We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Motels in "Wildwood Crest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shalimar Resort Motel
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Cairo, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best Motels in "Wildwood Crest”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have been going to Wildwood Crest ever since my Daughter Noele now 33 was 3 months old when it was owned by Bruce and Lorraine. Maria and her husband are one of the most congenial and professional owners we know. The staff are courteous and friendly. The rooms are suitable for any family or couples. The ammenities are good. The location is great and easy access to the boardwalk and Trolley. We are planning to stay at the Shalimar again this year since we know the location from past stays and are staying in the same room that we did in 1978. We will bring pictures of opur previous stays for their bulliten board and we can't wait.

Room Tip: We will be in a effeciency room since my daughter is bringing her 2 daughters ages 3 & 9 month o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    49
    17
    11
    33
See reviews for
116
20
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I go to Wildwood every summer with my family and we always stay at the Park Lane. I went last summer with my friends, and the Park Lane had no availability, and they had a rule about being 25 (a lot of motels do around there). The Shalimar doesn't, which is nice.

However, our room was very very small. Beds were comfortable, there was a tv. It's a very basic motel. And after staying at the Park Lane which is also a motel, The Shalimar doesn't really compare in my opinion. It was clean, but some of the appliances and stuff were old. I mean let's be honest, The Shalimar is a basic motel - which is exactly what you will get if you stay here. You will fee like you are in a basic motel. I think there are better places to stay in Wildwood.

I didn't hate it here, and I'm not going to say I would NEVER stay here again, but I would definitely pick other places over this one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slhannold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Shalimar Resort Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
We are a family friendly motel in the Crest. We have numerous amenities that many of the motels/hotels in our area are unable to offer. Since we completed a total renovation less than 10 years ago, we are able to offer our guests central air conditioning and heat, free wireless internet, a complete fitness center, 1, 2, &3 Bedroom Townhouse units, jacuzzi tubs, miniture golf for kids, and we are one of the few properties that maintain a diving board and slide in our pool area. You may have stayed in one of the few small rooms that we offer, which are preferred by some of our guests because they are often more affordable than our larger units and Townhouse units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Overall our recent stay at the Shalimar was outstanding and Maria and her staff are the best in the business. We have been coming to Wildwood Crest for the past 20 years, having stayed at other places, The Sharilmar by far has been the best of them all. This was our second year saying there and we have already booked our stay for next year, and hopefully many years to come.

Thank you Maria and staff, you are the best.

Karen and Vinny Schiraldi and famiy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinny613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I have stayed her before and everytime has been a wonderful experience. The room was clean. Very close to the beach. My whole family had a blast. I would definately recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buggyhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Let's start with the good points, because there are plenty of bad ones that outweigh the good. The pool was excellent, great for family, and a great grilling zone. The suite was okay but not very spacey for a family of four (even though it was a 2-room suite!) with an A/C. Generally everything looked clean until we looked in the coffeemaker. There was also no coffee, tea, shampoo(bring your own). The beds are not very comfortable, they shift. Didn't get much sleep. Room service wasn't responsive about coffee/shampoo/etc. Overall this is a poor-fair motel, and to say it is fair would be rather generous!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunsp0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My friends & I have been coming here for 5 years .I have read the neg.reviews &feel i should respond to them.This establishment is a 9.5 on a scale of 1-10 . 10 being best.The management [ ALDO ] / [ Maria ] & their team /staff strive to maintain &treat their guests w/every courtesy due them! IWe have enjoyed & hopefully can come back to enjoy manny more Sept.Vacations here at the SHALIMAR RESORT!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddrchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We chose the Shalimar because friends stayed last year and went back again this year. This year we joined them on vacation. We stayed in their "penthouse" - T3. It had three bedrooms and a wrap around balcony. It was myself, husband and four teenage girls. The girls had no complaints, they loved the pool. It is the only place that we found that left the pool open until 10 pm, most close at 6 or 7. We all loved the view from the upstairs balcony. Our friends came up w/ their two young children to watch the fireworks from the balcony - it was great . The beds should have fitted sheets. We had to ask for more towels. They should add racks to hang up towels and bathing suits, there is plenty of room for this to be done. Parking was a bother, the spaces are way too close. They had four gas grills that were hooked up to a main line, we have stayed at four other places and the grills were constantly running out of propane. Storage was limited in the bedrooms. The location is convient, it is close to a playground if you have young kids. We walked to the basketball courts and the girls played a pick up game with some of the local kids.

We've already put in a deposit for next year as did our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellstoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.5 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Royal Hotel
Port Royal Hotel
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#22 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jolly Roger Motel
Jolly Roger Motel
#20 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort
#3 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Resort Motel

Property: Shalimar Resort Motel
Address: 6405 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-4145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shalimar Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and enjoy the retro inspired style of our accommodations-from our guest rooms to our largest three-bedroom townhouse. Our recent renovations blend the classic mid-century architecture of the Wildwoods with modern conveniences, like wireless internet and a complete fitness center including steam room. At the center of the Shalimar is the spacious pool area, open late and offering sun-drenched southern exposure for you while the kids enjoy the diving board and slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shalimar Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Wildwood Crest
Shalimar Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing