We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place, we go several times a summer...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tangiers Resort Motel
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The owners are extremely nice and knowledgeable of the area. The place is perfect for a family like mine. The kids pool is great and always painted with cool designs for the little ones to enjoy. We've been there a few times this summer and will be back again in a few weeks to end the summer. Parking is plentiful and we never have a problem. The Doo Wop Coffee shop is great for breakfast and we love the shakes there too. Can't wait to get back to the Jersey Shore...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PigDawg_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

not what we thoght was going to be that was supposed to be my vacation yea right the worst day of my life my husband got a parking ticket we could not sign in early ffood is expensive looks like the ghettooo.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paganlrvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The Tangiers is a typical Jersey Shore Motel. It’s clean enough but there is nothing great or unique about it. It’s cute that they have the name written in the pool. The elevated sun deck is nice & the big chess board is amusing. The gift shop is well stocked with anything you forgot plus souvenirs. The owners are very sweet; say hello to Chia Pet the resident Chihuahua. Bring your own soap; the slivers they give you are about the size of the scraps most people throw away at home. The Doo Wop diner on the property is great for a huge breakfast & the ice cream is yummy too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

In June we decided to join family in Wildwood for an August vacation. With it being kind of last minute and with a young family, specific needs, and a limited budget, our accommodation choices weren't plentiful, especially considering we wanted to be within easy walking distance of the Pan Am Hotel. After much research we finally settled on the Tangiers. Our reservation was made via telephone and with every phone call, Arlene was really helpful.

We arrived late and moved into room 314. There's no elevator so we had to schlump our bags up 3 floors via the external staircase. Other than arrival and departure, the stairs were not an issue for us and being on the third floor afforded us some nice views of the ocean. Although very compact, our accommodation generally suited our needs pretty well as we needed a separate space where our 3 year old son could sleep undisturbed. It consisted of a tiny bedroom with a full-sized bed, a tiny bathroom, and another full-sized bed in the living area, which also had a table, two chairs, a small fridge and a microwave. There was also a shared balcony overlooking the pool area and the views of the ocean were great.

I'd read previous reviews that said rooms were small, and boy, they weren't wrong! Check out my photos to see for yourselves. In the 50's style bathroom you could literally sit on the toilet and wash your hands at the same time, while washing your feet in the tub!! Still, overall it was pretty clean.

I noted that other rooms looked as though they'd been updated somewhat, but ours hadn't. It was pretty dated. There were rusty clothes racks on the wall and the air conditioning units were old and noisy, although fortunately they worked pretty well. The TV was ancient and had a video player... shame we'd only brought DVD's!

The bedroom was far from spacious and on the right hand side there was maybe 6 inches between the bed and the wall. This meant that there wasn't enough room to easily run a vacuum and so consequently, dust and dirt were very noticeable on the carpet. There was also no window covering so I had to find a way to rig up a towel as a makeshift curtain. This gave the room an even shabbier feel. The good news is that the bed linens were very clean and overall, our accommodation was clean, although looking under the beds grossed me out. There are no coffee making facilities in the rooms so you have no choice but to get your coffee from the 'Doo Wop' restaurant attached to the Tangiers.

We didn't use the Tangiers pool as we spent a lot of time hanging out with family at the Pan Am Hotel just up the road. However, the pool area looked nice, although the 'No Visitors' signs are none too welcoming. We did love the cool, 50's style Doo Wop restaurant and ate breakfast there on several occasions. The food was very good and prices were reasonable and we also grabbed some ice cream late one evening and ate it on the balcony until we were forced inside by the smell of our neighbors smoking cigars. As non-smokers we were definitely in the minority at the Tangiers.

In summary, booking late and on a budget we probably could have done a lot worse. The location was good, only 2 blocks from the beach and a brisk 15 minute walk brought you to the beginning of the boardwalk. There was also a bike rental place a few blocks away. For 2 adults and a 3-year-old we managed, but I cannot imagine 4 adults trying to share these tiny rooms and if you're on the larger size you'd definitely struggle with the lack of space in the bathroom. Accommodations are basic but clean, and in my opinion the $155 per night we paid for this room was definitely on the high side, although everything else available in the area was more money still. I know... we visited at peak season and this is the ocean, but still... it's Wildwood, and I've stayed in much nicer hotels for much less money.

So would we stay at the Tangiers again? Maybe... but we'd definitely try to find an alternative first.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KDinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

my wife and i were in atlantic city.we decided to stay imperial 500 motel however in many phone calls to them back and forth we could not get the room.they told me to call the tangiers and i spoke to arlene and bruce the owners.they told me they had rooms.we talked and they gave me a great deal.room # 102 in front of the pool and the parking just 20 ft from my room.wow what a room.it was large enough for us with a kitchen and pots n pans and a coffee maker and a blender.we did not use any of the items because we were only there for 2 nights.the owners are lovely people to talk with and they care about their customers.we will go back again thats for sure.thank you arlene and bruce

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank lovetocruise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Tangiers Motel is your typical Jersey Beach Motel. It is NOT a luxury Resort. The rooms are small and they do smell damp because you are at the beach and EVERYTHING smells damp - everything is always wet and sandy. I have been to Very Expensive Resorts all over the world and if they are on the beach there is always a damp smell - it is what it is. We stay at the Tangiers every year for Bike Weekend because it is in a good location and the price is right. The room we get is small but clean with a small fridge and microwave. The Hotel also has a quaint doo-wop 50's style coffee shop downstairs that serves a good breakfast for good price. The hotel is across from the beach and just far enough from the center of town so it is quiet at night - we will be back this year

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ted09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

This was our 2nd annual trip to the Tangiers. We love the hotel and the owners Bruce & Arlene are two of the nicest people you will ever meet.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fjd2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.1 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#17 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Crest Motel
Diamond Crest Motel
#50 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#23 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#32 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangiers Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangiers Resort Motel

Address: 6201 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $73 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tangiers Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented motel with a great location, just across the street from the beautiful Wildwood Crest Beach. We have a host of amenities to make your vacation great. Onsite Doo Wop Coffee Shop that serves breakfast, lunch, Ice cream and other delicious treats. Shuffle board, large swimming pool, guest laundry facilities, fax service, outdoor natural gas grills and more. The gift shop is chock full of gifts and basic beach necessities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tangiers Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangiers Motel Wildwood Crest
Tangiers Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing