We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
American Safari Motel
Nearby Hotels
Jolly Roger Motel(Wildwood Crest)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coliseum Ocean Resort(Wildwood Crest)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aztec Resort Motel(Wildwood Crest)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fleur de Lis Beach Resort(Wildwood Crest)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olympic Beach Resort(Wildwood Crest)(Great Value!)
$72
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Winds(Wildwood Crest)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort(Wildwood Crest)(Great Value!)
$134
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Royal Hotel(Wildwood Crest)(Great Value!)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granada Ocean Resort(Wildwood Crest)
$165
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Oceanfront Resort(Wildwood Crest)(Great Value!)
$83
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
103
30
7
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
30
7
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetnice view of the beachgreat familyair conditionerheated poolgondoliermotelboardwalkocean
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 147 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Sigh...the end of our vacation brought us to the American Safari Motel in Wildwood, NJ. Sadly, this place was not so great...it was extremely crowded, noisy and all of the families stayiing there had no respect for any of the other guests. We had reservations for Thursday & Friday nights; our room was located in what the owner called "the breezeway", which was across from the community bathroom that bathers from the pool used, the coin laundry room & the motels laundry/utility room. The efficiency room was clean and the bathroom had lots of towels, but the 2 double beds were rather uncomfortable. We never used the kitchen in our room and could not use the pool since it was filled with lots of kids and all of their large blow-up toys! At one point, we saw a family that had checked out at the same time we were checking in still using the pool almost 5 hours later! At night, the families never bothered removing the kids' large blow-up toys, making it difficult for the staff to clean the pool. A male guest staying there dubbed himself "the mayor of the american safari motel" by posting a sign on his room door! The families staying there pretty much took over the place, had no respect for any of the other guests and created a low class & trashy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank suzyb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We have been going to the American Safari for the last 7 years. It is a gem. Very clean motel. Staff very friendly and helpful. They are always upgrading things from year to year (not that things needed to be done.) We always have a great time. Very close to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We've been coming to the Safari for over 10 years now.. Adam and his family have been nothing but pleasant, knowledgeable and always very helpful! The rooms are bright and clean. We've seen many changes made to the decor over the years to keep the place current. The location is great , just across the street to the beach. Coffee and cookies are offered for free in the morning at the Aztec. Always a stress free and relaxing vacation at the Safari.. Can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbrion62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Ouer family have been going to WWC for 15 yrs and enjoy the rest and relaxtation.We have been staying at American Safari for the last 6yrs because the motel we started out in was sold and didn't like the new owners. Upon searching for another Motel,we new this was the one right away. The owners are gracious, always walking around geeting the guests an asking if everything is OK, as they don't allow any unrully behavior
We have also met guests who we have made friends with (we talk to one another during the yr.) t's like a reunion.
We confer with each other what the dates are for the following yr so we make our reservations before we ck out.
Does this tell you what tye of motel this is
Does this tell you what kind of motel it is

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The American Safari is very typical of the older motels you'll find in the Wildwoods so you're likely either to love it or hate it. If you love these older motels as I do, this one is one of your better options.

What's not to like? It's an older facilty, constructed when rooms weren't expected to be very large. The L-shaped design with pool and patio area in the middle means that rude guests staying up late and talking loudly outside their rooms create noise that is likely to reach the front portions of the guest rooms. There is parking for all guests but the spaces are very tight. And for the price you'll pay for an upscale hotel room elsewhere, you get something extremely basic with just the bare essentials to keep you comfortable.

What is to like? The charm of staying in a motel that takes you back to a time that was more simple, when vacations were more about what you did outside the room. The American Safari seems to be one of the better examples of this type of motel operating on the island. Our two-room suite was definitely tight (the front room barely had room for anything other than the bed and the back bedroom was only slightly larger- good because that's where we found the full-size fridge) but it was clean, appointed with nice white wicker furniture and was in good shape considering the age of the motel. The bathroom was similarly decent, although new faucets for the sink and shower would have been welcome. The biggest strike against the hotel is the pay-for-use internet access- $12.00/day is unreasonable and while there might be better long-term options if you're staying for a few days, having to pay for access in this day and age is completely unreasonable. Wildwood vacations can be very expensive without having to pay for things that we've come to expect to be available for free.

The motel has a great location in Wildwood Crest, a mere block from the beach (you can see it across the street) and a few blocks from the southern end of the boardwalk, although the majority of what you'll want to do on the boardwalk is at least a half mile or more to the north. It's possible you could park your car and never have to move it throughout your vacation, although most people who have vacationed in Wildwood know it's not likely you'll do that.

If you can deal with the small rooms and the potential for late-night noise, the American Safari is a nice option in the Wildwoods.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wildwoodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews