We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay!”
Review of Armada By-the-Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armada By-the-Sea
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed in a 3-room suite at the Armada for 4 nights with another couple and we all enjoyed it very much.

Pros: The location is awesome - right on the beach and just a couple of blocks from the boardwalk (an easy walk). The pool is heated so a good choice for the cooler or windy days. Our rooms were very nicely appointed, the kitchen quite well-equipped. (I am used to never having measuring cups so I always bring those myself but that was about all that was missing.) We had a good connection to the WiFi. Very comfortable beds and chairs. Coin-operated washer and dryer was extremely convenient! Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great TV's in every room (though we only used the one in the living room). Loads of towels were provided and appreciated!

Cons: The shower in our room was apparently lacking a regulator so the temperature went up and down in the course of the shower. Since we are adults, that was a very minor inconvenience... for children it might be more important. The pool closes at 7 PM - it would have been nice to take a swim later in the evening. And the WiFi speed slowed down at certain times.

Definitely would go back and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 656 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

We went for three days and two nights, with my wife her mother, and two kids. Selected the hotel based, in part, on Trip Advisor reviews, and was not disappointed. The room was very comfortable for all of us (separate bedroom oceanview suite) although we spent litte time there. The pool was clean, sparkling and warm. The beach is right across a very narrow street and it, too, was clean and well-guarded (and free -- an anomoly at the Jersey Shore). Had no trouble parking the minivan in the hotel. Stayed after checkout, and used the outdoor shower and bathroom by the pool -- no proplem. Wildwood itself is a great family place. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabfamily57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

transportation to and from board walk easy and only 2.50 a ride saves your legs or you could walk the 2 plus miles to the end of the board walk whew one time .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Just returned from another great summer trip to Wildwood Crest and once again had a great stay at the Armada.

- Management/Front Desk staff friendly and helpful as usual, even helped us extend our trip one day by moving us to another room for the extra day, very cool. Also kept us up to date on restaurants and other happenings.

- Both rooms in great condition and maid service was thorough and excellent (they even greeted my wife and me in the hall).

- Large grill by the pool for guest use, clean and in great condition and now has an awning cover (in case of rain I'd imagine).

- Maintenance staff were great, working non-stop, maintaining pool, even power-washing sidewalks/common areas to keep the place looking great.

Very much looking forward to a summer 2011 stay at Armada, job well done as always!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvPistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We thought that with such a high rating this would be a great place to spend the weekend at Wildwood. There are a ton of hotels up and down the beach and this hotel was rated #2 per TripAdvisor. The room we got was much smaller and worn out than we thought. The decor was 100% early 80's - the room and fixtures and furniture reminded me of an old Motel 6 I used to stay at in the late 80's. The condition of the room is well, used. I can understand it has been around for a while, but the cushions on the pull out bed were stained and soiled and again, must be at least 15-20 years old, the fleece blanket on the bed had A LOT of hairs (not ours) from various body locations as well when we pulled the sheets back. The bathroom is old and dated and the drains are 80% clogged causing water to collect in the tub when we shower. There was no towel put out for the floor and they only provided generic hand soap bars. No shampoo. Had I known they don't provide it I would have brought my own. I mean, for 195 dollars a night all they can provide is a bar of soap? The good? It is right on the beach. yay. The fridge worked and was cold. The Front desk folks are very nice though. Other than that, well, wow - Motel 6/econolodge accomodations at Hilton/Hyatt prices!! I guess because they get such good ratings and they are on the beach, they have decided to provide no frills low motel quality and high rates...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2plus3NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Started going to Wildwood Crest while dating my husband. His family had been going since he was a kid. Then we continued the tradition with our daughter. We had become disatisfied with the place we had been staying at. And choose a few other places and we were no happier with them. After reading reviews of the Armada we decided to reserve a room with them. Sooooo glad we did ! The Armada is the cleanest place we have ever stayed at in Wildwood. I loved the nice touch of the scent they spray in the room and hallways. The cleaning service is excellent! Beautiful ocean views from the rooms. Perfect location. Bonnie and Steve the people who own this hotel, take pride in it. And it shows in everything they do. Starting with making the reservation, check-in, and everything you made need in- between. They are so accomodating and friendly. Something lacking in alot of the surrounding hotels now a days. It was a pleasure dealing with them. We loved it so much this year, we have already planned our return trip next summer. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyprecept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Armada by the Sea is great for families! This was our first time at the Armada and the hotel is extremely clean and located in a fantastic spot right off the beach. Our room was booked last minute and we had an ocean FRONT room with a balcony! What a treat to see dolphins in the ocean during the day and shooting stars at night from our balcony! The maintenance people were always cleaning and keeping the property very well kept. Bonnie and Steve and the rest of the staff made us feel like family! We have already put in our request for a room for next year! Keep up the good work Bonnie & Steve!

Sue S.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaSue0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.3 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,284 reviews
7.8 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada By-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada By-the-Sea

Address: 6503 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $70 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friend, beach front motel in peaceful Wildwood Crest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Armada By-the-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada By The Sea Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing