We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shalimar as good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shalimar Resort Motel
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Another great vacation at the Shalimar!
My family and I have been staying there for the last 8 years and we've NEVER had a bad experience or a bad stay! There was a problem with the freezer in my room and when I advised the front desk they immediately let me put my freezeables in a freezer in a conference room that was not being used. The next day the maintenance man came to my room with a new fridge and replaced it in a matter of minutes. It took longer for the fridge to reach its cooling temperature than it took for the guys to swap it out! Now that's what I call service to your guests. The rooms are always clean, and the cleaning staff are super nice! Not one of the requests we made during our stay was ever not possible the answer was always sure, no problem! I love this place and will not stay any where else.

Room Tip: A family of four will be comfortable in the room with 2 queen beds if all you need is a place to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a very nice stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. Each morning we noticed someone cleaning and straightening up the pool area. There is a nice section set aside for barbecuing, which we also saw being thoroughly cleaned. It was only a short walk to the beach. I have already recommended it to at least 2 of my friends at work. This was my first time and I would definitely return. In fact we are already considering for later again this month.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank d a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Visited Wildwood Crest for many years, but this was our first time at the Shalimar. It was closer to Wildwood than we had experienced & were concerned it might be noisy. It really wasn't bad! The rooms are well insulated so you do not hear your neighbors unless you are on the balcony. We stayed in a T1 room so having 2 private balconies was a plus. You aren't right on the beach as there is a hotel between the Shalimar & the ocean, but the walk was not bad at all, - it's only a 1/2 block. The resort was clean - including scraping the gas grills clean on a daily basis. We ate dinner in the room every night & the kitchen had what we needed - you will need to purchase paper products such as napkins, paper towels, etc. Also bring your iron & blow dryer. The elevator made checking in and out a breeze. Staff was polite. The parking spaces are tight, so be mindful of that if you drive a van or SUV. Nice family spot.

Room Tip: The townhouses are a nice option if you would like some separation between the adults and kids. T2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MCS1266fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I had not been to wildwood in a decade and my boyfriend booked the trip for my birthday weekend. I knew Wildwood Crest was more for families and calmer than North Wildwood/Boardwalk area but I was not ready for the noise and bustle of this area.

We didn't arrive til late that night (and did forewarn we were a late check-in) and had the last room. Room 409 was on the fourth floor and very narrow. Hardly room to walk around beds with luggage. Room was clean and somewhat updated though beds were not firm and only had sheets and an empty duvet cover. No warm blanket (good thing we had an extra comforter in the car). Also the balcony door was off track and vertical blinds didn't open. We assumed because we were the later check in we got the reject room despite our call ahead to say we would be later.

For a family, Shalimar would be great. Affordable, fun, pool, grills, & lots of space outside to hang out. As a couple, it wasn't quite relaxing. My boyfriend asked for a king bed (they only have one room with one king bed- the rest are suites) and instead we got two full beds. Being on the fourth floor some units are two-floor suites and our room, though was only one level, was also adjacent to a suite with two levels. The staircase was up against the headboards so at all hours of night and morning, we heard footsteps up and down and sometimes running. We called the front office to ask for another room and they responded kindly but said they had no availability. With people checking out Sunday, I was hoping for one night we could slip into another quiet room even if it was larger as we did not get what we requested as far as beds but we never got moved.

I write this review for couples seeking quiet and calm weekends at the shore- splurge on a condo or look towards Cape May. If you do choose this hotel, request a third or second floor unit where there are no stairs next door and avoid rooms 409, 411, and 413!

The management said they would reimburse from the king bed room rate but to be honest, we would of been happier with a room change to an upgraded/quieter room on our last night.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar_Staff, Front Office Manager at Shalimar Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Hi Bella, We are very sorry that the family in the room next to you was a bit louder than normal and their activity was disruptive. We would have happily moved you if we could have - but even on your last night, Sunday as you mention, we were completely booked and could not move your room. We did take your request seriously, however, and talked with the family in the room next to yours on the day that you asked to be moved. It was our understanding, after inquiring upon your check out, that they were quieter that next night. But we completely understand that you would have preferred to be moved. At the time you booked, that was the only accommodation we had available. We also maintain a 24 hour office so that any noise complaints can be dealt with immediately - any time throughout the night. All our customers have to do it call the office and we will send someone to the room to remedy the situation. Thank you for mentioning that we are a property geared toward families - this is true. We have many amenities on the property geared toward families with kids - including the larger units with multiple bedrooms. And in the height of the season, families are our main clientele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Customers are always right. Whether you're the owner or management. Keeping your guests happy is your number one priority. Bite your tongue ab suck it up. Without the guests you will br out of business

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank precious2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar_Staff, Front Office Manager at Shalimar Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

This review is from the leader of a group that booked multiple rooms for a convention in town. They came for a dance competition, and as a group, allowed the children to wonder the property in groups, unsupervised. We received numerous complaints about this group from our other customers - noise complaints, and behavioral complaints, including complaints that the children were attempting to open other customers doors. We take these complaints very seriously and ask that all customers be able to enjoy their stay. We very respectfully reminded the group that the motel maintains quiet hours after 10 pm and that children under 16 need to be supervised at all times by a parent - especially in the pool area. We asked that while we wanted them to be able to enjoy their stay, the other customers should be able to do the same. We rarely have to enforce these rules - most of our customers are respectful of the other customers staying with us and are able to enjoy themselves without any issues. This group was not respectful of the other guests or the property.
We provide irons and hair dryers to guests upon request - all you have to do is ask. We ask that customers wishing to iron do it in the guest laundry facility that we have set up on the property as ironing in the rooms often leads to burn damage - as was the case with this group as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

July 2014, Unfortunately stayed a week here and would never go back. They have more rules than a prison, the staff is rude, the rooms need updating, no blowers, no irons, no towels, no food service, not a happy place! If you want a vacation atmosphere avoid this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar_Staff, Front Office Manager at Shalimar Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

This review is from the leader of a group that booked multiple rooms for a convention in town. They came for a dance competition, and as a group, allowed the children to wonder the property in groups, unsupervised. We received numerous complaints about this group from our other customers - noise complaints, and behavioral complaints, including complaints that the children were attempting to open other customers doors. We take these complaints very seriously and ask that all customers be able to enjoy their stay. We very respectfully reminded the group that the motel maintains quiet hours after 10 pm and that children under 16 need to be supervised at all times by a parent - especially in the pool area. We asked that while we wanted them to be able to enjoy their stay, the other customers should be able to do the same. We rarely have to enforce these rules - most of our customers are respectful of the other customers staying with us and are able to enjoy themselves without any issues. This group was not respectful of the other guests or the property.
We provide irons and hair dryers to guests upon request - all you have to do is ask. We ask that customers wishing to iron do it in the guest laundry facility that we have set up on the property as ironing in the rooms often leads to burn damage - as was the case with this group as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is our fourth year staying at this hotel. The only reason we go back is because of a large group that we know go there at the same time. We know what we are getting when it comes to the size of the place. They jack the prices of the rooms up for this weekend, which I guess is how this business works but what gets me is how rude the people in the office are. One of the ladies at the front desk is nice but the other is absolutely miserable. The same with the older gentleman that sits in there. He is grumpy and will not even say hello. The maintenance staff and cleaning staff are very nice. The customer service people should take notes. Again, it is a little pricey for what you get when it comes to the size of the room, but overall I guess it isn't too bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigPoppaP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
1.2 mi away
Reges Oceanfront Resort
Reges Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#5 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#3 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#18 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
The Crusader Oceanfront Family R...
#15 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#23 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Resort Motel

Address: 6405 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Hotel Class:2 star — Shalimar Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and enjoy the retro inspired style of our accommodations-from our guest rooms to our largest three-bedroom townhouse. Our recent renovations blend the classic mid-century architecture of the Wildwoods with modern conveniences, like wireless internet and a complete fitness center including steam room. At the center of the Shalimar is the spacious pool area, open late and offering sun-drenched southern exposure for you while the kids enjoy the diving board and slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Shalimar Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Wildwood Crest
Shalimar Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing