We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ehh--”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madrid Oceanfront Condominiums
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
A TripAdvisor Member
“ehh--”
Reviewed June 4, 2006

i stayed at the madrid for Prom Weekend of 2006, and they were so anal. the rooms itself looked stupid because of the double bed and where it was placed in the livingroom. the brochure said there would be a slide.. BUT THERE WASNT!. they gave us a HUGE list of rules saying ABSOLUTLY NO VISTORS and CANT BE OUTSIDE YOUR ROOM PAST 10. what are these people nuts. my whole highschool rented out the WHOLE madrid except maybe like 2 other rooms. of course its going to get rowdie. the showers sucked. my shower and like 3 other showers there broke and didnt even shoot water out of the shower head so we had to take a shower is someone elses room. the pizza place they told you to order from was ABSOLUTLY HORRENDOUS. it was just a horrible room. but hey it was prom and i guess any room would do.. as long as you can get trashed in it!. and oh. - the smoking alarms. - yea. we just took the batteries out of those and smoked in the room. its so much easier...

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    12
    12
    18
See reviews for
55
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2005

I am being nice with the rating.
First off when you walk into the lobby there is a sign that states "NO REFUNDS"! I found that a bit odd. I mean if the weather is bad just make the best of it. NEVER did I dream it would be the hotel.
We had a efficency unit. The room was right in the middle of the hotel. so we thought cool. Then we opened the door!
1) There was no coffee pot
2) There was no ice bucket.
3) There was no remote.
The sink area was so small that I had to wash one dish at a time! There was no place to put down the clean dish!
One of the reasons we booked this hotel is beacuse it stated that they had a cool pool table. Traveling with a 15 year olde who loves to play pool, we thought great.
We were there a week, and it never opened! It was being worked on.
The ice machine for the hotel was not working either. You had to go to the office and ask for ice. They in turn would go to the restaurant (that was not theres) and fill up your ice bucket.
We could not understand why we were so hot all the time in the room. Then my son noticed that his clothes in the drawer were VERY COLD! It seems they pushed the drasser right up to the ac. The clothes were getting cold, BUT not us!
Would not go back on a bet.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wildwood Crest hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2005

My husband and I have stayed there for about 4 years in a row and everything used to be perfect. However, uperfect untill they changed owners. We do not stay there anymore due to the fact that they removed the couches in the front living room and replaced them w/ beds. Big disfunctional error. Not user friendly. You have the beds in the bedroom to sleeep in , but, I guess they weren't thinking. You might want to sit up and hang out. Some people want a living room area. HATE THE MADRID NOW. BIG MISTAKE. We don't need all the rooms the same either. They used to have 4 types of rooms, now, only 2. Other than that..good for families w/ small children I guess. Nice pool area w/ slide, game room and cafe is good enough only for breakfast, a burger or dog for lunch. Enjoy. Miss the old Madrid and crew.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2004

Stayed for one evening, on 9-11-04, the only positive comment I can say about the Madrid is its location. Other than that the Madrid is overpriced, the rooms are too small & outdated, the staff is unresponsive, and the hotel was too noisy. The guests were too loud and there was no way to let management know, because the in-room phone was never turned on ($10 deposit) and the front desk clerk left before 10 pm. If you have kids this may be an okay place to stay, but for all others avoid at all $$$.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RichardCraniumJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2004

Had a great time at the madrid last weekend,the views are really great and the staff was very helpful, my only complaint is why the pool closes at 7 pm, but minor quibble. We took the 3 day two night package which includes 2 breakfasts at there cafe (awful service and food) and one dinner at a choice of area restaurants(they have menus in the lobby of the participating restaurants, (note you dont get a full menu choice, u get a limited menu or a $15 credit toward there regular menu. The breakfasts at the cafe were unedible (and its true what another reviewer wrote, we got 1/2 of one piece of bacon with our bacon and eggs.the service there is horrible, uncaring help, uncaring owners (apparently the madrid leases it out.so they have no control, (if they dont see how its affecting there business they need new glasses). our waitress did not understand what we meant when we said well done. she didnt understand what orange juice was.and it took over an hour to get a menu and once we got it,no one came back to take our order,so we skipped the complimentary breakfast the next morning. Anyway.the Madrid is a great place to stay, just dont take one of there packages or you will regret it once you sit down for Breakfast.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wappingers falls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2004

The Madrid itself was great, but the cafe was a disaster. The food was worse than horrible, and the service was just as bad. THe waitress did not know what "sunny side up eggs" were. I asked for "no ice" over and over as the waitress dipped my cup in ice and filled it with soda.
HOWEVER< The Madrid was clean, and refreshing to watch motel workers cleaning various parts of the motel all day.{parking lot, patio, chairs, etc} The maids folded my son's blanket from home into a flower, as they did extra wash rags in the bathroom. They also made the bed in my daughter's pack-n-play as if it were a bed. The service was prompt, and helpful for the most part. We asked for a frying pan [our room was missing] and never received it. Other than that, service was good.
>I would reccommend the motel for the view alone, the others were perks for me. I walked all of the floors and the view was great from all.

Helpful?
4 Thank ds9499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2004

June 20th 2004.Just got back from the Madrid in Wildwood after 2 days of fun..the motel is very nice.we stayed in room 401 which is a category c 2 room efficency Aand it was very nice,the staff work hard to keep the place clean and the view is terrific,every room overlooks the beach.i do recc this place .however,if you go.do NOT take one of there packages which offer 2 breakfasts and one dinner.the dinner was good as you get to choose from limited menus at several area restauarnts.the cafe however,is a total disaster.everyone we saw there was complaining about the terrible service,and lousy food,the package gives you two breakfasts.think you can choose off the menu think again,,it includes a choice of 4 items each worse then the other.(.the only good thing is that the service is so bad you wont get the food anyway, and whatever you get will be wrong..on our 1st day.,the waitress from Bulgaria told us she was never told what it is she is supposed to do,it took 25 minutes to get menus even though there was no one else there..and no one told her i guess that once you give a menu,at some point you have to come back and take the order .everyone in the cafe got the wrong order.by the way the eggs and bacon on the complimentary breakfast comes with 1/2 (i kid you not) piece of bacon.,i couldnt find it until i lifted up the pat of butter).the owner of the cafe(whom the Madrid should fire tommorrow) was there at the time and admitted that the waiters and waitresses are new and from Europe and have not been trained( i would say train them)he said he also owns a pizza place in Cape May and one hopes the service is better there. .he did admit when told the service was horrible that he knew it but couldnt help it(give me a break.in summary,the Madrid is a nice motel and worth a look,as for there cafe,steer clearrrr,a disaster that should be put out of its misery,eat somewhere else or find a motel that has a better cafe((which shouldnt be hard as any cafe in America would fit this bill)

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conca D'or Motel
Conca D'or Motel
#47 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coliseum Ocean Resort
Coliseum Ocean Resort
#53 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympic Beach Resort
Olympic Beach Resort
#27 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Resort
Monterey Resort
#44 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrid Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrid Oceanfront Condominiums

Property: Madrid Oceanfront Condominiums
Address: 427 E Miami Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3617
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madrid Oceanfront Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features Include: * Now Under New and Improved Property Management * No Longer just a Hotel; Now New Oceanfront Condominiums * Located directly on the Beach in beautiful Wildwood Crest * Fully equipped two room condominiums with separate bedroom and living room * All units include Microwave and Refrigerator * Color Cable TV * Air conditioning in each unit * Elevator, guest laundry, and beach volleyball * Game room Large heated pool with kiddie section * Oceanfront sundeck with grills * Off street parking for one car per room * EVERY WEDNESDAY - FREE HOT DOGS BY THE POOL! * 4 Blocks to Sunset Bay with beautiful sunsets, boating, dinner cruise, wave runner rentals, fishing/crabbing and dolphin watching tours. Trolly stop to boardwal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Madrid Oceanfront Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Madrid Oceanfront Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing