We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armada By-the-Sea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armada By-the-Sea
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have visited Wildwood Crest many times over the years but this was our first time staying at the Armada. Very nice hotel, very clean, friendly and pleasant staff. Had an Ocean Front room with greaet views and nice Ocean breezes. We really like the partially covered sun deck, pool was sparkling clean as was the entire area. Will definetely return. Ed J.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eaj501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    97
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
362
87
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Armada for 3 nights. This was our first stay. We've stayed other places in Wildwood Crest -1 high end and one bad. The Armada got pretty good reviews do we decided to give it a try.
We got a motel room only but ocean front. I thought the room had 2 doubles but it didn't. Maybe my mistake.

First issue is that our room had a coffee maker but NO COFFEE not even those little packets. I've never seen a hotel that didn't give you coffee and sweetener for a few cups. Also first morning aftet vheck in housekeeping didn't give us coffee cups when obvious we didn't have any.

Second you had to put money in the ice machine for any ice. Since I didn't need a lot, I wasn't going to pay for it. Never before did I stay at any motel where you paid for ice.

Wi-fi was spotty so ever time I wasn't to get online I had to sit in the lobby. maybe that's normal at the beach.

Finally ocean front balconies had the sliding door/window to close the balcony. Really annoying as it cut off maybe 25% of balcony view. While I assumed these were used for hurricanes, only 1 other hotel with ocean front balconies had these. What a waste.

The place was very clean, nice pool. No Lobby computer. Another bummer. It was nice but overall maybe only a 4.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saramay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and two kids went to Wildwood for a little vacation. On the phone making the reso's staff was sooo nice n friendly. We were due to check in on Monday Sept 3 (Labor day), but called the Thursday before and requested to come a day early on Sunday. Upon arrival the check in lady said "oh, you're due tomorrow, I guess you decided to come a bit early, lets see" to that we told her that no, we called and changed the reservation, then she said oh, ok. We tried asking a few questions about the area but it was as if we were bothering her so we just went on our way.
Check out is a FIRM 11AM even if the entire motel is EMPTY they will not bend a little for the customer and offer a 12 noon or even 1 o'clock check out. You are more then welcome to spend the day on the premises as long as your out of your room. I understand this I just thought now that the season was pretty much over and they were slower perhaps they could give a little and let you check out an hour or two later. We most certainly cannot spend the day on the beach or pool without showering after and going for a 3 hour drive home. I asked if there was a shower downstairs that we could use but there wasn't.
Maybe I'm expecting to much, But we did feel that they could have been a little kinder and a bit more giving.
The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff was GREAT!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armadapillies, Owner at Armada By-the-Sea, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you regarded our front desk team as "unkind and ungiving" according to your review. The reason you gave for this assessment was the fact that we did not extend to you a late checkout. Because of that you gave us a "one star" for service. If you check our rate schedule online, you will notice that you were charged the post Labor Day rate although you arrived during the Sunday of Labor Day weekend. That amounted to a $66 savings to you! Most guests would consider that very kind and giving. In addition, although the motel might appear to be "empty" to you, we had a new wave of guests checking in. Those new guests would rightfully expect to check in at the appropriate "check-in" time just as you had that same expectation when you checked in. That wouldn't be possible if everyone requested a late checkout. It requires a certain amount of time to properly prepare rooms, defrost refrigerators, etc. I believe it is very unfair to write a negative review and assess a "one star" for service because of a motel policy that you knew about or could have inquired about before you made the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

For a first-time wildwood visitor, this hotel seems to be the best. It was so clean and well maintained and very close to the beach. However, it was little far from the boardwalk. I guess there are many other hotels in town that offer such quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bking007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is not swanky in any way - rooms are a little small, pool area is small, and access to rooms is across other people's "balconies" - HOWEVER it is really a great place to stay. The staff is extremely friendly and the rooms and grounds are very clean. The sundeck is a great feature. The hotel is right next door to a park that has exercise classes some mornings and live music some nights. We had an ocean front room on the fourth floor and really enjoyed the view. The kitchen was well-equiped, so we enjoyed breakfast and lunch in our room most days. It is so nice just to walk up from the beach and have your room be right there! We also enjoyed the bike path - it was great to go for an early morning ride and then come back and jump in the pool. We love Wildwood Crest - family friendly yet close to all the fun on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have private balconies, for other rooms your "balcony" is everyone else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I are both longtime guests and reviewers of the Armada. Again, we were greeted by their amazingly friendly staff upon check-in (they even had my car's information on file from last year for our parking pass) and headed up to our oceanfront room.

Armada always seems to have some sort small upgrade done during each off season and this year was no exception. We noticed that the shower in our clean room was brand new and also that a new permanent plastic "mat" was added to the second floor sun deck. For those of you that have stayed at Armada in the past, this upgrade virtually eliminates the chance of slipping and falling on the tile floor (since most of us walk there with wet feet). Excellent idea and very practical.

Grounds keeping and maintenance men all took care of business. The pool was clean and maintained and corridors/garage/etc. were all swept several times per day.

The only downside this year was that the housekeeping service seemed to be a lagging a little behind (they did not get to our room until late in the day), but I think this was just due to under staffing during the week we stayed. The housekeeping staff, as always, did an exceptional job and our room was cleaned properly on a daily basis.

Compare this Motel to their high-rise "next door neighbor" hotel and you will see the better value is clearly Armada. Highly recommended, again, and can't wait to head back next summer.

Room Tip: Efficiency rooms are great if traveling with kids. More space and full kitchen if you want to eat-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvPistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The rooms were nice and clean. The pool was small but it was clean and well maintained. Beach right across. Also the guys were honest. I happened to call just a day or two before our visit during the peak of summer. Upon calling them, they told me that they have a room available and though it was type E (i.e. one with an ocean view) in reality this one had the pool rightoutside it

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.5 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.4 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#2 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada By-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada By-the-Sea

Property: Armada By-the-Sea
Address: 6503 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#1 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friend, beach front motel in peaceful Wildwood Crest ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Armada By The Sea Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing