We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Like Criminals!!!”
Review of Monterey Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Resort
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We rented room # 205 in June 2012 for 4 adults and 2 children we had a great time. When we came home me and my husband decided to book again we booked for aug 18 through to the 23rd for 13 people we had room #205 (at $255 a night)and room #305 .On Tuesday aug 22 we spoke to the maid because only one bed was done out of three which is fine then we left to enjoy our day .When we got back we noticed that the Maid had helped herself to candies (never opened ) in my drawer , took my sons flip flops ?, and his Nintendo ds 3d and 7 games charger ect ........ My friend staying with us in the room #205 noticed her 6 bran new shirts from Guess missing and 3 kid movies from her twins gone. When we notified management she said she would be calling in the maid to speak with her ( maid has only worked for the Monterey for a week ) but they needed a translator. we didn’t hear from her again when we asked young girl at reception she said well you will have to wait till she gets back because today is her only day off ??????????????? We wasted a day of our vacation because the manager couldn’t be bothered to help us? She came back at 5 / 5:30pm and called the cops and didn’t even come to see us in hotel room when asked why she didn’t come up the other girl said she is still off duty!!!!!!! if manager takes off their should be a person behind counter ready to also handle any situation .we made a police report so did 2 other rooms room # 204 and # 206
one was missing a bottle of perfume and one was missing a smart phone . Thankfully our friends staying on the 3rd floor room 305 had a different maid their stuff was safe? but the part that gets me the most was the manager ignored the problem gave maid a heads up on the situation so maid never showed up and wasn’t fired ...... but was only coming back on the 24th .......... then we were ignored by manager for the rest of our stay like we were the thieves. ocean property management also said oh well u wasted a day and a half waiting for the manager to do something and we lost about 600 $ worth of stuff and it was ohh to bad it’s in the cops hands now NO compensation at all was offered we had to argue to get heard and finally ocean management property finally gave us 300$........ What is that nothing........ nice vacation huh ......she ( the manager )didn’t even come up too look at our room, was not cleaned no toilet paper , no towels , just beds were made and garbage removed and candy in front of maids room but manager couldn’t be bothered, it was her day off!!!!!!!!! (The officer took time to look) .......there were other condo owners there that tried to help us and they too were disgusted on how we were abandoned.... So we will NOT be returning to the Monterey because the staff just doesn’t care and clients are not valued but ignored.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rozy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

The stay was good except the people above us was loud. I was worked up early every morning with heavy walking,chairs sound like they were pushed across the floor, ceilings seem too be thin. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay. I will be back next year. This was the first year I heard a lot of noise above us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceyturney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We rented from the condo owner, so we didn't have housekeeping services, which was ok. I was disappointed in the size of the place. The kitchen was tiny - no dishwasher, & the living room was barely there, but It was clean. Beds were ok. The location was very close to the beach & the pool was nice. Had no run-ins with the owner. We were on the 3rd floor, so not having an elevator was a pain. It was also far from restaurants. I liked being so close to the beach which was very clean, but not the size of the condo - should have just gone with an efficiency.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbdtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

2nd time at the Monterey Resort. 1st time had 3rd floor ocean view. it was nice just hated the stairs but over all room was nice. Got WIFI no problem and manager and staff nice.
this year we were up graded to ocean front from 2nd floor room. My husband and I though we got lucky..thats were we were wrong. Room stuck in the 70s shower was bad..barley got water out of the shower head. Beds felt like we were sleeping on concrete. woke up every morning stiff and neck and back problems. and the only way to get WIFI was to go out to the pool area. could not get it in out room. For the amount of money we paid NOT worth ocean front. Love having the beach right there and a pool..think we would rather have 2nd floor. we left a night early to get some sleep. manager very nice. Hotel needs serious up grade

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

LOVED this place. Great rooms, very clean, comfy and beachy. Can see the ocean while sitting at the kitchen table. Family friendly place. I will be back!

Room Tip: avoid 3rd floor, no elevator and narrow stairs, view from 2nd floor is just as good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

There are some very, very nice things that can be said about the Monterey. It's literally on the beach. There's a nice courtyard, comfortable pool, and volleyball net. Parking is extremely tight, but there is enough for a car per room. The units are all individually owned, so there are a few "losers" in the bunch, but the majority are updated and well-kept.


My family had a very unique Memorial Day weekend this year, though. I thought the management staff was a bit unwelcoming when we checked in, but I shrugged it off. Throughout the weekend, though, the Monterey manager continued to have confrontations with many guests. We woke up to the police being called one morning and from eavesdropping it sounded like one of the owners called them because another renter was parked too close to his parking space. (The spaces are incredibly tiny, so I'm not sure where he wanted to other person to go to?)


The manager was often tough to find, except when she was eating dinner and chatting with owners on the first floor. Four women staying in a room on the third floor told me that she lectured them about "coming home drunk" and threatened to not let them into the room. How rude! She seemed very aloof, very "by-the-book" and seemingly annoyed when she had to talk with other guests.


It seems like a number of the owners are in conflict with one another (one of which was an older gentleman on the first floor who was constantly pointing and whispering about other guests). But the manager let this conflict negatively affect the other guests, all of whom we found to be wonderful people, from the many families to the large group of 20-somethings who we played volleyball with. Isn't it the manager's job to make sure that guests have a good time and don't have to deal with "condo politics"? It's sad to think that I have to reconsider coming back to the Monterey because of one surly owner and a mean-spirited manager.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

For the price I was not expecting much but to our surprize the rooms were beautiful! We booked 3 rooms and were all next to each other! Pool and BBQ were nice and the view was fantastic!! Loved that we were able to drive to the boardwalk park the car then drive back away from the noise and relax in the quiet!! Overall all 3 families had a great time at Monterey and we will deffinately go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood Crest hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
Paradise Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Winds
Four Winds
#36 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond Crest Motel
Diamond Crest Motel
#50 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acacia Beachfront Resort
Acacia Beachfront Resort
#13 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granada Ocean Resort
Granada Ocean Resort
#57 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca D'or Motel
Conca D'or Motel
#47 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Resort

Address: 410 E Monterey Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monterey is located on the beach at the southern end of Wildwood Crest. Rooms have a beautiful beach and ocean view. Two-room efficiencies and 2-bedroom efficiencies are available for rent. Family oriented with heated pool, shuffleboard, ping pong and pool table. Great family specials. Close to many activities such as: boating, miniature golf, shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Wildwood Crest
Monterey Motel Wildwood Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing