We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, friendly employees, great location”
Review of Armada By-the-Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armada By-the-Sea
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've stayed at a few hotels in Wildwood Crest and Armada by the Sea has been the best. All the employees I encountered were friendly, but more important is that the room and property were very clean. It's obvious the owners take pride and keep this place clean, something you don't always so easily find in Wildwood. Heated pool was truly heated and very clean and spacious. I saw several people taking advantage of the on-site grill, which was a decent size. bike racks were available also.

Negatives - and I mean this lightly. Like most properties parking can be a pain. We were off-season so it was fine, but I could see in the height of the season you might run into a problem.

We stayed in a room with a private balcony. Room was nice, but the balcony was small, so if you had the AC on, it created a lot of heat and it was tough to sit out there and enjoy it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was a good location, large lounge chair seating areas and one flight down to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlc1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 656 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Armada by the Sea with my mother in law 7/19-7/22 as this was the hotel she chose. It was in a great location first off, removed from the hustle and bustle, yet had a giant park across the street and expansive ocean views from the deck. It was very clean, spacious and comfortable. However, the park offered entertainment Saturday evening which was loud, but did end around 10 pm. If you had sleeping kids in the room though this might be an issue. Also, one morning either Sunday or Monday morning I woke up to loud, very loud music playing. Zumba class 7 am at the park. Refreshing to see however, not exactly how I want to be awoken on vacation. The a/c in the room was hard to program and honestly I didn't have that much energy in trying to figure it out, but it wasn't set by temperature it was either on or off. The beds were comfy and again the room was very spacious and comfortable. My mother slept on the pull out couch in the living room, so even being in the back bedroom I could still hear the noise from the park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Made our yearly visit to Armada this past week and proud to report that ownership has kept up their excellent standards. Once again, we found the property well maintained, exceptionally clean and with a great office and housekeeping staff. Keep up the great work, see you next summer!

Room Tip: Efficiency rooms offer a great view of Centennial Park, which hosts a variety of musical acts during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvPistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been vacationing in Wildwood Crest for several years but had never stayed at the Armada By The Sea until this year. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is the cleanest hotel we've stayed at. Best of all is the absolutely perfect location. All of the rooms have an excellent view of the ocean and the Crest park where there are concerts twice a week and zumba in the mornings. It was so nice to sit on the balcony in the evening and enjoy the concert in the park. Absolutely the best place we've stayed and we're now going to be regulars at the Armada By the Sea!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vcki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have returned to the Armada on and off for years. Tried other places, like OBX, but returned here. Friendly helpful staff. Family owned and operated. We usually have 1 or more efficiencies and three rooms total for an extended family vacation. Cook most breaksasts and dinners in our room to save $ and convenience. Armada is right on the bike path and about a mile walk from the boardwalk. The hotel faces southwest to the Centential Park where there are free concerts twice a week. Park is beautiful and convient to watch older kids play. Heated pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We loved just about everything about this hotel. The only downside is parking can be a problem. We were able to park across the street after 10pm and move our car by 8am the one night we could not find a space. Everything else was great. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 212 facing the ocean with private balcony has microwave and minifrig, Queen bed and an extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family of four with two teens have stayed here for Fall extended weekends now for 3 years. The rooms are very clean, with the usual hotel layout. Some areas of the hotel show it's age, but regular upgrades can also be seen, so there's money going back into the hotel to keep updated for guests' comfort. We always get a room with an efficiency that is nice to have and most all items needed to prepare meals are included. The family that runs this place does their best to make sure your stay is enjoyable. They are always very welcoming and can be seen around the premises. The bathrooms are a little on the cramped side, but we’ve seen same at more expensive hotels ~ where they weren’t as clean either (it just gets tough for 4 over a few days). It’s a very nice place to stay in Wildwood Crest; across from a public park (concerts scheduled regularly during the weeks ~ so you have a great view/seat), you have full view of the ocean (from pretty much any room), a clean refreshing pool, and a very nice, helpful staff. If you stay on one of the top floors, be aware you may wait at times for the elevator. All in all, a good value in a great location, on the quiet side of Wildwood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.3 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#1 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,284 reviews
7.8 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada By-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada By-the-Sea

Address: 6503 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $70 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friend, beach front motel in peaceful Wildwood Crest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Armada By-the-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada By The Sea Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing