We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time Again at the Armada By The Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Armada By-the-Sea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armada By-the-Sea
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
“Great Time Again at the Armada By The Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Three years ago, my family and I were looking for a place to stay in Wildwood Crest. To our surprise, due to a cancellation, we were able to book a room at the Armada with only a three week notice. We have all stayed in other motels in the area, but the Armada quickly became our #1 place in Wildwood Crest. The location is ideal since it is right on the beach and there is a great park across the street from the property. Our last trip was for 5 nights, August 15, 2011 to August 19, 2011. The owners Steve and Bonnie and their extended family always welcome you with a smile, and to my surprise, remembered our names from the previous year.

The most impressive part of the Armada is the attention to detail and the unbelievable cleanliness of the property. You will always see someone cleaning and making sure nothing is out of place. This year we had an efficiency room on the 5th floor which was exceptionally clean, cool and very comfortable for our family. The pool area is great and using the gas barbeque grill is a great option for lunch when you are hanging around the pool. FREE ice was always available on the 3rd floor which we used every day to fill our cooler. Also, unlike the previous review, I was able to access the Armada Wi-Fi system on the 5th floor without any issues.

We will definitely be back next year for another great vacation at the Armada By The Sea. Steve & Bonnie, thanks again for another great vacation, we didn't want to leave!

The Powers/Rogowski family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x013573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    97
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
362
87
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed four days beginning August 13, 2011. There are 4 of us. If you want ice you have to pay for it. If you want to use your personal computer, good luck. Even though they indicate they have WiFi, good luck trying to connect to the internet. Management blamed it on Comcast and the location on the 5th floor, but we checked with other guests and they complained too. If Comcast is the problem, why isn't management working to get it fixed? Apparently, they've had this problem for some time. The pool closes @ 7:00 p.m. That is not listed in AAA or on the phone when you make a reservation. Cable channels are limited. The blanket on the Murphy Bed was old, full of wholes and disgusting. There is a window unit air conditioner in 1/2 of the room. We stayed in a two-room efficiency on the 5th floor with a balcony. The bedroom has a ceiling fan, no air conditioning. The bathroom is very small. The maid came in and didn't bother to clean the soap dish. She didn't clean the kitchen floor either. There was also someone's elses garbage left on the balcony that was never removed. I left it there to see if the maid would take care of it it: nope and probably still there. Kids run the hallways and up and down the stairs. There is only one elevator and you have to walk past everyone's room with chairs, towels and boggie boards on the ground. That was kind of weird. I didn't complain about anything to my family because I didn't want to cast a pall over the vacation: these are their complaints! We left there and stayed at the Biscayne Suites in Ocean City. We didn't have to pay for ice, the internet worked, the pool stayed open until 8:00 p.m. the bathroom was large and had plenty of hooks to hang up wet towels, the pool was awesome, no one was running around the halls and there was air conditioning in both bedrooms, the bedrooms are huge, and they have a great cable selection. I would not stay at the Armada again. There is so much to choose from in Wildwood Crest. The Board Walk is about 13 blocks away!

Room Tip: If you go, stay on the 5th floor so you don't hear all the running over head or rent an efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Char1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Armanda by thr Sea is a wonderful Hotel and has a Great Staff always willing to assit in anything you ask of them.I have vacationed here for 7 yrs. now and feel like it is a home away from home. Each year something New is added or upgraded in the Rooms. I try to stay in the same room each year and so far I have been accomodated each request...lucky me. The owner and his staff are outstanding and the families that come for vacation here are very, very respectful. The rooms are extremley clean and well kept. The beach is at your door. I love it here and will contiue to make the trip each year, God willing. Thank you Steve and all at the Armada -By-the-Sea......George & Patricia Sullivan, Staten Island,NY

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

My family and I have been going to Wildwood for 41 years. We have stayed at many motels over the years and have never found a friendlier place than the Armada. The place is spotless and well kept and maintained. The owners, their family and their employees were wonderful and polite. My family and I had spent 10 days at the Armada and hopefully we will always come back. I’m sorry it took so long to get there, but it’s never too late.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Armada is in a great location - right on the beach. We had an oceanfront room with a private balcony which was great. The only bad thing about that was that the air conditioner is located in the window area which means if the air is turned on we couldn't sit outside on the balcony without getting blasted with hot air.

The bed was very uncomfortable, I woke up with a stiff back. The couch in our room was stained and it looked like it had seen better days. Actually, all of the furniture looks like it had seen better days.

My major problem with the place is the parking. It's tight and there aren't enough parking places for every room. Sometimes we had to park across the street. I never heard of a hotel not having enough parking spaces for every room.

The people working the front desk were extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armadapillies, Manager at Armada By-the-Sea, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
We would like to respond to a few things from this review. If you notice, this guest stayed with us in September of last season. As our season runs from May through October, by the time September has arrived our rooms have seen a lot of wear and tear during the summer. When we close in October, we go through each room and replace the furniture that we believe needs to be replaced after the busy season. As far as stains on the couch, since we are a family-oriented motel, sometimes children spill things on the furniture and we cannot replace the furniture until we close in October. We do our best to remove stains until it can be replaced in the off-season.

As far as the statement that we do not provide enough parking spots, this is not a true statement. We do provide one and only one parking spot per unit, however at times there are problems with this for multiple reasons: at times guests from our neighboring motel accidentally park on our lot, large cars sometimes park over the lines or guests disregard our rule of only having one car per unit. We do monitor our parking situation closely, however, we cannot always guarantee that other guests will respect our parking rules 100%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed for the first time at the Aramada in July and had a great experience! Our room was spotless and the grounds and pool were always being cleaned. It was just so clean and smelled clean. Everyone in the office couldn't be nicer! We will definately book there again!

Room Tip: Room had a hair dryer, iron and ironing board and coffee pot. ...everything was clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CutieTNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great motel and location. Our room had a wonderful view of the ocean and VERY clean.
People at the front desk we're great and very accomodating. Had a wonderful stay and will be back the next time we plan a trip to Wildwood.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbo0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood Crest
0.5 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.4 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#2 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada By-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada By-the-Sea

Property: Armada By-the-Sea
Address: 6503 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friend, beach front motel in peaceful Wildwood Crest ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Armada By The Sea Hotel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing