swiftly and to your satisfaction. Our goal at the Commander is and has always been to do everything we can to assure that our customers are pleased with their accomodations and that they have a thoroughly enjoyable vacation. You also claimed that you felt your air conditioner was noisy. Again, all you had to do was let us know. I have very skilled employees who would have immediately looked at the unit. If there was a problem that could not be remedied with that unit, we would have gladly replaced it right there and then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We liked the hotel last year, so we returned.

Visited and stayed on the 3rd floor. Noticed that by night 2, we began getting congested; had to sleep with the bedroom window open. Wife ended up getting bronchitis toward the end of our trip and I got a bad sinus infection.

Same happened to our family staying next door.

Not sure if the room we were in was moldy, etc., but perhaps it's time for a renovation (i.e., see what's under those rugs, etc.).

Too bad, we really enjoyed the management here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHoliday73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko26, Owner at Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read of your experience. If you felt that it was the room that was contributing to your discomfort, we would have made every effort to move you to another unit. All you had to do was let us know. I can tell you with a very high degree of confidence that our rooms are not moldy because we maintain and clean our rooms continously and thoroughly. For instance, in the off season the rooms are given a thorough cleaning and upgrade in terms of repairs, painting, rug replacement or shampoo, drapes vacuumed and cleaned, fixtures and appliances repaired/replaced and cleaned. During the season, our attentiveness to cleaning is just as diligent. Our housekeeping staff is given extensive training and our maintenance staff is constantly at work maintaining our high standards both inside our units and around the entire property. We have many guests at our property through the course of the season, and I can tell you that the vast majority have extremely pleasant stays, free of any health issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Decided to head down to the Wildwood area at the last minute and found this place on Trip Advisor - so glad we picked it. We were looking for a place on the beach, quiet and clean - the Commander By the Sea fit the bill!

Parking was free, there were grills to cook out on (they cleaned them regularly!), an ice machine by the office, and a fridge in the room (we did not stay in an efficiency, so can't report on those). TVs in bedroom and living room (regular cable). Appeared to be wireless internet available, but not sure if it was free or not - didn't bring the laptop. Room was clean - a little old school, but seems like that's the thing down there!

There are two decks you can hang out on with umbrella tables, etc. and even if you don't stay in an "oceanfront" room, you can still get a pretty good view of the water outside your door, which is nice. Didn't hang out at the pool, but it seemed fine. Lots of chairs to hang out around poolside. Just make sure you bring your own hair dryer, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas (although there are chair/umbrella rentals on the beach right by the hotel if need be).

Staff was friendly, it seemed like maybe a family owned operation. Always saw maintenance working hard, which is always a good sign!

Location is good if you want to get away a little from the Boardwalk scene - after Labor Day it was easy to drive down there in about five minutes anyway, so we felt like we had the best of both worlds.

Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njlibrarian27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.2 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Plaza Beach Resort
Regal Plaza Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Lower Township
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#11 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Nova Motel
Villa Nova Motel
#52 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
Beau Rivage Beach Resort
#45 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mark I Motel
Mark I Motel
#16 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel

Property: Commander-By-The-Sea-Motel
Address: 8803 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Commander-By-The-Sea Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing